Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
1.571432345
Write A Review
February 18, 2014

more

February 18, 2014

I received a call from this group tonight... I immediately tried to locate their activities online and on facebook.
I was told they were based in Michigan... this is all a big fat scam imho.

Please look into this further !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Disband.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

To all concern

I am a left-behind parent whose son was taken and is still held in another country. I have made all the appropriate contacts with the pertinent authorities immediately. Even though I followed all their recommendations and guidelines. The State Dept. and National Center for
Missing and Exploited Children did very little other than give me information that is common knowledge. The Central Authorities in both the US and the other country are very shamefully disappointing in assisting parents like me. I did file a Hague Convention application in a timely manner and submitted everything that was required. Still, the country were my son is being held refused to abide by the Hague accord siding arbitrarily with the mother. The Central Authorities did nothing about it. My current attorney has informed me that I could simply resubmit my original case again to the court for a new judicial process since family cases involving children are never a close case . This is something the Central Authorities know nothing about showing you their extent of willingness to help left-behind parents.

With all this said, the ONLY and I repeat again the ONLY organization I found that truly showed me willingness to help me in all aspects this situation entails has been without a doubt the Committee for Missing Children. Not the State Dept., Not my Congressman, Not any other organization by far out there comes close; I have looked and researched for the past four years. The Committee for Missing Children, I will call them CMC for short, should not be judged on their merits of donation solicitation or how many people they help. They have helped me tremendously. How many parents have you help for instance??? well??? Name one organizations that has helped parents bring their children home and funded their every need to accomplish this. To help parents like myself involved in Hague cases a lot of cost is incurred over time in litigating these cases. Who and I repeat again to you Who else is willing to help with the tab???? I can tell you easily: NOBODY ! The CMC has been the only organization assisting me all the way and is still helping me after all this time and not giving up. Next time all those who made/and or make negative comments about CMC remember your donations did indeed helped a parent and not just me, but other parents as well in a very thorough way; not just giving advise and a penny or two.

Thank you
JHU

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would put more information out to educate people on how the organization really helps and prevent ignorance from being cultivated when it comes to donations. This is simply about helping parents bring their children home and have justice served everywhere children are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

How this company (not a charity!) can keep it's non-profit status is beyond me. It is criminal to give 11% to the charity and keep 89% for fundraising, salaries, etc. They should be ashamed to call anyone for a donation. There are other ligitmate nonprofit associations for missing children that GIVE 89% to the charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

These people have been sapping my elderly mother for a few years now. They should be ashamed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This charity is nothing but a vehicle to provide a job for incompetent individuals who found them. This charity has been RED FLAGGED by the Georgia Attorney General as a SCAM CHARITY. This charity received over 2.5 million in donations, invested over 80% of its receiopts in furthering marketting for more donations. This charity has also on the WATCH LIST Charity navigator and the Atlanta BBS who habe give them ZERO scores. On a very sordid note, I have personal knowledge of the CEO of this Charity being in cahoots with the person in Germany who abducted a child from the US. He was instrumental in revoking the arrest warrants issued in the USA for the abductor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Who are these people, why do they keep calling me?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

How Much Good Does A $20 Donation Do?

$20 * 15% * 12% = $0.36

15% of the contributions raised by Merit Fundraising, LLC , a Commercial Fundraiser, were returned to or retained by the charity client(s).

12% of the Charity , The Committee for Missing Children, Inc., total
expenses were devoted to program services

Information Gathered from The Secretary of State of Washington State's website:

The Commercial Fundraiser: http://www.sos.wa.gov/charities/search_detail_cfr.aspx?cfr_id=25784

The Charity: http://www.sos.wa.gov/charities/search_detail.aspx?charity_id=6983

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have no Idea what this Charity does. It may or may not actually do anything to help anyone at any point in time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change Commercial Fundraisers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers