Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I returned from Iraq angry and crazy. The drugs didn't always help, and I was assigned a counselor who didn't have a clue what I was going through. Crap at work from my immature and useless female company commander didn't help. After a visit to the CHP (female vets only--what a relief!!), I was more relaxed, more able to handle her BS and my workload, and things at home were a lot easier on my husband too. To discover that you are not alone in your personal hell-on-earth, to know that there are veterans (sad to say, but true) worse off than you who have the courage to leave their homes and travel, in spite of their fear and emotional turmoil, to a place which CAN (for me, not MIGHT, but CAN) help, went a long way toward helping me move forward and leave the nightmare behind. If you are a vet, do this! If you are considering donating, donate! Every penny and hour you give helps combat vets like me who need to see the good people can do, instead of the horrible ways people treat each other on a daily basis (over there).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in a Coming Home Project retreat a few years back. It was a retreat for service providers. I had an absolutely amazing experience. The staff was incredibly welcoming and supportive. I left there with a renewed and more positive sense of self, and more confidence in treating others. I have since referred Veterans and providers alike to their retreats, and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended with my husband. As a military spouse, it was nice to spend time with others, sharing our stories and experiences and making new connections. This is a wonderful program and I hope others will benefit from it as much as I have for years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to attend a retreat for professionals. As a mental health professional, serving active duty, veterans and their loved ones, I had exhausted myself trying to care for everyone else - forgetting my own oxygen mask. The retreat reminded me that self-care is a MUST if I wanted to continue to be helpful to others. I attended the retreat over 2 years ago and I still use some of the self-care techniques taught there. I also connected with other professionals in the field and continue those supportive relationships as well. The Coming Home Project is an amazing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

I went to a Coming Home project 3 years ago. I have made wonderful connections with new friends. We have maintained a tight relationship since then. I have invited them into my personal life and trusted them with my family. This is a big step in reintegrating into society after coming back from the war. Being a Marine, I always long for the camaraderie that I felt in the Corps. This retreat has satisfied just that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

I attended the female veteran retreat in California. I enjoyed every minute of the retreat and enjoyed the company of the females that I met. Unfortunately I have not kept in touch as I feel my psychological wounds are much deeper than one could have ever imagined. Had it not been for the coming home project I don't think I would have been able to identify my wounds from war and active duty. There are many more women who bear the same wounds and through this wonderful program are now seeking help to slowly close those festering wounds. I am honored to have been able to participate in this program and I recommended it to my sister in law. When my brother in law came back from iraq they attended the family retreat in San Antonio. I hope to one day be able to volunteer my time to this outstanding program that is helping to change the lives of my brothers and sisters in uniform.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

The Coming Home Project does exactly as it's title says. It helps veterans interact and communicate with a group of volunteers when they have come home. we learn so much about "adjusting to life back home" but we also learn about ourselves. I haven't been on an event since 2008 when we went rafting, but I remember that I had the time of my life. I also keep in touch with a lot of the veterans that I met while I was there. We formed a bond so quick because we learned that almost everyone has the same battles Coming Home... Thank You So Much Dr. Bobrow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I enjoyed the opportunity to receive the guideance from the staff at The Coming Home Project for my sister and I. We grew more closer as siblings and I received a better understanding as to how I should help her continue to integrate back into society. This program is very benefical to soldiers and family members.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

This is an awesome program and helped me get in contact with other vets and made me realize I am not the only one who feels the way I do. It helped me realize who I am and gave me a relaxing weekend that I desperately needed

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

Myself, my husband who is a Veteran and our then 1 year old son attended a retreat a few years ago. It bought to light several things that troubled us and in the end we went home with more knowledge,support and new friends. I would reccomend this to any active duty or Veteran who is struggling with what is going on in their lives after combat and their families to attend to get a better grasp of things that went on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers