Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of the Coming Home Project when I came across some of their excellent resources on the website. I was fortunate to attend a training conference in California--it was a life-changing experience--camaraderie, trust, learning new skills, sharing pain and joy and SO MUCH MORE. It was surpassed the following year when I was honored to be a facilitator at a family retreat. "Being with" returning OEF and OIF servicemen and women and their families is an privilege I shall never forget. It was a emotionally hard and rewarding work as I was able to see positive growth and change in each individual who participated. The overwhelming sense of coherence and community contributes to the healing and adds to the practical activities and skills. The flow of the weekends are well designed and planned to offer opportunities to allow folks to process painful experiences, learn new coping skills, and, enjoy and participate in joyful activities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing first hand the process of healing begin in individuals and families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a foundation or organization that would provide substantial ongoing financial support. This would increase the number of retreats that could be held and provide support to so many more deserving servicemen, service women and family members.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to attend a retreat for professionals. As a mental health professional, serving active duty, veterans and their loved ones, I had exhausted myself trying to care for everyone else - forgetting my own oxygen mask. The retreat reminded me that self-care is a MUST if I wanted to continue to be helpful to others. I attended the retreat over 2 years ago and I still use some of the self-care techniques taught there. I also connected with other professionals in the field and continue those supportive relationships as well. The Coming Home Project is an amazing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I attended a Coming Hme retreat several years ago as a mental health professional who works with combat veterans. From the beginning there was a feeling of togetherness, mutual respect, and support that was welcomed and regenerative. The entire event was organized and conducted in a professional and therapeutic but also playful manner. The mixture of activities and offerings allowed me and others to connect with each other and with ourselves at a deeper level than was available in the daily practice of life. Much of what I experienced has stayed with me and I would welcome the opportunity for a refresher retreat. Events such as the retreat I attended are revitalizing and I suspect they pay off in more ways than can be measured. In addition to the reprieve from a demanding work schedule, there is the anti-burnout format which allows one to return to work with renewed energy, new ideas, and newly formed contacts. I'd like to see such events being provided on a regular basis for those who work with combat veterans and their families but I am very grateful that I was at least able to participate in the one I did.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I attended a retreat for clinicians working with returning veterans and found it to be the most rewarding, enriching and revitalizing experience of my life. Returning from that retreat 2 years ago enabled me to better fully connect with and be there for the returning veterans with whom I worked. Having attended the retreat with veterans and family members that also happened to be clinicans, I also saw first hand how incredibly healing this program is. Jo and his staff are unparalleled.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

I went to a Coming Home project 3 years ago. I have made wonderful connections with new friends. We have maintained a tight relationship since then. I have invited them into my personal life and trusted them with my family. This is a big step in reintegrating into society after coming back from the war. Being a Marine, I always long for the camaraderie that I felt in the Corps. This retreat has satisfied just that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

I attended the female veteran retreat in California. I enjoyed every minute of the retreat and enjoyed the company of the females that I met. Unfortunately I have not kept in touch as I feel my psychological wounds are much deeper than one could have ever imagined. Had it not been for the coming home project I don't think I would have been able to identify my wounds from war and active duty. There are many more women who bear the same wounds and through this wonderful program are now seeking help to slowly close those festering wounds. I am honored to have been able to participate in this program and I recommended it to my sister in law. When my brother in law came back from iraq they attended the family retreat in San Antonio. I hope to one day be able to volunteer my time to this outstanding program that is helping to change the lives of my brothers and sisters in uniform.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

The Coming Home Project does exactly as it's title says. It helps veterans interact and communicate with a group of volunteers when they have come home. we learn so much about "adjusting to life back home" but we also learn about ourselves. I haven't been on an event since 2008 when we went rafting, but I remember that I had the time of my life. I also keep in touch with a lot of the veterans that I met while I was there. We formed a bond so quick because we learned that almost everyone has the same battles Coming Home... Thank You So Much Dr. Bobrow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

The Coming Home Project is the most dedicated, professional, realistic honest organization helping our nation's warriors! The compassion for warriors and provider support exceeded my expectations! I know non profits are struggling financially - and I strongly recommend that they receive funding to continue their work. Please anyone, If you can help, do it! and the nation will be grateful for your support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

I was a volunteer for a family retreat with the Coming Home Project and the experience was fantastic. It is a wonderful organization with the most compassionate, kind, and tolerant people I could imagine. The impact for participants of the retreat was indescribable, and a life changing experience for everyone involved. I felt supported by everyone when I was having a difficult time, and was able to give support to others who were too. There is a wonderful base of knowledge of and experience around working with veterans, but amazingly, everyone was very humble which I loved. I am constantly referring people to the Coming Home Project because it was such a valuable experience and I was so honored to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 26, 2012

more

May 26, 2012

I was a volunteer facilitator at a CHP retreat for professionals serving veterans--many of whom were active military or veterans themselves. The experience was deep, healing and life changing not only for the participants but for me too as part of a remarkable community where people made connection with each other, resolved burn-out and found new inner resources to go forward. CHP is a model that should be the basis for comprehensive programs fo help military and vets re-connect with the world back home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers