Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I returned from Iraq angry and crazy. The drugs didn't always help, and I was assigned a counselor who didn't have a clue what I was going through. Crap at work from my immature and useless female company commander didn't help. After a visit to the CHP (female vets only--what a relief!!), I was more relaxed, more able to handle her BS and my workload, and things at home were a lot easier on my husband too. To discover that you are not alone in your personal hell-on-earth, to know that there are veterans (sad to say, but true) worse off than you who have the courage to leave their homes and travel, in spite of their fear and emotional turmoil, to a place which CAN (for me, not MIGHT, but CAN) help, went a long way toward helping me move forward and leave the nightmare behind. If you are a vet, do this! If you are considering donating, donate! Every penny and hour you give helps combat vets like me who need to see the good people can do, instead of the horrible ways people treat each other on a daily basis (over there).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 25, 2012

I have been a part of The Coming Home Project for 5 years now and I am always overwhelmed by the healing that happens at the retreats. I have watched veterans come alive before my eyes. I highly reco... more

November 7, 2012

I am a volunteer for this org which provides powerful retreats to heal Veterans and their families. It helps to form community among them, and allows them to grieve and embrace life after war. User the great healing that takes place on every retreat!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

I have been a part of The Coming Home Project for 5 years now and I am always overwhelmed by the healing that happens at the retreats. I have watched veterans come alive before my eyes. I highly recommend this program. Lisa Gavin-Cruse, LMFT. Trauma Specialist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2010

I have attended a training session for the Coming Home Project. I was instructed in methodologies to treat veterann's as an MFT, and particiapated in the multi-modal method that the Coming Home project has created. In my professional opinion, these techniques have the potential to positively impact innumerable vets and their families. I have been asked to be a co facilitator in the San Diego in June, and am thrilled to be able to participate in this ground-breaking retreat. Lisa Gavin Cruse, MFT

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Receiving training in its' methodology

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The obvious caring and committement of the staff and volunteers. The creative, yet research based approach.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Compassionate, caring individuals who were passionate about healing and welcoming home our veteran's.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand its' programs to meet the needs of veteran's and their family members. Help that is so desparately needed for our Wounded Warriors.

Ways to make it better...

I knew there was funding to expand to fill the need.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Continuing funding to move forward and expand.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 5, 2012

more

August 5, 2012

There should be more programs like this! They don't provide singular services, but focus on working on communication, methods to cope with stress, rebuilding relationships and establishing new bonds. We should use this method to set up reintegration services for all returning veterans! There's no better time than right now!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been on the Coming Home Project Board since it was founded and am proud to be associated an organization that shows such compassion for and commitment to vets and families. The community building that takes place at the retreats and events does more than fill the gap left by agencies who are too understaffed and overloaded to help. Our vets have given so much, they deserve more than lip service and artifically quick fixes. They deserve to learn how to cope with what they've seen and how to return home and reintegrate with their families. I was not surprised to hear that the DCoE (Defense Centers of Excellence) said that CHP meets or exceeds their recommendations. Our vets keep coming home and we need to support programs like CHP now more than ever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was privileged to serve as a volunteer at a retreat this year. The benefit of just a few days of skillful and compassionate support was visible in the veterans who attended. I saw eyes go from wary to warm, bodies from on-guard to relaxed, faces from stiff to smiling. What a wonderful gift to returning servicemen and servicewomen!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This "charity" (and I use the word loosely) is a scam using deserving veterans who have served and been injured emotionally and (sometimes) physically in OEF/OIF to extort money. The "founder" Mr. Bobrow, who has a Ph(d) but is not a doctor, he is a self proclaimed "healer", "zen", etc. has figured out a way to have people donate money for his (and his knowing AND unknowing) staff to take trips in the guise of "workshops" for veterans. The reality is that the veterans are a group of "sheep" or they are told to leave (if they have any questions or raise concerns). The rest of the group never knows what happens to these participants, because it is all done while they are at breakfast. In other words, only those participants who sing "cumba ...." are allowed to stay, those who have questions (no conflict, just questions.... such as one that came up about having a major newspaper reporter "embedded" in these confidential "healing" workshops who would then report to the world about the personal stories of the veterans.......... Those who even asked about it were booted out the next morning. Mr. Bobrow continually asks for funds from the veterans as well as trying to get money from organizations who actually do help (all) veterans and are not self-serving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a retired Naval Officer working in a large engineering firm and served as a professional mentor for 2 workshops. This program offers incredible benefits to returning vets. It connects them with others who understand their unique issues and provides them with actionable tools to help them move forward in reintegrating into their communities and into the civilian workplace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered on a handful of retreats, and have been involved with The Coming Home Project on many different occasions, and have had endless positive opportunities. The CHP is an outstanding organization with so much to offer. I have seen first hand the transformation, relaxation, connection, creativity and healing that occurs during retreats and other events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in a Coming Home Project retreat a few years back. It was a retreat for service providers. I had an absolutely amazing experience. The staff was incredibly welcoming and supportive. I left there with a renewed and more positive sense of self, and more confidence in treating others. I have since referred Veterans and providers alike to their retreats, and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended with my husband. As a military spouse, it was nice to spend time with others, sharing our stories and experiences and making new connections. This is a wonderful program and I hope others will benefit from it as much as I have for years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers