Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I am writing this review as both a volunteer for the Chelsea's Epilepsy for SUDEP Awareness Walk that I had in my town, and a friend to the Hutchinson family. I'm so extremely blessed to hear stories when Julie has spoken and spread awareness about her beautiful, smart, loving, courageous daughter Chelsea. I can't thank Julie and Doug enough for what they do, and funds they raise. I myself battle Epilepsy, so to have them in my life I thank the Lord above. They love helping Epilepsy patients and I get to see and read it all the time on the Chelsea Hutchinson Foundation. They are so strong and I love them with all my heart!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I don't have epilepsy in my world directly, but have come to know many who do. Julie and Doug are 2 of those people. I am inspired daily by their effort to spare others from what they have been through and to do something amazing in Chelsea's name. I feel like I know Chelsea because they share her so candidly, and their ability to do that leaves me speechless, breathless and so wanting to help. I love that their approach is so personal...that we see the faces of the people who are being helped...that we learn a little about what life is like for them. It's quite special, and very touching. We love this foundation for what they do and for the heart they do it with. I volunteer to help when I am able, and feel so thankful to have found a foundation and people who inspire me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope for a few big fundraisers to bring in some additional help and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As a volunteer for Domesti-PUPS we have partnered and participated in many of the great things the Chelsea Hutchison Foundation has done. I personally have referred individuals/families who are affected by Epilepsy. This foundation does so much not only to help families by assisting them in receiving watches, service dogs and many other tools that help to notify families when their loved one has had a seizure. I have also been a part of their fundraisers and have seen first hand where families can come together, network with others going through the same thing and find a wealth of information on new technologies, medicines, etc. that they did not know about. Wonderful organization with so much heart!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Hello-I am writing this review as both a Volunteer for the Chelsea Hutchison Foundation and as a friend of the family. I have seen what goes into the organization both behind the scenes and preparing for the fundraising events sponsored by the organization. At the very heart of this organization are Chelsea's parents - Julie and Doug. Their goal is to make sure every single person who is in anyway affected by epilepsy or knows someone who may be affected is aware of SUDEP (sudden unexpected death from epilepsy). It is what took their precious Chelsea from them even though none of the many doctors that treated Chelsea ever told them about SUDEP. In addition to educating people about SUDEP, the Foundation raises funds for grants for seizure alert dogs and seizure alert monitors. To date, the Foundation has provided grants for more than 100 monitors and more than 50 seizure alert dogs. Seizure alert dogs do just that - they are trained to alert their person that a seizure is coming, giving that person time to get to a safe place. Family members who lay awake at night listening to every sound in case their loved one has a seizure are allowed to get that much needed sleep knowing that if a seizure occurs, the monitor granted to them by the Foundation will alert and wake them. This Foundation is not only changing lives, it is saving lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

When you are lost in a diagnosis for your child, friends and family tend to fall away... They just do not know what to say or do to help. Insurance companies can seem heartless, and their requirements insurmountable!
To find an organization such as the Chelsea Hutchison Foundation, that
gently offers not only help with monitoring equipment, but with knowledge is beyond words of appreciation! The community that this organization has built, all in the ever present memory of their own precious child, is miraculous.
It is a community that we, as parents of children with seizure disorders need.
To be able to share in one another's struggle in the way family is supposed to. Thank you for helping all of us feel a part of Chelsea's life, and for being so concerned, genuinely concerned, for the lives of our children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Dee
We met the Hutchison's after they lost their daughter, Chelsea at 16 to SUDEP a year after we lost our Donna, age 41 in "08. The work the Chelsea Hutchison Foundation does to help those children, young adults and adults living with Epilepsy is nothing short of a miracle. All funds raised
goes to helping families with grants for em-fit monitors, seizure response dogs and other. They bring such joy to families struggling. There is comfort and compassion for those who have also suffered a SUDEP loss. Having met Doug and Julie in April at their benefit for the Foundation, they are two of the most generous and personable people you could ever meet. They will always help people with their questions and get them information should they need it in their state. We came from NY just to meet these two dynamic people who have turned the most horrible of losses into something great and positive as a tribute to their daughter, and it has spread from coast to coast and getting around the world. Their fundraising knows no boundaries and all suggestions are greatly appreciated. So for our family a friendship has been forged and it it's a wonderful one. They are our friends for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have a chapter in every state in the US and worldwide to spread the word about Epilepsy and SUDEP AWARENESS which is sorely lacking on all fronts. It's getting better because of the efforts the the Chelsea Hutchison Foundation and others that do the same work..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The Chelsea Hutchison Foundation is absolutely amazing. Julie and Doug are continuously striving to not only educate the Epilepsy Community, and Healthcare community about the very real threat that SUDEP(Sudden Unexplained Death in Epilepsy Patients) poses, so that others will not have to bear the loss of their loved ones, like their sweet Chelsea. They have provided not only service animals for people with Epilepsy, but EMFIT monitors andSmartWatches. This organization has touched so many lives and with it's success, will continue to touch many more lives in the present and future.
The Chealsea Hutchison Foundation provided the funds for Patches, my husband Robert's service dog. It is completely mindboggling how these dogs alert to an oncoming seizure. Patches kept Robert from crossing a busy street when he was going into a wandering seizure. I can now sleep at night without having to worry quite so much about nocturnal seizures, because Patches alerts before they happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The Chelsea Hutchison Foundation provides not just help to those in need, they also provide life-saving medical services and peace of mind. With the grants they provide, families who live with epilepsy can find comfort at all hours of the day with the addition of a new member of the family: A Seizure Dog. The education they provide about SUDEP, is invaluable. Too often overlooked in a Doctor's office, SUDEP takes more lives every year than breast cancer. Thank you Chelsea Hutchison Foundation for helping shine a light on what it takes to live, really LIVE with epilepsy!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

No one in my family has epilepsy, and I am thankful for that; but I know Julie Hitchison and am in awe of what she has done in memory of her daughter. Through Chelsea Hutchison's Foundation, I donated enough to provide a monitor for a child; and I know this made a difference. I wouldn't have known about this or how to do this without this foundation. Many thanks, Julie.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

My daughter was diagnosed with epilepsy at 16 months. After that our worlds came to a screetching hault when I found her blue and in responsive in her crib. Luckily with diastat and medical help we got her back. She was 18 months at the time, insurance wouldn't pay for a monitor so I didn't sleep for 2 1/2 years for more than 5 minutes at a time so I could check on her. We finally got an oxygen monitor bit she had to sleep with me so I could hear when it went off. At 4 she started complaining about having to sleep with me and so I started doing research and found the Chelsea hutchinson foundation and with their help we received a service dog that alerts me when her oxygen monitor goes off and has alerted to 6 seizures! Chelsea hutchinson foundation gave my little girl the independence that she wanted and needs and the piece of mind I need knowing she is safe. There's not enough kind words in the world I can say about this foundation!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers