Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.08755
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I'm committed to this organization because it is our best hope for solving this devastating illness. The staff are committed professionals and the board are highly capable and knowledgeable. I fully support their work.
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After my sister was diagnosed with ME/CFS, i went looking for organizations that were working to solve the mystery that is this disease. I was surprised at how little awareness there was of the disease, but was very excited to find the Solve ME/CFS initiative (CAA at the time) and to see that they were working hard to meet their mission of making ME/CFS understood, diagnosable, and treatable. What really sets SMCI apart from other organizations i've worked with is the laser focus SMCI has on leveraging patient centered research to find a cure. I'm honored to serve on the board of this amazing organization working to make my sister's and a million other people in North America's lives better.
October 16, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

My family first found this organization 25 years ago when we needed information for our family member who was diagnosed with ME/CFS. We were greatly encouraged by the organization's 2008 decision to focus on funding cutting-edge research to be able to diagnose, treat and cure this illness. We believe that the organization's funding of the best scientists, along with creating infrastructure like their biobank which makes it possible for more researchers to study ME/CFS, offers the very best hope for patients and their families. Since 2010 I have served on the Board of Directors and have continued to be impressed by the board's and staff's dedication to the mission of solving this terrible illness. This is an effective, well-run organization that deserves support.
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In 1993 I became ill with a flu I could not shake. The then CFIDS Assoc of America was a beacon of hope and the only source of reliable information I could find. Over the years, I contributed and continued to rely on the Chronicle and SolveCFS.org for objective information. Then last decade, approved wholeheartedly as the organization crystallized it's commitment to "a world free of ME/CFS." Since then, a strategy of using seed grants to young and/or "new to ME/CFS" researchers has accelerated the pace of research. Recent results include groundbreaking work in epigenetic changes, the characterization of PEM, and the immune signatures, to name a few. A phenomenally high proportion of the Solve ME/CFS Initiative's seeded researchers receive major follow-on funding grants. This success comes from infrastructure and talent this organization has strategically and cost efficiently built, and tools to allow for more efficient and effective research. I was so impressed, I began volunteering for the organization in 2011 and joined the board in 2013.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding ten-fold.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have depended upon Solve ME/CFS (formerly CFIDS) for objective information since I chaired the NIH ME/CFS Working Group. However, their focus on biomedical research for ME/CFS is why I've continued to rely on their news and joined their Board. Solve ME/CFS brings new scientific talent to the field and helps them get started. New, exciting initiatives are in the pipeline too. We need organizations like Solve ME/CFS to help connect patients/advocates/general public with the research communities. They leverage their strengths by working with other ME/CFS organizations to make each donation stretch farther and have increased impact on curing this disease. This organization is well worth my time and effort.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers