Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.08755
Write A Review
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am extremely grateful for SMCI and the work they are doing to help solve the heartwrenching disease called CFS. My daughter has suffered for over 6 years with CFS. Knowing that excellent, trustworthy research is being funded and supported by SMCI gives us hope that a treatment will be found. This organization is doing essential work for ME/CFS sufferers around the world.
October 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 19, 2014

The researchers this organization funds are world class. I have seen several of them present their findings and the progress they are making is very exciting. The leadership is tireless and focused yet willing to pursue any approach that will cure this disease.
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

This is an excellent, well-run organization, with fine leadership. Its mission to support much needed research for this misunderstood condition deserves support.
October 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 18, 2014

The CFIDS Association of America has provided me with invaluable information over the years. Without the guidance of the research done, the research collected and the reasearch shared we would have been like a ship without a rudder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more grant money for more research.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 18, 2014

I have a very close friend who has depended on your organization for years. She has often told me how helpful it has been for information and support. Struggling with this illness is stressful and sadly, often unrelenting.

I am hopeful that the work you do will continue.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful


CFIDS is a huge problem that needs our attention , affects many and ruins lives. This org. Does the necessary work that no one else is doing. Smart dedicated people trying to efficiently solve big problems. I am pleased to give review and make donations when I can.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Shortly after I was diagnosed with ME/CFS I discovered this organization and frankly it saved my sanity. I had no idea what the illness was and neither my doctor not I knew how to treat it. The organization gave me information and support and the knowledge I was not alone . Just the stories of others and their experiences with the illness gave me confidence. It also serves as a repository for research information but does an excellent job of screening studies for quality and is careful not to
jump on the latest bandwagon.
Over the years the organization has varied its focus , at the urging of patients, from expanding public awareness of the illness to serving as a catalyst for research. Its efforts have enabled researchers to collect pilot data that could then serve as the basis of successful large scale grant requests. I am now a simple member and donor to the organization but have previously served on the Board and used my research skills to review applications for pilot study funds. I have watched as the organization created a Biobank data set of persons diagnosed with CFS and controls to enable researchers to have access to a credible pool of persons willing to participate in research. This dramatically shortens the time needed for studies and ensures quality in the population studied. In return the Association retains access to the research results. It is one of the most creative research structures I have ever seen and promises to dramatically speed up progress. I know my funds donated are well spent and can see the results in Webinars held by the researchers during the year to summarize their findings.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Solve ME/CFS Initiative is an important leader in the effort to find the cause of ME/CFS while simulataneously trying to make it easier to live with this serious disease. They lead with choosing and funding research projects, lobbying our government health agencies to support interest in and research of ME/CFS and educate patients and health care providers. They also started a BioBank of appropriate blood samples from patients which researchers use.

Solve ME/CFS Initiative is pursuing exciting ideas to help people with ME/CFS.
October 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014

So impressed by the work and accomplishments of this organization. It is a smart nonprofit, doing great and much-needed work! Highly recommended.
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our family knows firsthand the debilitation of CFIDS, now better known as ME/CFS, as both my husband and oldest daughter suffered from it for years and still battle lingering effects and occasional relapses. Too little is known about the disease and especially about ways to cure people so we have been deeply impressed by the decision to devote far more attention to research and less to patient advocacy. Of particular interest is the idea of a research institute without walls, that is, funding focused, useful research at different institutions under the coordination of a scientific director. This approach seems excellent value for money and offers the promise that research by different scientists in different locations can be tapped to finally provide insights into solving and curing people of this debilitating disease.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers