Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
123.0789545
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
December 14, 2012

I have been suffering from Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (also called Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) for 30 years. For the last ten years, the CFIDS Assn. of America has served its own interests (large execut... more

August 9, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

This organizations says it represents the interests of people with "CFIDS." Maybe it does. CFIDS is a wastebasket diagnosis that includes people who are simply tired or depressed. However, the disease from which I suffer is Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (M.E.) which is a much more complex illness, with both physical and cognitive symptoms. The symptom of overwhelming fatigue is only one symptom in many. M.E. is defined by the International Consensus Criteria. (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365-2796.2011.02428.x/abstract ).

Most recently, on August 8, 2014, the day set aside by M.E. patients to recognize the existe.ce and needs of patients with Severe ME--Severe ME Awareness Day--this SMCI chose to publicize an article about vacationing while ill. This is a ridiculous slap in the face of every real ME patient. I would like to have made my comment directly to the CAA/SMCI, but they have blocked me from posting there.

If CAA/SMCI actually represented real patients in the past, it does not do so now. Now it is only interested in maintaining the extraordinarily high salaries and benefits of some of its employees and perpetuating the existence of the organization.

These people should be ashamed to be pretending to represent this neglected patient group. They could at least be honest and rename their organization to something which reflects the fact that they really represent tired and depressed people, not people who actually suffer from the all-too-real illness of Myalgic Encephalomyelitis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dissolve it and replace it with an organization which acts for the benefits of real patients rather than selling out their interests for the organization's benefit. You ask below how much impact I think this organization has. I think it has far too much impact--negative impact. It would be best if they dissolved or at least stopped telling government agencies, media and medical professionals that they speak on behalf of M.E. patients. They do not. They speak only on their own behalf.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been suffering from Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (also called Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) for 30 years. For the last ten years, the CFIDS Assn. of America has served its own interests (large executive salaries and special benefits) rather than the needs of people who suffer from M.E. They continue to misrepresent the serious and life-destroying nature of the illness as merely annoying. They spend the available research money on psychological research rather than researching the physical cause of this very real illness. They are now advocating Cognitive Behavior Therapy and Graded Exercise Therapy for the physical illness which has disabled me and now keeps me bedbound. Further, they refuse to answer questions from M.E. patients about where they get their funding and how they spend it. They are much worse than unhelpful to M.E. patients; they are actively harming us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 10, 2011

I have had CFS for 5 years and have went from working in excess of 40 hours per week when healthy, to part-time and last year to totally disabled. I have a lot of time to lie down and think each day... more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The CFIDS Association proactively encourages ME/CFS researchers with seed grant money. They are fill a niche for small researchers to prove their hypothoses and then to obtain much bigger grants from the NIH.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2011

I have had CFS for 5 years and have went from working in excess of 40 hours per week when healthy, to part-time and last year to totally disabled. I have a lot of time to lie down and think each day and I believe that my best chance of getting well is to support the CFIDS Association.

This organization has and continues to provide funds for innovative research projects that would likely not be done otherwise. One of the projects is even coming close to finding the first biomarkers for this disease!

Biomarkers would help doctors, for the first time, to recognize this illness in their patients. And biomarkers would justify more research grants, especially from the government. But mostly, this horrible illness will come a big step closer to being understood, treated, and possibly cured one day. I am betting my life on the CFIDS Association.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I receive daily updates of all CFS research, have been alerted to actions in Washington DC, and have learned from educational Webinars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change that I would have made would be to concentrate efforts on just one area. And CFIDS Association has recently done exactly this by changing its focus to just research. I'm hoping our current knowledge will now take a huge leap forward this year and the next.

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

For nearly twenty years, The CFIDS Association has provided me with invaluable information on ME/CFS and the latest research. They have engaged in advocacy which has greatly advanced our cause. Recently, they established an innovative "Research Institute Without Walls" to facilitate a scientific understanding of the illness. This is a superb nonprofit with a highly professional staff. I am enormously grateful for all they have done to help me and the countless other patients in this country and around the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became sick in 2003, diagnosed in 2004 with CFS, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, and I've been disabled by it since. From the beginning, I wanted to learn everything I could about the illness to help both myself and my doctors to find the leading voices in research and treatments for the condition was obscure at best and even maligned and disbelieved. Early on I was glad to discover the CFIDS Association of America on-line--and that there was a better name for what I have: Chronic Fatigue Immune Deficiency Syndrome. "Chronic fatigue"--which without the capital letters is a symptom of many different illnesses that are not the same disabling and complex disease as CFS. "CFIDS" was coined at a time when another Immune Deficiency Syndrome was being taken very seriously by the medical community and government research funders, and comes closer to capturing the severity of this illness. Things like the name of an illness may seem like splitting hairs to someone outside of the patient community, but it has mattered greatly for generating funding as well as basic empathy, and the CFIDS Assoc. has headed the charge for patient advocacy since long before I became sick. Their advocacy resources were really helpful for defining the illness, the history of it and the case definition, info to share with family and friends as well as doctors, how to manage daily living--things that people disabled by illness need. Over time I came to appreciate the difficult task they had of trying to push government institutions and drug companies to respond to this health crisis; what they couldn't describe in their materials was that they were as frustrated and disillusioned with the system for funding research as the patient community was. Us PWC's ("People With CFS") began to dig more deeply into the science of the illness trying to figure out ourselves what our medical leaders weren't, and in the first few years of my illness the CFIDS Assoc. wasn't so strong in the detailed scientific studies that many of us wanted. However, in the last few years they've made a huge shift in that direction, funding research themselves and connecting researchers and their studies for exponential good. It's palpably exciting. The webinars the CFIDS Assoc. present lead by the scientist and clinicians they've funded have been the best medicine I've received. Suffering through the first years of an illness so misunderstood and understudied was an insult on top of the injury of the illness itself, but listening to the researchers shows that our suffering has not gone unnoticed; smart and kind people are on the trail, help is on the way. We can focus on rest and healing and not having to prove that we're sick. Through no fault of the CFIDS Assoc., disappointment naturally will follow the hopefulness the webinars elicit, for while the research validates and corroborates the symptoms we feel it's clear that the science has a long way to go before causal agents are pin-pointed or the resulting multi-systemic syndrome is unraveled enough for treatment interventions. Still, this validation--for the scientific world out there as well as the inner psychological landscape of us PWC's--is technically and organizationally the right start. On a practical level, printing out graphs and diagrams from the webinars gives me something to show not just friends and family but also my doctors the bio-physiological differences between tired healthy people and PWC's. Earlier this year I was thankfully able to get to a CFIDS Assoc.-sponsored gathering in my city called a "Catalyst Cafe," where Pres. Kim McCleary and Scientific Director Suzanne Vernon rolled out their new initiative/organizing principles for a Research Institute Without Walls. Along with others in the broader medical community, they realized that the paradigm of one-off studies performed with widely divergent criteria in isolated bursts of interest from a variety of institutions have lead to "apples and oranges" results in the medical literature and few gains that actually help patients. Creating a new paradigm of patient-centered research, they outlined how recent CFIDS Assoc. grantees' studies (the ones that have been so validating for me in webinars) lead to additional and greater funding from outside for further studies--real momentum rather than the stagnant efforts of government groups! They also outlined how the current and future grantees will collaborate and communicate while utilizing a BioBank of samples so that they and the medical literature will soon talk "apples and apples." My husband and I have just volunteered to be part of that BioBank, to do what we can to help the CFIDS Assoc. studies and advocacy for this group is now way ahead of anything I hear coming out of other sources, including the NIH and CDC. Through their website and newsletter, I keep abreast of these big picture developments, but also find meaningful connection with others with this illness through their links to some of the best CFS blogs. This illness is isolating, but these resources help me to feel a community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The CFIDS Association of America's research program is extremely important to the entire ME/CFS community. I also really appreciate their webinars, for example there is one on post-exertional relapse in July.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I was diagnosed with CFS eleven years ago, I researched where to turn for hope and help, and I found the CFIDS Association of America to be one of the most important places to turn to (the nonprofit Phoenix Rising is another). I had quickly realized that awareness of ME/CFS in the medical community is low and that ME/CFS research is hugely underfunded - and that until reasonable funding is directed towards biomedical research, I will remain severely ill and isolated from life. I needed to turn to people and organizations who could make things change. We need a dedicated and tireless effort to foster biomedical research, and right now it's up to us patients and our nonprofits. Without actors in the field like the CAA and Phoenix Rising I don't know where I'd be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a strong supporter of the CFIDS Association of America for over 20 years. I was privileged to serve on its board of directors for several years until my illness became too severe for me to continue. I first became aware of the CFIDS Association as I searched for information about chronic fatigue syndrome after being diagnosed with this devastating, poorly understood illness. The information I received from this fine organization was always the most reliable and scientifically sound information available. The CAA was always a beacon of hope for me, particularly when my teenaged daughter was diagnosed with the same illness. When the CAA learned that I was willing to speak publicly about my illness, they provided me with many opportunities to do so, from the National Institutes of Health to the US Congress, from small radio and TV stations to Oprah. When I became a member of the board of directors, I worked with other volunteers, most of whom were living with CFS, who were willing to devote their very limited resources to this fine organization. The staff has always been completely dedicated to the goal of understanding, treating, and curing this disease.

In recent years, the CAA has turned its efforts toward creating a research environment in which these advances can be made. They have funded and coordinated a group of dedicated researchers, the “Research Institute Without Walls”. As a former scientist, I have been very excited to see this kind of research effort blossom and I am more optimistic than I have ever been about CFS research. The CAA shares information about this research and other CFS research through its Research 1st website, its newsletters, and a wonderfully informative series of webinars. The dedication, professionalism, and vision of the CAA is always inspiring and encouraging to me and I am proud to be a supporter of this great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For me, as an ME/CFS patient, the CFIDS Association of America represents hope. In the ME/CFS community, we have very little to feel hopeful about. The public institutes are spending pocket money on ME/CFS research and are doing very little in the area of education and awareness (sometimes rather messing things up than clearing them up). While we need to keep advocating for change in the public bodies, at this point in time we need to rely on other actors such as the CAA. In the past decade I have seen the CAA fund some of the most important biomedical ME/CFS research, such as the Stevens Protocol of exercise testing for ME/CFS and the research on gene expressions after exercise (Alan Light and Kathleen Light). Many of the projects they fund go on to recieve - the very hard to come by - public funding. I think the CAA is helping us move forward in a really difficult terrain.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The CFIDS Association's Research Institute Without Walls is facilitating research into ME/CFS that traditional sources like NIH, CDC, etc haven't been funding as they ought to. The Association works hard to dispel myths about ME/CFS and to educate people about this horrid, disabling illness. Research and education provide hope. Thank you CFIDS Association of America!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After my diagnoses in 2005 I turned to The CFIDS Association (CAA) in order to educate myself about CFS and search for healthcare providers. Although I also have Fibromyalgia I never felt as connected to the resources available for that illness as I did with The CAA. The professional and personal dedication of the handful of people that make up The CAA to finding biomarkers, treatment and possibly a cure for CFS has never wavered, and I appreciate their focus on collaboration and hard science as a vehicle. I have benefited from their information sharing, (free webinars, Research1st page, CFIDS page, CFIDS on FB & Twitter), their support and representation at the government level (CFSAC meeting, etc), research grants (several solid ongoing research projects they support), and I believe their collective years of experience and passion for this cause are demonstrated through their work. This is why I support them with donations, but I also organize charity events and donate a portion from sales of my art work. The CAA understands that creating an environment of collaboration among scientist, biopharmaceutical companies, the government and The BioBank will hasten the Race to SolveCFS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers