Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
84 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 17, 2012

The center for contemporary dance has done so much for me. When I came to them I was very unsure of what I wanted. They gave me direction and a path to follow while I still figure out where my life wi... more

October 17, 2014

The Center for Contemporary Dance has helped me build more confidence in myself and has introduced me to people who truly want nothing but the best for me.
May 17, 2012

The center for contemporary dance has done so much for me. When I came to them I was very unsure of what I wanted. They gave me direction and a path to follow while I still figure out where my life will lead me. They accept all ages( thank god!!) and they have a level for every dancer whether your a beginner or an advanced dancer. They will push you beyond what you can do but they will challenge you and will encourage you to do more than what you think( in your mind) you can do. It's a great place for parents to bring their kids to if their child exhibit interests in dance. In the short time I've been here not only have I grown as a dancer I've seen other dancers; both young and old , beginner and advanced; grow in strength and in professionalism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

The Center for Contemporary Dance (CCD) is an exceptional organization that is succeeding at expanding our community's access to outstanding dance education programs. In addition to the organization's place-based programs that reach 300+ students, CCD annually impacts more than 5,000 at risk youth through outreach programs in the public schools, child welfare agencies and youth organizations. The educators are outstanding, mature industry professionals who truly care about each student's experience and growth. Furthermore, CCD has cultivated more than 12 professional dance companies through its Residency Program, giving Central Florida a rich and diverse culture of contemporary dance.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

An exceptional organization dedicated to high quality dance education with a visionary eye on the future of dance in America.
May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

I found The Center about 2 years ago, and my life has changed because of it. The Center is a celebration of diversity, community and the arts. Every non-profit should model themselves with the strength of mission that I've seen in this place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

For the past 8 years, I have had the privilege of being affiliated with The Center for Contemporary Dance. I have had the opportunity to work directly with both co-founders, Dario Moore (Artistic Director) and Craig Johnson (Executive Director), as well as to meet the students/parents who came through CCD's studio doors. Because CCD exists, lives are changed. Each year, CCD serves more than 6,000 people across 5 Central Florida counties. Since its inception, CCD has been involved in dozens of major projects and hundreds of smaller endeavors that engage underserved communities in the arts, and each year, CCD serves over 1,000 children from Title I public schools through performances, lectures/demonstrations and arts education workshops. Because of CCD and the tireless efforts of its Executive Director, Craig, the entire landscape of the arts in Central Florida has been changed. Kudos to Dario and Craig for what they have created and the lives that are positively impacted as a result!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2010

more

February 9, 2010

The Center has numerous programs and in house dance companies that help bring the arts into the community and raise awareness about a variety of issues, but the thing that stands out to me the most is the atmosphere they create. Upon deciding to return to dance after a 12 year hiatus after having danced at various schools for over 10 years, my main concern about returning was the common attitude present in most schools and companies. They tend to be harsh, elitist and unsupportive. To my relief and great surprise, the Center is none of these things. Quite the opposite, it is comprised of a group of people who exhibit an unparalleled level of care and support, both within the realm of dance and in daily life. On one particularly stressful day, I attended a class at the Center after work. As I walked out of the class feeling relaxed and encouraged, the Artistic Director, Dario Moore, asked me how I was doing. I let out a big sign of relief and told him that I felt much better and that class was just what I needed. He replied, "That's why we're here." I didn't need his words to tell me that the mission that they live every day is to be supportive and enrich people's lives; it's something you experience every time you walk through the door or attend a performance. It's undeniable- it's why they're there.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

rediscovering the joy of dancing and of working together to promote the arts.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

caring, kind, passionate, supportive and dedicated.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers