Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

The performance that The Center for Contemporary Dance brought to our school was a great experience for our students and teachers. I appreciated the explaination of the different dance movements that the students would see- that helped them understand why the dancers were dancing these movements according to the story. It was evident through their faces during and after the presentation that our students were deeply engaged. I look forward to seeing CCD come back to our school in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

The performance that The Center for Contemporary Dance brought to our school was an engaging and powerful experience for our students. The dialogue before and after the presentation was very age appropriate and relevant to the curriculum. The students left with curiosities that will lead to ongoing studies. This presentation and performance was truly an amazing enhancement to the curriculum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

The Center for Contemporary Dance came to our Middle School, and share Sacred Slave Stories with our middle school students. The students were captivated by not only the dancing, but the stories they told. Students truly found the experience rewarding, and really appreciated the questions/answer session afterward with the Artistic Director/choreographer. Our students have not had a lot of exposure to the arts, and the Center for Contemporary Dance was gracious enough to travel all the way out to our school so we could impact the most students possible. This was most of our students first time ever seeing a live performance of dance, and they LOVED it!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

The Center For Contrmporary Dance Inc. came to my school and performed for my 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders. The students were so engaged you could hear a pin drop. The performance helped our student bridge a gap between the printed story of slavery and the heavy emotion of slavery. Students today are very visual and this opened their eyes to a deeper level of understanding. The students had such deep questions after the performance. It was priceless!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

This performance, by far, exceeded my expectations. Every student who viewed the performance was captivated by it. Some, including myself, were even moved to tears! I highly recommend continuing to fund this project as it not only teaches students historical information, but it exposes them to forms of art they have never seen or may never get to see on their own. Thank you for letting us be a part of it!! -Erin Braden, Killarney Elementary, 4th grade teacher

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Dear Sir/Madame:

Today, our school had the privilege of seeing The Sacred Slave Stories performed by the Center for Contemporary Dance. The performance was one of the most inspiring and emotional performances I have ever seen. The dancers were fabulous. The interpretation of the slave
narratives was extremely beneficial for the students. There is no way that I could ever come close to teaching my students about slavery in such a meaningful way. The performance was thought-provoking. The question and answer session after the show was necessary and important since it gave the students the opportunity to ask questions and to share their thoughts.

The man who organized the performance for us today, Craig Johnson, was so easy to work with. He literally responded to my initial email in minutes and had us booked for the show within hours. The male dancer (I forget his name, I’m sorry) who opened and closed the show and did the question/answer sessions was fabulous. He had great control over the audience, which can be tough with 160 fifth graders. The dancers were remarkable! I could not take my eyes off of the children who danced! Absolutely fabulous!

I thought it was important to share this information with you since you are directly connected to the performance we saw today. I appreciate the opportunity you provided our students and teachers with today.

Thank you!

Allison Weidl
5th Grade Teacher
Citrus Elementary
407-445-5475 x3154243
allison.weidl@ocps.net

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

I am a man rapidly approaching 60 years old, and have suffered multiple serious injuries over the course of my life, resulting in many corrective surgeries and courses of rehabilitation. These however had left me with many areas of chronic pain which I had accepted as being as permanent as the scars I had also collected. Then one Saturday morning I accompanied my wife to CCD to watch her in a stretch class given by Dario Moore. Thinking it may do me some good,the following Saturday I joined in.This led me to take a course of intensive and personalised 'one on one' sessions with Dario. His tutoring skill and expertise in muscle use and movement has transformed how I use my body. The severe aches and pains are gone or are receeding rapidly, and my posture and walk has changed and improved as I utilise the various techniques he has taught me. I am not now nor have I ever been a dancer, but I could not recommend this dance school more highly, using myself as an example of very positive results.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

As an adult interested in dance it is often difficult to find a studio that caters to anyone over the age of 18 who is not pursuing a professional career in dance. I did a search on the internet and found the CCD. Not only did they cater to all ages but they offered African Dance which is hard to come by in this area. The instructors are tough but encouraging and the prices are affordable. I love being able to take real dance lessons at the age of 26, improve my technique and even venture out into other styles of dance. Before I found the CCD I thought my only outlet for dance would be an occasional Zumba or ballroom class but that is not the case. The CCD affords people of all ages and skill levels the opportunity to show case their talents via the Spring and Fall concerts. The Executive and Creative Directors also give students and teachers the opportunity to participate in productions beyond being on stage, offering a different perspective and a better understanding of what is required to have successful show. In addition to constantly evolving as a dancer I also have fun at the CCD.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

It is with great pleasure that I share my son's story with you regarding The Center For Contemporary Dance. This training facility and program has to be one of the greatest in the world. It is because of the quality of technique, the integrity of the faculty, and the overall care that everyone associated with the business gives to its students, that my son is a success. Although he has danced for under two years, he was accepted to three college BFA programs and will attend George Mason University in the fall. This could never have happened without The Center For Contemporary Dance. I am forever grateful! Betty Rodriques

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

From the first day we walked into the Center for Contemporary Dance, we felt welcomed. Mr. Craig, ever present at the front desk, always has words of encouragement and a smile for the students and parents alike. Our daughter, Faryn, loves CCD! Her skills have grown leaps and bounds under the instruction of Miss. Jere'. Miss. Jere' shows love to each student, and they in turn love her! CCD offers a wide selection of classes in a fun loving environment. As a matter of fact, Daniel, our 11yr old, started the Hip Hop class on Friday! Mr. Craig and Mr. Dario offer a wonderful program for ALL! Thank you! Joy Hughley

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching our daughter perform. I also took a flexibility class myself under the instruction of Mr. Dario. He explained in detail the reasons our bodies move as they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

a larger studo.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

It was recommended to me by a friend.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers