Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.959465
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Dear Sir/Madame:

Today, our school had the privilege of seeing The Sacred Slave Stories performed by the Center for Contemporary Dance. The performance was one of the most inspiring and emotional performances I have ever seen. The dancers were fabulous. The interpretation of the slave
narratives was extremely beneficial for the students. There is no way that I could ever come close to teaching my students about slavery in such a meaningful way. The performance was thought-provoking. The question and answer session after the show was necessary and important since it gave the students the opportunity to ask questions and to share their thoughts.

The man who organized the performance for us today, Craig Johnson, was so easy to work with. He literally responded to my initial email in minutes and had us booked for the show within hours. The male dancer (I forget his name, I’m sorry) who opened and closed the show and did the question/answer sessions was fabulous. He had great control over the audience, which can be tough with 160 fifth graders. The dancers were remarkable! I could not take my eyes off of the children who danced! Absolutely fabulous!

I thought it was important to share this information with you since you are directly connected to the performance we saw today. I appreciate the opportunity you provided our students and teachers with today.

Thank you!

Allison Weidl
5th Grade Teacher
Citrus Elementary
407-445-5475 x3154243
allison.weidl@ocps.net

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

This was a great program to our fifth grade students. They seemed to understand what slavery was all about and enjoyed the dance aspect of the lesson. The program held their attention and offered plenty of opportuity for questions and ideas to be shared. They especially enjoyed the idea that children could perform as well. For this, they were able to relate more to the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

I am a man rapidly approaching 60 years old, and have suffered multiple serious injuries over the course of my life, resulting in many corrective surgeries and courses of rehabilitation. These however had left me with many areas of chronic pain which I had accepted as being as permanent as the scars I had also collected. Then one Saturday morning I accompanied my wife to CCD to watch her in a stretch class given by Dario Moore. Thinking it may do me some good,the following Saturday I joined in.This led me to take a course of intensive and personalised 'one on one' sessions with Dario. His tutoring skill and expertise in muscle use and movement has transformed how I use my body. The severe aches and pains are gone or are receeding rapidly, and my posture and walk has changed and improved as I utilise the various techniques he has taught me. I am not now nor have I ever been a dancer, but I could not recommend this dance school more highly, using myself as an example of very positive results.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I would like to thank Dario and Craig for having me (Niki Lin) as the 2011 Resident Artist, producing a 20+ year retrospective called Year of the Dragon in January 2012. CCD has also sponsored Orlando City Soccer "City Girls" for the 2011 and 2012 season. I recently saw Dario's Unplugged Solo show in May 2012 and was genuinely entertained by his diverse and raw emotional performance. He is truly an inspiration!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

The Center for Contemporary Dance has provided rehearsal space for our dance team for nearly 2 years. They have been more than accommodating to our requests and we can not be more appreciative of what they have offered our dancers, as well as the dance community. The instructors encourage all levels of dancers to the best of their abilities. They provide a sound knowledge base of not only dance technique but a true understanding of the history of dance. CCD opens it's doors to all areas of dance and embraces the diversity of the Orlando community. Thank you CCD!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

The Center for Contemporary Dance is a culturally diverse, unique organization which provides top class dance instruction and entertainment all ages can enjoy. CCD's community outreach in schools is to be commended. The Center is also very supportive of various other start up dance companies. There are truly wonderful people running this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

As an adult interested in dance it is often difficult to find a studio that caters to anyone over the age of 18 who is not pursuing a professional career in dance. I did a search on the internet and found the CCD. Not only did they cater to all ages but they offered African Dance which is hard to come by in this area. The instructors are tough but encouraging and the prices are affordable. I love being able to take real dance lessons at the age of 26, improve my technique and even venture out into other styles of dance. Before I found the CCD I thought my only outlet for dance would be an occasional Zumba or ballroom class but that is not the case. The CCD affords people of all ages and skill levels the opportunity to show case their talents via the Spring and Fall concerts. The Executive and Creative Directors also give students and teachers the opportunity to participate in productions beyond being on stage, offering a different perspective and a better understanding of what is required to have successful show. In addition to constantly evolving as a dancer I also have fun at the CCD.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

It is with great pleasure that I share my son's story with you regarding The Center For Contemporary Dance. This training facility and program has to be one of the greatest in the world. It is because of the quality of technique, the integrity of the faculty, and the overall care that everyone associated with the business gives to its students, that my son is a success. Although he has danced for under two years, he was accepted to three college BFA programs and will attend George Mason University in the fall. This could never have happened without The Center For Contemporary Dance. I am forever grateful! Betty Rodriques

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

From the first day we walked into the Center for Contemporary Dance, we felt welcomed. Mr. Craig, ever present at the front desk, always has words of encouragement and a smile for the students and parents alike. Our daughter, Faryn, loves CCD! Her skills have grown leaps and bounds under the instruction of Miss. Jere'. Miss. Jere' shows love to each student, and they in turn love her! CCD offers a wide selection of classes in a fun loving environment. As a matter of fact, Daniel, our 11yr old, started the Hip Hop class on Friday! Mr. Craig and Mr. Dario offer a wonderful program for ALL! Thank you! Joy Hughley

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching our daughter perform. I also took a flexibility class myself under the instruction of Mr. Dario. He explained in detail the reasons our bodies move as they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

a larger studo.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

It was recommended to me by a friend.

May 20, 2012

more

May 20, 2012

Two summers ago, we were looking for a new dance studio for our children. We spent 3 years at a classical ballet school and the environment seemed to stifle our son's love of dance and creativity. Our daughter never seemed happy after class. A friend suggested we try the summer camp at CCD and we met Mr. Craig Johnson and Mr. Dario Moore. CCD welcomed my family with open and caring arms. Both of our children have grown by leaps and bounds in their technique and artistry. Their instructors push them, but only as far as they feel appropriate. We no longer feel like they are part of a machine. They are a part of something much greater and more fluid. Their roles change and they adapt readily. This is a skill most adults are unable to master and they are learning and applying it now. My husband and I feel the value of the service CCD provides is immeasurable. He started taking classes at CCD too. They have a formula that works and our wish is they will be able to continue their work for many years to come.

Videos

Give Him Back

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers