Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.951225
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

This is my daughter's 5th year taking ballet, but her 3rd school. We are so pleased with CCD, she has learned far more about the technical aspects of ballet since beginning classes there, than in her entire dancing career! I love the fact that they are non-profit as well. Her instructor is so patient and everyone in the studio is friendly - whether you're a newbie or have attended for a while. Thank you to The Center for Contemporary Dance, Inc., for giving my daughter an opportunity to develop her skills in such an encouraging environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

I personally heard many of my students excitedly talking about what they saw on stage. This material, which is often a little dry and dusty, was given life and relevance by the dancers of the Center for Contemporary Dance. What a fantastic experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Dance was suggested to us as a creative outlet for our children. We struggled for quite a while looking for the right fit and somewhere we could afford. We are really happy to have found CCD.

We really appreciate the staff and the way they interact and encourage the children. They have
a great way of showing the children they are expected to behave and yet do it in a loving and kind manner. It is obvious that they want the children to learn and will take the extra time to explain and demonstrate when a child doesn't catch on right away. The staff's love of dance and for the children is evident in the way they teach and interact with the children.

CCD is helping our children gain confidence in themselves. The diversity of the staff and students has also been wonderful for our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

The performance that The Center for Contemporary Dance brought to our school was a great experience for our students and teachers. I appreciated the explaination of the different dance movements that the students would see- that helped them understand why the dancers were dancing these movements according to the story. It was evident through their faces during and after the presentation that our students were deeply engaged. I look forward to seeing CCD come back to our school in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

The performance that The Center for Contemporary Dance brought to our school was an engaging and powerful experience for our students. The dialogue before and after the presentation was very age appropriate and relevant to the curriculum. The students left with curiosities that will lead to ongoing studies. This presentation and performance was truly an amazing enhancement to the curriculum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

The Center for Contemporary Dance came to our Middle School, and share Sacred Slave Stories with our middle school students. The students were captivated by not only the dancing, but the stories they told. Students truly found the experience rewarding, and really appreciated the questions/answer session afterward with the Artistic Director/choreographer. Our students have not had a lot of exposure to the arts, and the Center for Contemporary Dance was gracious enough to travel all the way out to our school so we could impact the most students possible. This was most of our students first time ever seeing a live performance of dance, and they LOVED it!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

The Center For Contrmporary Dance Inc. came to my school and performed for my 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders. The students were so engaged you could hear a pin drop. The performance helped our student bridge a gap between the printed story of slavery and the heavy emotion of slavery. Students today are very visual and this opened their eyes to a deeper level of understanding. The students had such deep questions after the performance. It was priceless!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

This performance, by far, exceeded my expectations. Every student who viewed the performance was captivated by it. Some, including myself, were even moved to tears! I highly recommend continuing to fund this project as it not only teaches students historical information, but it exposes them to forms of art they have never seen or may never get to see on their own. Thank you for letting us be a part of it!! -Erin Braden, Killarney Elementary, 4th grade teacher

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

Dear Sir/Madame:

Today, our school had the privilege of seeing The Sacred Slave Stories performed by the Center for Contemporary Dance. The performance was one of the most inspiring and emotional performances I have ever seen. The dancers were fabulous. The interpretation of the slave
narratives was extremely beneficial for the students. There is no way that I could ever come close to teaching my students about slavery in such a meaningful way. The performance was thought-provoking. The question and answer session after the show was necessary and important since it gave the students the opportunity to ask questions and to share their thoughts.

The man who organized the performance for us today, Craig Johnson, was so easy to work with. He literally responded to my initial email in minutes and had us booked for the show within hours. The male dancer (I forget his name, I’m sorry) who opened and closed the show and did the question/answer sessions was fabulous. He had great control over the audience, which can be tough with 160 fifth graders. The dancers were remarkable! I could not take my eyes off of the children who danced! Absolutely fabulous!

I thought it was important to share this information with you since you are directly connected to the performance we saw today. I appreciate the opportunity you provided our students and teachers with today.

Thank you!

Allison Weidl
5th Grade Teacher
Citrus Elementary
407-445-5475 x3154243
allison.weidl@ocps.net

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

This was a great program to our fifth grade students. They seemed to understand what slavery was all about and enjoyed the dance aspect of the lesson. The program held their attention and offered plenty of opportuity for questions and ideas to be shared. They especially enjoyed the idea that children could perform as well. For this, they were able to relate more to the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers