Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.961545
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Every day it is my honor and privilege to teach the students at The Center for Contemporary Dance. A little over one year ago I found CCD online when I was searching for quality dance studios in the Orlando area. I was preparing to move from out of state, and I was nervous about finding my new dance home. From the very first time I entered CCD and spoke with Craig, I knew it was THE place for me. Through CCD I am able to teach a diverse group of students-- from ages two to forty and older. It is so rewarding to be able to teach and choreograph here. As one of the only studios in Orlando offering non-competitive dance training, we are able to focus our efforts on technical and artistic development. We also provide mentorship for our students who are preparing for college and beyond. What we do at CCD is more than just teaching dance steps-- we aim to enrich the lives of all our students and families through the art of dance. Through CCD I also have been able to continue my dance studies on a professional level so that I am constantly growing, challenging and advancing in my career. I have met a wealth of people at our school who refer to the center as "home" or "family." This lets me know we have something really special here in Winter Park. In addition to teaching Creative Movement, Ballet and Contemporary dance, I also have the unique experience of teaching dance for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder. This holds a special place in my heart because I have a family member who has Autism. It is both challenging and rewarding to serve this special needs population. We at CCD are community-oriented citizens who believe that dance is for EVERYONE, and we celebrate our diversity of shape, size, age, ethnicity and background. It's been my pleasure to continue learning and growing through this center as I teach, choreograph and perform within this great community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 18, 2012

CCD has develope my technique so much in just a year that I have been there! They are kind and caring and willing to give you the extra push you need to be your best. The entire atsmosphere of the stu... more

April 25, 2013

The Center is such a wonderful place to dance and express yourself. I came to the studio 3 years ago for a summer intensive and although I was awfully nervous and afraid I wouldn't fit in, That changed as soon as I stepped into the studio and felt the warm embracing family of CCD. I improved my technique so much as well as learning more about myself in the context of dance and life in just three weeks! Since that summer, I have been attending the school full time and I love it, with every class I see improvement in an area I before had trouble with and over the years this has really cultivated my technique and overall love of dance. The Center offers many classes in different dance forms to help you really be the diverse dancer that you need to be in the ever changing dance scene of the world. Being in the Pre-Pro program has also helped me grow as an individual artist by doing solos, learning to choreograph and embrace my inner voice and image. All in all I would tell anyone and everyone to come to this studio. If not for the warm and insightful faculty, then for the amazing growth mentally, physically, and emotionally you will gain to help you with your life in dance and your life as it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2012

CCD has develope my technique so much in just a year that I have been there! They are kind and caring and willing to give you the extra push you need to be your best. The entire atsmosphere of the studio is very friendly with no competitive nature at all in the midst of it. Their prices are reasonable and they work with you on payments which is a plus during these times where cash is low. I love the Center and will continue to go there for years on!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A huge change in my technique and artistic ability as a dancer!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

What changes? They're great the way they are!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through a friend two summers ago.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

being more open to new ideas and experiences.

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I've been to my fair share of dance studios and never have I encountered one that I cherish as much as the Center for Contemporary Dance. I've learned a lot about dance at CCD, but I've also learned about myself, ways to work better with others, and ways to move forward and achieve my goals. My favorite part is that regardless of the age, shape, size, or background of the student, every single one has the opportunity to grow and does. The faculty members are inspiring and genuine when they teach students. They always go out of the way to help give any student the extra push he or she might need. It's an atmosphere unlike any other studio I've been to. It truly becomes a home away from home and a second family. I would recommend it for anyone from the recreational dancer to the aspiring professional dancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I am so grateful to have stumbled into Center for Contemporary Dance. I'm a lifelong dance fan who finally in late adulthood and probably the worst shape of my life, decided to make a first venture into the dance world. I couldn't have found a more nourishing, nurturing, special place to take this journey. Craig, Dario, Jennia and Jere'...my very first teacher all have earned a special place in my heart. The studio, its leadership, and its faculty have changed my life and I will be forever thankful. My fellow students younger and older are encouraging, inspirational and beautiful inside and out. Don't get me wrong, although I have big love for these people, this hasn't been easy for me. Every class I am mentally and physically challenged; I am humbled and beyond sore, thinking I may actually die at any moment, but the feeling of accomplishment during the class or afterwards...even a micro-sized improvement, feels so much better than sitting on the sidelines my entire life. CCD has a wide range of classes and also hosts classes for students with special needs. The tuition is a good deal and there are frequent specials to take advantage of. The parking is convenient too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 26, 2011

The Center for Contemporary Dance is an incredible organization that has provided me, a beginner adult dancer, with the opportunity to bring to life a dream that hadn't otherwise been achievable. I gr... more

April 8, 2013

The Center For Contemporary Dance has enriched my life through dance. I have found that even as a beginner adult I can enjoy an education in Beginner adult ballet, contemporary and modern that is taught at a pace that advanced students can still find challenging and beginners can learn in a vibrant, fun, comfortable environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Center for Contemporary Dance is an incredible organization that has provided me, a beginner adult dancer, with the opportunity to bring to life a dream that hadn't otherwise been achievable. I grew up in an area that lacked access to programs and organizations that offered creative outlets such as music and dance. I remember being in the second grade and some members of a ballet school came down to my elementary school and hosted an event that offered student's an opportunity to dance. The stipulation was that only two students would be allowed into the program and would have to be bused from the south side to the north side of Milwaukee. I can remember very clearly feeling I had the day they announced the two students that were selected and my name wasn’t called. I knew at the moment, even at that age, that I'd lost a monumental opportunity. That ended that. There were no other programs available in the low income area I lived in. After that I didn't try to dance until I was 22 years old. Still I felt the drive to become a dancer and I knew that I was born to dance. I tried to dance in college and although the class description indicated that all beginners were welcome, arriving in the class and realizing that I was the only beginner made the experience a little bit difficult. Still, the drive was in me so I danced for that semester and I even did two performances. I remember being ignored in the class while I watched my teachers focus on the more developed and trained dancers. I stopped dancing for a few months after that but was I couldn’t avoid the passion in me to find a school that would help me, at 23 years of age, become a real dancer. My first ballet class at The Center for Dance changed my life. I'd never felt so encouraged and able than when I danced in Dario Moore's classroom. I've never felt that the moments that should have been embarrassing were anything but blocks that I could stand on and reach higher and higher until I reached a dream. The Center for Dance is about finding your soul and connection with your own emotions so that you can let it all spill out onto the dance floor. It is about technique and inspiration uniting to create a masterpiece. It is about the arts. The arts are being wiped away and replaced with technology and shiny things. We have forgotten that the most incredible creation we will ever own are our own bodies and The Center for Contemporary Dance has created an owner’s manual to help us understand it's most difficult and powerful capabilities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I realized that I had developed and that it didn’t matter that I hadn’t started dancing when I was in second grade. The Center had helped me fill in the gaps of time lost and helped shaped me into the dancer that I’ve previously lacked the confidence to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I couldn't ask for a better studio.

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

This is my daughter's 5th year taking ballet, but her 3rd school. We are so pleased with CCD, she has learned far more about the technical aspects of ballet since beginning classes there, than in her entire dancing career! I love the fact that they are non-profit as well. Her instructor is so patient and everyone in the studio is friendly - whether you're a newbie or have attended for a while. Thank you to The Center for Contemporary Dance, Inc., for giving my daughter an opportunity to develop her skills in such an encouraging environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

I personally heard many of my students excitedly talking about what they saw on stage. This material, which is often a little dry and dusty, was given life and relevance by the dancers of the Center for Contemporary Dance. What a fantastic experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Dance was suggested to us as a creative outlet for our children. We struggled for quite a while looking for the right fit and somewhere we could afford. We are really happy to have found CCD.

We really appreciate the staff and the way they interact and encourage the children. They have
a great way of showing the children they are expected to behave and yet do it in a loving and kind manner. It is obvious that they want the children to learn and will take the extra time to explain and demonstrate when a child doesn't catch on right away. The staff's love of dance and for the children is evident in the way they teach and interact with the children.

CCD is helping our children gain confidence in themselves. The diversity of the staff and students has also been wonderful for our children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

The performance that The Center for Contemporary Dance brought to our school was a great experience for our students and teachers. I appreciated the explaination of the different dance movements that the students would see- that helped them understand why the dancers were dancing these movements according to the story. It was evident through their faces during and after the presentation that our students were deeply engaged. I look forward to seeing CCD come back to our school in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

The performance that The Center for Contemporary Dance brought to our school was an engaging and powerful experience for our students. The dialogue before and after the presentation was very age appropriate and relevant to the curriculum. The students left with curiosities that will lead to ongoing studies. This presentation and performance was truly an amazing enhancement to the curriculum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers