Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.951225
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I greatly enjoy working to serve this organization. In my 3 years volunteering for The Center for Contemporary Dance, I have seen the company produce exceptional works of art, witnessed young people learning and growing through dance and been an active part of outreach efforts that brought quality arts education programs to at-risk youth in the public school setting. The leaders, staff and faculty are outstanding professionals and, more importantly, are incredible human beings who truly care about impacting the community through dance. We are fortunate to have The Center for Contemporary Dance in our community--they care about the cultural future of Central Florida and are doing remarkable things to sustain the future of dance in our area. Thank you!
October 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 17, 2012

The center for contemporary dance has done so much for me. When I came to them I was very unsure of what I wanted. They gave me direction and a path to follow while I still figure out where my life wi... more

October 17, 2014

The Center for Contemporary Dance has helped me build more confidence in myself and has introduced me to people who truly want nothing but the best for me.
May 17, 2012

The center for contemporary dance has done so much for me. When I came to them I was very unsure of what I wanted. They gave me direction and a path to follow while I still figure out where my life will lead me. They accept all ages( thank god!!) and they have a level for every dancer whether your a beginner or an advanced dancer. They will push you beyond what you can do but they will challenge you and will encourage you to do more than what you think( in your mind) you can do. It's a great place for parents to bring their kids to if their child exhibit interests in dance. In the short time I've been here not only have I grown as a dancer I've seen other dancers; both young and old , beginner and advanced; grow in strength and in professionalism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Center for Contemporary Dance (CCD) of Winter Park, FL offers a plethora of opportunities and exposure to children, youth and adults in the performing arts. CCD is a dance school of exceptional quality and high standards requiring only the best from each of its students. I became familiar with CCD a few years back when my granddaughter earned the opportunity to dance with the company as an apprentice. She first attended CCD to learn the Horton Technique in dance. Her experiences while taking that class prompted her desire to return again and again. She performed in "Sacred Slave Stories" where she not only gained an appreciation for history but where she learned how to tell a story through movement. I cannot applaud the Center for Contemporary enough. This is a non-profit that exceeds the expectations of many and one that provides a community service par excellence.

As a "dance grandmom" and a retired elementary school principal, I attended many of the performances that were held at Title I schools throughout Orange County, FL. Students at these schools rarely get the opportunity to learn of and to enjoy performing arts and especially through dance. Live performances of any kind are a first for most of them. The students were initially in awe and then totally engaged once the performance started. I realized then, that CCD offered a service to these students that they would remember for a life time.

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

The Center for Contemporary Dance (CCD) is an exceptional organization that is succeeding at expanding our community's access to outstanding dance education programs. In addition to the organization's place-based programs that reach 300+ students, CCD annually impacts more than 5,000 at risk youth through outreach programs in the public schools, child welfare agencies and youth organizations. The educators are outstanding, mature industry professionals who truly care about each student's experience and growth. Furthermore, CCD has cultivated more than 12 professional dance companies through its Residency Program, giving Central Florida a rich and diverse culture of contemporary dance.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We were looking for a dance studio for my daughter when we walking through the doors of CCD three years ago. We found that and more. CCD has a multi-pronged mission that ranges from dance education to community involvement. I love knowing that I am supporting their mission statement every time I pay tuition. It makes what is already an affordable fee feel so much more important. CCD's outreach to the underserved populations in our area has brought dance to Title I schools, special needs children and adults, and more.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

An exceptional organization dedicated to high quality dance education with a visionary eye on the future of dance in America.
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

CCD has been an amazing place for our whole family. Both of my children, my mother and I have all taken and enjoyed classes at CCD. My daughter loves to dance hours every week and loves to explore all the offerings while I always felt confident that the faculty and staff are interested in helping her develop her strength and confidence as much as her dancing.
I am so happy and grateful to have found a place where we are welcomed, educated and challenged in the best ways possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

CCD is a wonderful fit for our family— with their large menu of class offerings they are able to cater to the specific needs of my children-- one, who is a recreational dancer and the other more serious minded. The kiddos adore the faculty and consider the studio lobby their ‘living room’. We truly value the stellar dance education they are receiving and the studios’ holistic teaching approach of ‘person, artist, dancer.'

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

A welcoming, comprehensive dance education for both serious-minded pre-professional dancers and those that dance just for the joy of it, there is no studio in the area that can offer the wide range of opportunities that CCD does. We appreciate the strong ballet program and the focus on technique, and CCD turns out well-rounded dancers with a full curriculum that also includes strong Modern, Contemporary, Tap, Jazz, African and more. What REALLY sets CCD apart, though, is the careful leadership provided by Craig and Dario. Because of what they have set out to create at CCD, our kids grow not just as dancers, but as little people. It's great to have found a dance studio that shares our values.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I am a teacher at Trinity Preparatory School. Dario comes over to my Comparative Religions class and teaches the students about African Dance - history, symbols, patterns and movement. He does more than just teach theory and dance. The students have amazing conversations about the roles of members of tribes in their society and then transfer that to understanding their personal importance/worth and the role they play and will play in society. Dario reads the students and reaches them where they are. I never cease to be amazed at the quality and depth of his teaching. I am honored to hand over my classes to him.

An example of how his lessons impact students: This summer I gave an assignment to the class to come up with a way to teach the basic stories of Judaism. They could use any medium they wanted (including electronic media). I had two male students (who are not dancers and until this class had never danced) choreograph a dance to tell the story of Judaism. They then taught the class the dance. Those students will never forget that lesson!

Thank You!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers