Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.960535
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

A welcoming, comprehensive dance education for both serious-minded pre-professional dancers and those that dance just for the joy of it, there is no studio in the area that can offer the wide range of opportunities that CCD does. We appreciate the strong ballet program and the focus on technique, and CCD turns out well-rounded dancers with a full curriculum that also includes strong Modern, Contemporary, Tap, Jazz, African and more. What REALLY sets CCD apart, though, is the careful leadership provided by Craig and Dario. Because of what they have set out to create at CCD, our kids grow not just as dancers, but as little people. It's great to have found a dance studio that shares our values.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 19, 2013

CCD is a wonderful place for all ages, sizes, shapes and colors to learn and enjoy dance. The community within CCD is amazing! The staff and administration are caring, thoughtful and are sincerely con... more

July 10, 2014

Have you always wanted to try a ballet class? Tap? How about a Contemporary class? Afraid you are too old? Not the right shape, color, size? Only danced in your car while driving? Perhaps you are a serious minded and dedicated dancer looking for something new to try or maybe for a different environment? Are you looking for a program to propel you into a professional career? Maybe looking for a class for your little one? You love to go dancing and think it would be more fun than the treadmill? You are a guy and worried you will be uncomfortable in a room full of pink? If any of those apply to you, The Center for Contemporary Dance in Winter Park is the place for you. CCD has great options for types of classes and lots of opportunities to make it work into your schedule and finances. The staff and dance family at CCD is warm and welcoming. A supportive and joyous environment designed to not only teach dance but to nourish the mind, body and soul. The leadership and support that Craig and Dario provide is thoughtful, creative, and respectful of all. Take a chance! Go take a trial class, you won’t regret it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2013

CCD is a wonderful place for all ages, sizes, shapes and colors to learn and enjoy dance. The community within CCD is amazing! The staff and administration are caring, thoughtful and are sincerely concerned with their students well being, needs and future. If you want to pursue dance seriously, as a form of exercise, therapy or just for fun this is the place to be in Central Florida. They have all sorts of classes for all levels from beginners to pre-professionals. They foster several emerging dance companies and there are often performances at reasonable prices that expose the community to new and interesting ideas. CCD 's mission of bringing dance to all socio-economic backgrounds is truly beautiful. Dance and dance instruction does so much for an individual besides the obvious. Even just watching their amazing performances in Spring and Fall will expand your vision. If you don't choose to dance, please think about donating to their mission or supporting them by coming to their winter and spring shows. We came to find CCD by chance and started classes for the joy dance brought my daughter but have found much, much more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope someday they can expand to have even more space to bring classes and their mission of dance for all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I am a teacher at Trinity Preparatory School. Dario comes over to my Comparative Religions class and teaches the students about African Dance - history, symbols, patterns and movement. He does more than just teach theory and dance. The students have amazing conversations about the roles of members of tribes in their society and then transfer that to understanding their personal importance/worth and the role they play and will play in society. Dario reads the students and reaches them where they are. I never cease to be amazed at the quality and depth of his teaching. I am honored to hand over my classes to him.

An example of how his lessons impact students: This summer I gave an assignment to the class to come up with a way to teach the basic stories of Judaism. They could use any medium they wanted (including electronic media). I had two male students (who are not dancers and until this class had never danced) choreograph a dance to tell the story of Judaism. They then taught the class the dance. Those students will never forget that lesson!

Thank You!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Edited: I apologize that my original candid statement was taken in a way I did not intend. The CCD has increased its prices, but the teachers are worth it if you are are able to invest or budget. I would LOVE to take more at this quality studio, but can't afford to. I will continue to take 1 hr. class--Contemporary Dance at CCD for $70 a month & it's a good deal. In the future, I would may take an 1 hr. course in ballet. I stand corrected by the original response. Thank you CCD for your care to respond & nice to hear there are hour sessions in ballet. I don't mean to offend the organization or be critical. The classes are still worth the money & I am glad to hear most welcome the changes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing at all...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

This school is by far the best dance studio in all of Florida. The faculty is is amazing, the instructors all like family are constantly advising students in different ways they can become better both as a dancer and as an individual. Through the arts I personally have become more confident and encouraged to continue my passion by dancing for my university however, if I had the option I would chose to further my dance education at The Center for Contemporary Dance. My experience has been nothing but pleasant and I plan on returning during breaks.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

My daughter is young, but she already loves dance and music. CCD is a great place for her love to be developed. The teachers and staff are kind, generous with their time, and knowledgeable. They expect a lot from the kids and help them achieve the goals. They foster a great feeling of community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 22, 2013

more

June 22, 2013

I am a liturgical dance (praise dance for those that know the term) at a church. Be prepared to WORK HARD. It's sooo worth it. I have taken beginner lessons at other dance studios in central Florida & teachers were not breaking down the skills. My desire was to find a progressive school for an adult learner. I grew tired of the same jazz class or ballet basic for adults with the same old steps each week. At other schools, my growth felt stunted and/or I felt ignorant. The CCD teachers push me (in a good way). I love the ability to purchase class hours, pay as you go, or purchase a semester. I actually see other adults like me taking lessons too. Plus, all the teachers give the adult body proper warm up (my body is older and needs that greatly). The studio is a hidden away from the from the road, so give yourself extra time coming the first time. You will sweat and be sore if this is the first time dancing "hard core" in a while or ever. CCD does not play around. It seems to take the art of dance and teaching seriously no matter your age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have an online location or app created (apple or android) so I can add more dance hours or view how many hours I used within 24 hours of taking a class or making payment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

CCD- Great teachers, great staff, professional instruction and performances in a non threatening, caring environment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Every day it is my honor and privilege to teach the students at The Center for Contemporary Dance. A little over one year ago I found CCD online when I was searching for quality dance studios in the Orlando area. I was preparing to move from out of state, and I was nervous about finding my new dance home. From the very first time I entered CCD and spoke with Craig, I knew it was THE place for me. Through CCD I am able to teach a diverse group of students-- from ages two to forty and older. It is so rewarding to be able to teach and choreograph here. As one of the only studios in Orlando offering non-competitive dance training, we are able to focus our efforts on technical and artistic development. We also provide mentorship for our students who are preparing for college and beyond. What we do at CCD is more than just teaching dance steps-- we aim to enrich the lives of all our students and families through the art of dance. Through CCD I also have been able to continue my dance studies on a professional level so that I am constantly growing, challenging and advancing in my career. I have met a wealth of people at our school who refer to the center as "home" or "family." This lets me know we have something really special here in Winter Park. In addition to teaching Creative Movement, Ballet and Contemporary dance, I also have the unique experience of teaching dance for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder. This holds a special place in my heart because I have a family member who has Autism. It is both challenging and rewarding to serve this special needs population. We at CCD are community-oriented citizens who believe that dance is for EVERYONE, and we celebrate our diversity of shape, size, age, ethnicity and background. It's been my pleasure to continue learning and growing through this center as I teach, choreograph and perform within this great community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 18, 2012

CCD has develope my technique so much in just a year that I have been there! They are kind and caring and willing to give you the extra push you need to be your best. The entire atsmosphere of the stu... more

April 25, 2013

The Center is such a wonderful place to dance and express yourself. I came to the studio 3 years ago for a summer intensive and although I was awfully nervous and afraid I wouldn't fit in, That changed as soon as I stepped into the studio and felt the warm embracing family of CCD. I improved my technique so much as well as learning more about myself in the context of dance and life in just three weeks! Since that summer, I have been attending the school full time and I love it, with every class I see improvement in an area I before had trouble with and over the years this has really cultivated my technique and overall love of dance. The Center offers many classes in different dance forms to help you really be the diverse dancer that you need to be in the ever changing dance scene of the world. Being in the Pre-Pro program has also helped me grow as an individual artist by doing solos, learning to choreograph and embrace my inner voice and image. All in all I would tell anyone and everyone to come to this studio. If not for the warm and insightful faculty, then for the amazing growth mentally, physically, and emotionally you will gain to help you with your life in dance and your life as it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2012

CCD has develope my technique so much in just a year that I have been there! They are kind and caring and willing to give you the extra push you need to be your best. The entire atsmosphere of the studio is very friendly with no competitive nature at all in the midst of it. Their prices are reasonable and they work with you on payments which is a plus during these times where cash is low. I love the Center and will continue to go there for years on!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A huge change in my technique and artistic ability as a dancer!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

What changes? They're great the way they are!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Through a friend two summers ago.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

being more open to new ideas and experiences.

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers