Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a board member of BroSis since its beginning, and I am also the mother of Khary Lazarre-White, co-founder and executive director. I could not be more proud of my son, his co-workers and staff, and also of the members, alumni and current, for the inspiring work they do. They are serving not only their community, but the city, and the nation as a whole by articulating a system of values, a way of thinking about individual responsibility and community cooperation. They have created a brilliant curriculum that teaches national and global history, the power of literature and art to affect knowledge and the human spirit, to, in the words of the poet Sekou Sundiata, "stiffen our spines." They demand of youth that they become critical thinkers, questioning assumptions given to them by previous generations, yet respecting previous thinkers by studying their works. I am proud of the stand taken against racism in all its forms, and against sexism and misogyny. They deserve the highest rating.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have known of this almost from its inception. However, 7 years ago, I started the annual Women's Holiday Tea as a fundraiser because I thought it was important to support this organization that has dedicated leadership and staff who work tirelessly to nuture changes in the lives of the youth who are fortunate to cross their paths. Their statistics show their successes and milestones they have reached, but meeting and talking with the young women and men is even more compelling. They openly share how Bro/Sis is "home" for them and how Bro/Sis has greatly impacted their lives. I appreciate the fact that Bro/Sis provides opportunities for the young women and men to discuss and think critically about social justice issues and to encourage them to be independent-thinking, educated, worldly and caring people. I joined the Board about 2 years ago and I am committed to expanding its network of supporters and doing whatever I can to support this organization. The young men and women of color deserve our support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been on the Board for more than 15 years. I joined because I have known Khary Lazarre White from before he was born, and when I wanted to be of service to the Harlem community, I asked him if he needed more Board members, and he said yes. knew that his organization would be outstanding because he is impeccable in his commitment to young people, to the Harlem community, to providing the best quality of education, and to linking service with advocacy. Each year I am more impressed by the depth of the relationships that BroSis staff people develop with the young people, with their 24/7 availability, with their constant evaluation and re-evaluation of programs. I serve on the board with alumni of the program, and I see how confident they are and how connected they feel to Harlem and to BroSis and to the work they have developed.Brotherhood/SisterSol operates with integrity, honesty, commitment and love. There is not better organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I've witnessed Bro/Sis inspire and change the lives of hundreds of young men and women of color. The hardworking and dedicated staff always places the young people center of all they do; supporting and guiding them with love, respect, knowledge and encouragement. The organization and its founders serve as a beacon of limitless possibility amiss an often bleak and marginalized community. Thank you Bro/Sis for all that you do; for raising the bar of youth development work, and our next generation of leaders!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I first got involved with Bro/Sis when I met one of the founders at an Alumni Recognition Ceremony at Brown University. the co-founders were receiving an award given to young alumni who have devoted their lives to public service. I became a big supporter after meeting the co-founders and heard about the life changing work they were and are doing with youth in NYC. They are doing an incredible job and I am happy to support their life changing work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been an enormous supporter of Bro-Sis since it's inception. I have been mentoring middle school students for over 20 years and it is my belief that Bro-Sis is unique and the best program I have ever seen. It offers the young people who participate a year-round community that supports a range of academic abilities and dreams. All of the young people who participate have the support and guidance of a group of gifted and committed adults who help each child realize his or her greatest potential. The curriculum and programs are geared to respond to the developmental milestones in the lives of each young member of this amazing community. The range of services Bro-Sis provides is extraordinary. Donna Cephas

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have recently joined the Brotherhood/SisterSol board after getting to know the organization over the last two years. BHSS is a dynamic and innovative community organization that provides mentoring, education, life-skills, transformative overseas travel with community engagement, environmental activism & learning, college prep and so much more! BHSS is making a difference in the lives of every young person who walks into the BHSS building. Co-founder, Khary Lazarre-Whlte, is both brilliant and inspirational and one of the most effective leaders in providing services and advocating for black and latino/a youth. Khary is recognized nationally for his work and knowledge in the field of education and all issues facing the youth of today. I have worked with many nonprofits/community organizations over the years and BrotherhoodSisterSol is one of the very best!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Brotherhood/Sister Sol is an amazing organization whose warmth can reach anyone coming in from the worlds dying ideals of thinking of ones self to survive. The daily embracing of togetherness inside is unmatched by another institution of education I know of. I've been an active members since 2004, also been grateful enough to travel to various countries, and speak in front of numerous crowds about issues facing a young challenges when becoming a man in under privilege neighborhood while seeking success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I joined the Brotherhood/Sister Sol at the age of 16 as a member of the Liberation Program. Before that time, I had never heard of any youth organizations and would aimlessly spend my summers lounging around. As a teen the world seems to revolve around you and whatever ills you're going through. In becoming a part of this family, my eyes have been opened to the greater world. To the injustices that affect my brothers and sisters here in the United States and all over the world. This organization has helped me to realize that in helping others no matter how small can create a rippling effect resulting in greater change. I am proud to be not only an alum but apart of the family because in its essence, that is what this organization is about, family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Brotherhood/ Sister Sol is a gem in Harlem. The doors for this organization are always open and the welcome always warm. Being a part of Bro/Sis for almost 10 years has been vital to not only my growth and development, but that of numerous others who have either went through the programs, volunteered for events or worked within the organization. Bro/Sis provides bonds that never sever regardless of how little you come or how far long spaced your visits. Bro/Sis provides resources and support to anyone who knock on their doors, and the youth who have taken advantage of what Bro/Sis has to offer will sing its praises.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers