Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1.843142345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

Boy what a revelation after I read so many similar reviews. They are relentless, calling morning, noon and night. I gave a month ago and they are hounding me. I think they aren't what they profess to be. Stay away from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not donate to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 6, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I don't know if this charity is a scam or not, but I can confirm they are aggressive and a bother. I would not recommend become involved with them. My husband made a small pledge and they somehow listed it under my name and call for me ALL THE TIME - refusing to talk with him - just keep calling and calling during the week when I am at work. They finally did call late enough for me to be home from work, and the lady was aggressive and very insistent that I made the pledge (not my husband), not sure why that even matters - just seems like a weird thing to argue about. I am going to send them a money order and wash my hands. What a hassle for the first two weeks of existence with these folks. And, from reading the other reviews, I am not hopeful they will ever stop, even after getting our small donation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the behavior of their telemarketers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I may a small pledge to this society thinking it was a legitimate charity. After I made the pledge I ended up in the hospital and had 4 surgeries and was unable to work for several months. Because of the loss of income I was not able to send my donation in in time. The first time they called about the donation I explained my position and told them I would send in the donation as soon as I got back on my feet. My sister in law has breast cancer and I had every intention of sending the donation when I could. Well I continued to get calls every few days and each time I explained why I had not sent in the donation yet, but they kept calling. Finally I stopped answering the phone so they started calling me every hour. I felt like I was being hounded by a bill collector. I started to get a bad feeling about this charity and decided to do some research. Most of the donations collected go to salaries. Give your donations to a legitimate organizations that help find a cure and those that are in need of help. You can find a list of ratings here:
http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=4509#.Uw3mv4XSPKc

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dismantle it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I received a phone call from this group in the evening. Looking back on it, I should not have picked up the phone, since the caller ID was blocked. It was obvious this scam did not want to advertise their name.

I listened to the pitch which was very pushy, but the person was very nice.
They were unsympathetic to a discussion of all my friends who were fighting breast cancer, however. After I agreed to the minimum pledge of $15, and asked that they send me a bill, I was sent to a person for "confirmation". She immediately asked for my credit card number, which I refused. I finally hung up on her after she tried to get more of a pledge.

I will not provide the money to this charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

did you read about how much money they spend on the their salaries and how much is left over to "help" those with breast cancer. these people are crooks. pushy and calling at all times of day and nite. they need to be thrown into federal prison.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I donated to them a few times but came seriously annoyed once they started calling ALL THE TIME. I asked them politely to correspond only through mail, but they totally ignored my request. So then I looked them up after pledging a small amount and discovered others having the same problem and that they have a pending class action lawsuit against them. So I didn't send in my pledge amount with the envelope arrived. Instead I sent a letter stating why I wasn't and asked them to stop calling my home. They continue to call, multiple times a day (3 or 4 times). I finally answered the other day and it was this rude, smokers rasp of a voice and I told her to stop calling and my reasons for not wanting them to contact me anymore. But yet, the calls continue. I am filing a complaint with the BBB, the Attorney General, and I will now in turn start calling them to harass and irritate as they do me. These people are awful and they are a scam. I don't understand why they think harassment is the way to go. It is absolutely befuddling to me and I have had enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I got a call from the Associated Community Services www.associatedcommunityservices.com and was asked to donate $20 to the Breast Cancer Society. www.breastcancersociety.org. I asked what there ratio of money goes to the society. They told me 80% goes to them to hired the phone operators etc. and 20% goes to the Breast Cancer Society. In my mind that Ratio is unacceptable and not sustainable. The Breast Cancer Society has administration costs so very little of my donation is helping a low income women with breast cancer. I found the operator to be aggressive and reading from a script. I don't believe this is a SCAM but it's definitely not an organization I would recommend anyone to donate any money to. There are much better organizations that will put more money to work than the Breast Cancer Society. Also I would recomend that any and all NFPs avoid Assocated Community Services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found their phone solicitation methodolgy to be agressive and relentless. They do not quit calling no matter what you do. I also was disturbed by the high operating costs and the percentage of their money they spend outside the U.S.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 6, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I listened to their phone solicitation and they seemed very friendly. This was right after the Susan B. Komen debacle. I said I'd send them money, and then I looked them up on the charitable navigator. I have been flooded with phone calls and mail bills since (over 5 months)! I have asked twice to be put on their 'do not call' list. And they say they will and then don't. If they don't catch you in the morning, they will call back at night. They are relentless and have really pissed me off. They have ads in the newspapers for car donations and are currently under investigation. I will never donate again for any organization I don't see operating in person and know more about. I wish I didn't have to give a star rating, because a one star is too much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 19, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I got another call from this organization so I looked at the IRS Form 990. Of the money raised $876,825 was spent in 2010 in the US. $31,457,842 was spent outside the US. Yet their printed information never mentions anything but the US. They spend $14 million! for fundraising. I can think of several US organizations to donate to when I want my money spent in the US. When I choose to spend outside the US, there are also very highly rated agencies that are clear about what they do and where. UNICEF and Doctors without Borders are good examples.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be honest about what the donations actually pay for. Certainly not what I was told on the phone or the printed brochure. Always ask that a report be mailed to you. Always pay by check. Gives you time to check out the charity and to rethink funding priorities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

They claimed to provide some financial support and items that cancer patients need. Nothing was said about any place but the US -- makes me wonder what are they hiding from donors like me?

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I did not. I made a donation last year and asked for written promotional material. I was very disappointed.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do not send them your money. It's got the trappings of a scam.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help walk breast cancer fighters through our Hope Supply Program and receive material needs Volunteer