Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1.843142345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

While living in South Florida I received a call from this company asking for a pledge. Because a dear friend had just been diagnosed with breast cancer I felt it was a way to honor her. The fund raiser kept insisting I give them my charge card information but I was just as adamant that I would not. Thank goodness! When I received the pledge information I decided to check them out and found such a small amount of funds raised by them is actually used to benefit cancer patients I decided not to send any money, but did return the pledge form with a notation that I'd changed my mind and gave the reason why. This caused a barrage of phone calls but I just refused to answer the phone. Now that I live in a different state they've started calling my new number.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lose their tax-exempt status and close the doors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

This outfit is one of several "charities" run by a particular family. Their only charitable work I could find was donations of expired over the counter medicines to several homeless agencies, for which the donor receives a tax write-off. Nearly all the oney they raise goes to salaries of family members and telemarketing. Donate to a local, trusted charity. Don't waste your hard earned dollars with these people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate this "charity".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Before you donate look closer at this unethical group of Charities. They were rated in the 50 worst charities. They basically steal donated funds and lie to the public. Google reviews, read news articles and watch Anderson Coopers 50 worst charity segment. They are one of three family charities that claim to the public that they give more donations to their "cause" yet they really give only pennies on the dollar. The bulk goes to salaries for Executives and their employed family members.

Do your homework. You will see that there's more deserving places to donate your money to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Wow ! Constant phone calls & mailings. Can't seem to shake them, even after asking that I be taken off their list. Went to 3 different charity rating sites & they show that only about 10% of donations go where it's supposed to : NOT the 15% claimed by BSC. Even at the higher figure, I would not waste anything to support this kind of organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close them down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I've received three telemarketing calls from a professional fundraiser for this charity. Each time the caller has been very honest about the 15% of my money that would actually go to the charity and 85% for their fee. Each time I asked to be taken off their list, and they have not done it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to pursue fundraising strategies that are more efficient, so more of the public's money can go to services, or maybe just step aside and let sincere organizations receive more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

This organization is a scam. I've read the few good reviews on this site and yes, I'm sure they help a few people or they wouldn't have hung on to their non-profit status these short four years they've been running. However, in four years they've had numerous investigative reports and blogs calling them out for the unethical and near criminal misuse of funds and are currently under investigation by several Attorney Generals.

Yes, go get the little this organization gives out if you qualify BUT I wouldn't donate a penny to these people. There are ethical, well run and more deserving organizations that REALLY help those in need. The Breast Cancer Society is not one of them. This organization is corrupt and all the higher paid staff and much of the Board of Directors are family relatives. They want the public to focus on the few they help not the millions they squander!

Be wise! They don't have investigative reporters exposing their greed over and over because they are a good charity. Watch this report from Anderson Cooper 360

http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2013/06/13/beware-of-these-cancer-charity-rip-offs/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down and make them pay back the money they have robbed from needy breast cancer patients and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Scam artist!!! The entire family are scammers. Just another perfect example of the rich making themselves richer, regardless of who suffers for it in the end.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop paying the executives exorbitant amounts of money. Maybe some prison time for stealing from desperate people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

How can you scam so many people ?? My Mom has brain cancer I watched CNN and I can't believe that you can even look at yourself in the mirror! CEO made 261.609.00 last year and between you ,Cancer Fund Of America also Children Cancer Fund Of America. Total 26 million last year and only 2% go's to Charity!!!!! WOW YOU MAKE ME SICK!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN!!!! DEVIL IS WAITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have learned over the years to do my research before making a judgment on an organization. There are blogs and information about this and all organizations both good and bad. I also have read that several people who work for the organization are related so I looked on their website and they do confirm that fact. I don't see why it's such a problem; it seems to me the family is trying to do some good in the world instead of be a burden on it. I have also received calls asking me to donate, I told the solicitor I was not able to at this time. They were polite and thanked me for my time. I will continue to check them out but I think they are doing a great job trying to help those they can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I looked this charity up online and I read on another blog that almost all of the people working for The Breast Cancer Society are related to the Executive Director James T. Reynolds Jr. They use call centers that take 80% of each donation and after that James and his family receive outrageous salaries. His wife works there and is the Public Relations Representative. She goes by Kristina Hixson. I wonder what she makes and how qualified is she for her salary? They should investigate this organization and look into family relationships and spending.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help walk breast cancer fighters through our Hope Supply Program and receive material needs Volunteer