Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1.862345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Staff at the Breast Cancer Society Inc. are so amazing! The organization really is passionate about the quality of life breast cancer patients and survivors have. They provide quality items in the warehouse for women to go shopping every month "free". Items provided range from personal hygiene to clothing and furniture, as well as prosthetic breasts and wigs. These are items that these women (including myself) could never afford since many of us are focused on medical insurance issues. They provide services as well such as home health care for patients going through treatments.

The Breast Cancer Society Inc. cannot take away the breast cancer but they put smiles on so many women's faces and give them encouragement and hope for not just a better today but an awesome tomorrow! I will be forever grateful to them for all they have done to make my journey lighter in the load I carried and I am happy to call them my friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That every state had a Breast Cancer Society Inc. warehouse. The organization helps women and men affected by breast cancer all over the world but there are currently only two warehouses: one located in PA and the other in AZ with a third one in the works. They are growing and can't wait to see the warehouse in IN!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very fortunate to have come in contact with The Breast Cancer Society! During the darkest times in my life, they were there for me. I was introduced to their Hope Supply Program, and was given material things to help make ends meet while going through treatments, household goods, hygiene items, furniture, etc. More than all the material things, I was given hope, support, love.

I would love for everyone to have an open mind, get to know the organization, the staff... come to some of the events. They do what they do for US, patients and survivors and our families. They made a huge impact on my family, they are truly our Angels!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand and reach out to many more patients, but know that takes money, time and lots of planning. I hear they are moving to other states, I am excited that other patients will get to experience the help I received.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 24, 2014

more

January 24, 2014

My experience with the Breast Cancer Society has been nothing but positive! I have had the opportunity to visit the Hope Supply Warehouse and was able to get much need items for myself as well has my children. The supplies were all new and in great quality. Lots of the products are things I need monthly for my home. The staff and volunteer are all amazing. The volunteer are true angels and many of them have gone through the same journey as me! It is a great feeling to have others relate to your experience since Breast Cancer changes you for ever... I will support this cause and without a doubt know they are in this for a true reason. To help those in their time of need mentally and physically!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To bring in more volunteers to the organization who has been through the Breast Cancer experience

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

A lot of organizations that are worth dealing with tend to be word of mouth. I received a phone call from this company after feeling out an inquiry as to their services. I had been diagnosed wit ductal carcinoma, and I am BRCA1 positive. I was a single mom, and my first though was my children. Then I was struggling with how to make ends meet and get simple things, TP tooth brushes, even just shampoo, or how your going to clean your house after surgery, If you have fought cancer, you know the fight. And in stops this organization that wrapped loving arms around my family, offered support and said, lets shop! So I went to the ware house, and I was able to get a vest for surgery, compression glove and socks, shampoo and toiletries, crafts to pass my time in recovery, things for my children, a new couch, and much needed curtains for my home! And it was good quality, not junk, I even receive a new Temperpedic mattress and that was the best gift in the world! I was provided with NEW prosthetics and bras, Nothing was expected like this! I even received a gas voucher to help with my vehicle expenses.
But best of all, is the people, the ability to call and have a survivor talk to you, or to be able to go to group and get angry and cry, knowing you are not alone. Or the simple Christmas carolers that come to your door and give light to a dark Christmas. These are a few of my experiences, and there are many more!
I know there are companies out there that are fraudulent.THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!! Those who have been called, and thought so badly of this group, I'm sorry you are missing a wonder chance to heal and grow.
I have received tremendous amounts love from these people. And I seen their paychecks, know there stories and reasons they do what they do. Survivors of cancer patients, or survivors in general have this ability to understand and help another that is going through it , why? because they have been there and want to make a difference to those of us who still fight!
Now I fight and volunteer to help others who are just starting down this path, and if I can make a difference for them, I will!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them recognition that they deserve ! and a bigger warehouse!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

In 2009 I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer and the battle was on. I did not know what was ahead of me and found I was right in the middle of the worst economy ever. With all the cut backs it was difficult to find help where I needed it most. How will I keep a roof over my head and keep up with daily necessities? Along with the fight itself where I was always sick and exhausted I had to find any source I could for daily help. An organization within my community had referred me to The Breast Cancer Society, Inc. Besides standing in food lines and asking for utility help there is more to the process of survival. Many organization that would help could only help for one month, some had no funds and no help at all, unfortunately cancer treatments for me lasted years. So much stress every step of the way I found a blessing. This blessing came as The Breast Cancer Society, Inc. This organization helped me with the personal items I needed and funds monthly that got me through. They made me feel like I had someone in my corner. The shopping was a fun moment in a hard time in my life. This was such a tremendous help and I could not find any other organization out there that offered what The Breast Cancer Society, Inc. gave me. I came away with hope, encouragement and less stress. This is huge! Thank you for thinking of all the women and men who face this disease. Your organization is a God send for many including myself. I appreciate all of you and all you do! God Bless you...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change this organization but hope they can expand to help more people in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

This charity has been a blessing to me. As a survivor of breast cancer and victim of multiple sclerosis, the assistance they provide is helping me to acquire items for my home and myself that I otherwise would not have been able to get. From as big as a new queen mattress to as small as dishwasher soap, I am thankful for the many items I have received. The volunteers and staff are extremely courteous and helpful - especially Vincent! He makes my trip there so enjoyable and productive. I have actually recommended this charity to all my breast cancer survivor friends (3 so far!) and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is pretty good.I'm a client of BCS .They were very nice to me and understood my needs as a client.Their always inviting me to any events there having .I can't always make it,but,it's their generous thought of even inviting me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found the services of this organization helpful for me when I was going through treatment for breast cancer and had limited funds. The option of shopping in their warehouse for products was helpful although there were many things they had there that I did not want to take home because they had chemicals linked to breast cancer and many things I needed that they did not have. I think they should more carefully screen companies that donate products so that they offer make up and personal care products that do not contain hazardous ingredients. Still, I found some valuable things there and I found the staff friendly and caring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See notes above.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 11, 2012

The Breast Cancer Society is a great place. I am always so overwhelmed at how pleasant everyone always is. Thank you so much. –Maria Hernandez

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I just wanted to thank this organization for everything they've done for us this last year as my mom was battling breast cancer. They've been a true God-send.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving help for my mom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing. I wish more organization were like them.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help walk breast cancer fighters through our Hope Supply Program and receive material needs Volunteer