Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1.843142345
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have learned over the years to do my research before making a judgment on an organization. There are blogs and information about this and all organizations both good and bad. I also have read that several people who work for the organization are related so I looked on their website and they do confirm that fact. I don't see why it's such a problem; it seems to me the family is trying to do some good in the world instead of be a burden on it. I have also received calls asking me to donate, I told the solicitor I was not able to at this time. They were polite and thanked me for my time. I will continue to check them out but I think they are doing a great job trying to help those they can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I looked this charity up online and I read on another blog that almost all of the people working for The Breast Cancer Society are related to the Executive Director James T. Reynolds Jr. They use call centers that take 80% of each donation and after that James and his family receive outrageous salaries. His wife works there and is the Public Relations Representative. She goes by Kristina Hixson. I wonder what she makes and how qualified is she for her salary? They should investigate this organization and look into family relationships and spending.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I received a phone call from this group in the evening. Looking back on it, I should not have picked up the phone, since the caller ID was blocked. It was obvious this scam did not want to advertise their name.

I listened to the pitch which was very pushy, but the person was very nice.
They were unsympathetic to a discussion of all my friends who were fighting breast cancer, however. After I agreed to the minimum pledge of $15, and asked that they send me a bill, I was sent to a person for "confirmation". She immediately asked for my credit card number, which I refused. I finally hung up on her after she tried to get more of a pledge.

I will not provide the money to this charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

did you read about how much money they spend on the their salaries and how much is left over to "help" those with breast cancer. these people are crooks. pushy and calling at all times of day and nite. they need to be thrown into federal prison.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I received a phone solicitation by them today and as a survivor I basically told the solicitor to 'f' off! I can't believe people actually donate when solicited like this. Do your homework people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

IRS Form 990 for 2010 shows $48M revenue, $47M expense. President salary $351K. Fundraising $9M. Program expense: 20% to West Africa, 80% to Central America/Caribbean. Less than $500K to USA residents. Fundraising too high, salaries too high, program funds go outside of USA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 6, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I was solicited on the phone today by this Charity. While the telemarketer was reciting her spiel, I looked them up here and found that there was a donor alert that they were under investigation by the NY Attorney's office. When I asked her what the investigation was about, she immediately hung up. Guess they don't have a defense for how they are using their money. Thanks again Charity Navigator!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I donated to them a few times but came seriously annoyed once they started calling ALL THE TIME. I asked them politely to correspond only through mail, but they totally ignored my request. So then I looked them up after pledging a small amount and discovered others having the same problem and that they have a pending class action lawsuit against them. So I didn't send in my pledge amount with the envelope arrived. Instead I sent a letter stating why I wasn't and asked them to stop calling my home. They continue to call, multiple times a day (3 or 4 times). I finally answered the other day and it was this rude, smokers rasp of a voice and I told her to stop calling and my reasons for not wanting them to contact me anymore. But yet, the calls continue. I am filing a complaint with the BBB, the Attorney General, and I will now in turn start calling them to harass and irritate as they do me. These people are awful and they are a scam. I don't understand why they think harassment is the way to go. It is absolutely befuddling to me and I have had enough.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Very aggressive solicitation that turned me off. I immediately went to Charity Navigator and my suspicions are confirmed that this is not a credible place to make a donation for what would be otherwise a good cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I received a call from them today soliciting money and the caller emphasized the dire straits of the "victims of this horrible disease" ; the caller hung up after I told her I couldn't donate - didn't even say, "Goodbye!" My suspicions are confirmed by the comments posted by others. I never donate by phone anymore nor do I ask them to send an info packet. If I'm interested in a worthy charity, I will find them or I will read about it via print or internet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help walk breast cancer fighters through our Hope Supply Program and receive material needs Volunteer