Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1.843142345
Write A Review
November 11, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I've received three telemarketing calls from a professional fundraiser for this charity. Each time the caller has been very honest about the 15% of my money that would actually go to the charity and 85% for their fee. Each time I asked to be taken off their list, and they have not done it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to pursue fundraising strategies that are more efficient, so more of the public's money can go to services, or maybe just step aside and let sincere organizations receive more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

This organization is a scam. I've read the few good reviews on this site and yes, I'm sure they help a few people or they wouldn't have hung on to their non-profit status these short four years they've been running. However, in four years they've had numerous investigative reports and blogs calling them out for the unethical and near criminal misuse of funds and are currently under investigation by several Attorney Generals.

Yes, go get the little this organization gives out if you qualify BUT I wouldn't donate a penny to these people. There are ethical, well run and more deserving organizations that REALLY help those in need. The Breast Cancer Society is not one of them. This organization is corrupt and all the higher paid staff and much of the Board of Directors are family relatives. They want the public to focus on the few they help not the millions they squander!

Be wise! They don't have investigative reporters exposing their greed over and over because they are a good charity. Watch this report from Anderson Cooper 360

http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2013/06/13/beware-of-these-cancer-charity-rip-offs/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down and make them pay back the money they have robbed from needy breast cancer patients and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Scam artist!!! The entire family are scammers. Just another perfect example of the rich making themselves richer, regardless of who suffers for it in the end.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop paying the executives exorbitant amounts of money. Maybe some prison time for stealing from desperate people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

How can you scam so many people ?? My Mom has brain cancer I watched CNN and I can't believe that you can even look at yourself in the mirror! CEO made 261.609.00 last year and between you ,Cancer Fund Of America also Children Cancer Fund Of America. Total 26 million last year and only 2% go's to Charity!!!!! WOW YOU MAKE ME SICK!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN!!!! DEVIL IS WAITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

A lot of organizations that are worth dealing with tend to be word of mouth. I received a phone call from this company after feeling out an inquiry as to their services. I had been diagnosed wit ductal carcinoma, and I am BRCA1 positive. I was a single mom, and my first though was my children. Then I was struggling with how to make ends meet and get simple things, TP tooth brushes, even just shampoo, or how your going to clean your house after surgery, If you have fought cancer, you know the fight. And in stops this organization that wrapped loving arms around my family, offered support and said, lets shop! So I went to the ware house, and I was able to get a vest for surgery, compression glove and socks, shampoo and toiletries, crafts to pass my time in recovery, things for my children, a new couch, and much needed curtains for my home! And it was good quality, not junk, I even receive a new Temperpedic mattress and that was the best gift in the world! I was provided with NEW prosthetics and bras, Nothing was expected like this! I even received a gas voucher to help with my vehicle expenses.
But best of all, is the people, the ability to call and have a survivor talk to you, or to be able to go to group and get angry and cry, knowing you are not alone. Or the simple Christmas carolers that come to your door and give light to a dark Christmas. These are a few of my experiences, and there are many more!
I know there are companies out there that are fraudulent.THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!! Those who have been called, and thought so badly of this group, I'm sorry you are missing a wonder chance to heal and grow.
I have received tremendous amounts love from these people. And I seen their paychecks, know there stories and reasons they do what they do. Survivors of cancer patients, or survivors in general have this ability to understand and help another that is going through it , why? because they have been there and want to make a difference to those of us who still fight!
Now I fight and volunteer to help others who are just starting down this path, and if I can make a difference for them, I will!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them recognition that they deserve ! and a bigger warehouse!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

In 2009 I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer and the battle was on. I did not know what was ahead of me and found I was right in the middle of the worst economy ever. With all the cut backs it was difficult to find help where I needed it most. How will I keep a roof over my head and keep up with daily necessities? Along with the fight itself where I was always sick and exhausted I had to find any source I could for daily help. An organization within my community had referred me to The Breast Cancer Society, Inc. Besides standing in food lines and asking for utility help there is more to the process of survival. Many organization that would help could only help for one month, some had no funds and no help at all, unfortunately cancer treatments for me lasted years. So much stress every step of the way I found a blessing. This blessing came as The Breast Cancer Society, Inc. This organization helped me with the personal items I needed and funds monthly that got me through. They made me feel like I had someone in my corner. The shopping was a fun moment in a hard time in my life. This was such a tremendous help and I could not find any other organization out there that offered what The Breast Cancer Society, Inc. gave me. I came away with hope, encouragement and less stress. This is huge! Thank you for thinking of all the women and men who face this disease. Your organization is a God send for many including myself. I appreciate all of you and all you do! God Bless you...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change this organization but hope they can expand to help more people in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

This charity has been a blessing to me. As a survivor of breast cancer and victim of multiple sclerosis, the assistance they provide is helping me to acquire items for my home and myself that I otherwise would not have been able to get. From as big as a new queen mattress to as small as dishwasher soap, I am thankful for the many items I have received. The volunteers and staff are extremely courteous and helpful - especially Vincent! He makes my trip there so enjoyable and productive. I have actually recommended this charity to all my breast cancer survivor friends (3 so far!) and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Not only do I volunteer here I am also a survivor ( 4times). When I first found this organization I was not really expecting much. I was impressed the first time I ever went. They took me thru the warehouse and gave me items I really needed. Not only did they do this they ask me if there was something I needed to put on a wish or needs list. I did not have a bed at the time. I was sleeping on the ground then was given a air mattress by a friend. I recieved a call one day and was told they had a bed for me. I could not believe it. They helped me so much thru my whole surgery. Told me what programs were out there. It was unbelievable!! The staff, everyone there is there for me and what ever I need physically and emotionally. I deserve me being and keeping strong. I owe them so much. Thank you to EVERYONE THERE !!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

What changes can be done to a place they give you things plus they care about you. We are a family !! They make you feel like a family. So changesi would say they are a prefect organization that does this !! ? No one!

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is pretty good.I'm a client of BCS .They were very nice to me and understood my needs as a client.Their always inviting me to any events there having .I can't always make it,but,it's their generous thought of even inviting me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found the services of this organization helpful for me when I was going through treatment for breast cancer and had limited funds. The option of shopping in their warehouse for products was helpful although there were many things they had there that I did not want to take home because they had chemicals linked to breast cancer and many things I needed that they did not have. I think they should more carefully screen companies that donate products so that they offer make up and personal care products that do not contain hazardous ingredients. Still, I found some valuable things there and I found the staff friendly and caring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See notes above.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help walk breast cancer fighters through our Hope Supply Program and receive material needs Volunteer