Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1.877552345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Staff at the Breast Cancer Society Inc. are so amazing! The organization really is passionate about the quality of life breast cancer patients and survivors have. They provide quality items in the warehouse for women to go shopping every month "free". Items provided range from personal hygiene to clothing and furniture, as well as prosthetic breasts and wigs. These are items that these women (including myself) could never afford since many of us are focused on medical insurance issues. They provide services as well such as home health care for patients going through treatments.

The Breast Cancer Society Inc. cannot take away the breast cancer but they put smiles on so many women's faces and give them encouragement and hope for not just a better today but an awesome tomorrow! I will be forever grateful to them for all they have done to make my journey lighter in the load I carried and I am happy to call them my friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That every state had a Breast Cancer Society Inc. warehouse. The organization helps women and men affected by breast cancer all over the world but there are currently only two warehouses: one located in PA and the other in AZ with a third one in the works. They are growing and can't wait to see the warehouse in IN!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I don't know if this charity is a scam or not, but I can confirm they are aggressive and a bother. I would not recommend become involved with them. My husband made a small pledge and they somehow listed it under my name and call for me ALL THE TIME - refusing to talk with him - just keep calling and calling during the week when I am at work. They finally did call late enough for me to be home from work, and the lady was aggressive and very insistent that I made the pledge (not my husband), not sure why that even matters - just seems like a weird thing to argue about. I am going to send them a money order and wash my hands. What a hassle for the first two weeks of existence with these folks. And, from reading the other reviews, I am not hopeful they will ever stop, even after getting our small donation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the behavior of their telemarketers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I may a small pledge to this society thinking it was a legitimate charity. After I made the pledge I ended up in the hospital and had 4 surgeries and was unable to work for several months. Because of the loss of income I was not able to send my donation in in time. The first time they called about the donation I explained my position and told them I would send in the donation as soon as I got back on my feet. My sister in law has breast cancer and I had every intention of sending the donation when I could. Well I continued to get calls every few days and each time I explained why I had not sent in the donation yet, but they kept calling. Finally I stopped answering the phone so they started calling me every hour. I felt like I was being hounded by a bill collector. I started to get a bad feeling about this charity and decided to do some research. Most of the donations collected go to salaries. Give your donations to a legitimate organizations that help find a cure and those that are in need of help. You can find a list of ratings here:
http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=4509#.Uw3mv4XSPKc

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dismantle it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very fortunate to have come in contact with The Breast Cancer Society! During the darkest times in my life, they were there for me. I was introduced to their Hope Supply Program, and was given material things to help make ends meet while going through treatments, household goods, hygiene items, furniture, etc. More than all the material things, I was given hope, support, love.

I would love for everyone to have an open mind, get to know the organization, the staff... come to some of the events. They do what they do for US, patients and survivors and our families. They made a huge impact on my family, they are truly our Angels!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand and reach out to many more patients, but know that takes money, time and lots of planning. I hear they are moving to other states, I am excited that other patients will get to experience the help I received.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 24, 2014

more

January 24, 2014

My experience with the Breast Cancer Society has been nothing but positive! I have had the opportunity to visit the Hope Supply Warehouse and was able to get much need items for myself as well has my children. The supplies were all new and in great quality. Lots of the products are things I need monthly for my home. The staff and volunteer are all amazing. The volunteer are true angels and many of them have gone through the same journey as me! It is a great feeling to have others relate to your experience since Breast Cancer changes you for ever... I will support this cause and without a doubt know they are in this for a true reason. To help those in their time of need mentally and physically!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To bring in more volunteers to the organization who has been through the Breast Cancer experience

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This outfit is one of several "charities" run by a particular family. Their only charitable work I could find was donations of expired over the counter medicines to several homeless agencies, for which the donor receives a tax write-off. Nearly all the oney they raise goes to salaries of family members and telemarketing. Donate to a local, trusted charity. Don't waste your hard earned dollars with these people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate this "charity".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Before you donate look closer at this unethical group of Charities. They were rated in the 50 worst charities. They basically steal donated funds and lie to the public. Google reviews, read news articles and watch Anderson Coopers 50 worst charity segment. They are one of three family charities that claim to the public that they give more donations to their "cause" yet they really give only pennies on the dollar. The bulk goes to salaries for Executives and their employed family members.

Do your homework. You will see that there's more deserving places to donate your money to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Wow ! Constant phone calls & mailings. Can't seem to shake them, even after asking that I be taken off their list. Went to 3 different charity rating sites & they show that only about 10% of donations go where it's supposed to : NOT the 15% claimed by BSC. Even at the higher figure, I would not waste anything to support this kind of organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close them down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I've received three telemarketing calls from a professional fundraiser for this charity. Each time the caller has been very honest about the 15% of my money that would actually go to the charity and 85% for their fee. Each time I asked to be taken off their list, and they have not done it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell them to pursue fundraising strategies that are more efficient, so more of the public's money can go to services, or maybe just step aside and let sincere organizations receive more funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

October 11, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

This organization is a scam. I've read the few good reviews on this site and yes, I'm sure they help a few people or they wouldn't have hung on to their non-profit status these short four years they've been running. However, in four years they've had numerous investigative reports and blogs calling them out for the unethical and near criminal misuse of funds and are currently under investigation by several Attorney Generals.

Yes, go get the little this organization gives out if you qualify BUT I wouldn't donate a penny to these people. There are ethical, well run and more deserving organizations that REALLY help those in need. The Breast Cancer Society is not one of them. This organization is corrupt and all the higher paid staff and much of the Board of Directors are family relatives. They want the public to focus on the few they help not the millions they squander!

Be wise! They don't have investigative reporters exposing their greed over and over because they are a good charity. Watch this report from Anderson Cooper 360

http://ac360.blogs.cnn.com/2013/06/13/beware-of-these-cancer-charity-rip-offs/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down and make them pay back the money they have robbed from needy breast cancer patients and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help walk breast cancer fighters through our Hope Supply Program and receive material needs Volunteer