Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.473685
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Just started here a week ago and I feel so grateful for this opportunity and being able to help those in need across the globe.
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I made lifelong friends and loved what I was doing everyday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Need to be better at fundraising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

I would volunteer here again. Lots of passionate people who care about the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I learned a lot and got great insight into politics and advocating for a cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

This is an amazing team of volunteers who are very passionate about changing the world. I feel very fortunate that I was able to volunteer and improve my writing skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More paid positions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2014

more

February 1, 2014

I volunteered in Memphis and plan to volunteer again after grad school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2014

more

January 4, 2014

I volunteered for the organization in Boston and plan to do so again in the near future. I found it enjoyable and meaningful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be good if volunteers outside of Seattle HQ's would connect with one another more. Hard to do with people's schedules but would really help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

One of my ex colleagues and I were having a chat today & I randomly thought I would open the Borgen Project reviews. I am amazed to see so many (what I consider) hoax postings on there. There is no way this organization could receive a genuine 5 star rating from any intern, given the work profile, the work culture, and the set up as a whole. For all we know, I sincerely suspect that in their bootcamp, just as we were supposed to write 10 letters asking for donations, in order to hold the intern position, the new activity in the bootcamp might be to write good reviews on various sites to maintain the position. I mean SERIOUSLY!!! And Clint Borgen, please do not get ideas from this post and make the interns do so (if you have already not been doing that).

Pros – Apart from a fancy & sort of misleading website and a unique concept, fancy designations for resume is what I can think of
Cons – What lured me to this place was the fancy website and an internship opportunity. The team was really good, but everyone of us who were hired as political and international affairs intern ended up working on the HR aspect of it. The best part is that HR interns did not get to experiment much with their HR knowledge. The concept of the organization is unique, but there is no way to measure its contribution in reducing poverty or improving the lifestyle of the poor. The organization is thriving on fancy yet hollow networking.

The team used to be very friendly and cooperative, until there was too much micro-managing from the boss. He would make sure everyone dressed prim and proper, sat upright, did not talk among themselves etc etc. Felt like being controlled by a school teacher in discipline. There was so much control that employees needed to clock in and clock out and send daily reports to the boss. At one point some ex employee mentioned him trying to introduce a software that would monitor the websites visited during the day.

All employees/interns working there are unpaid, and there is not much incentive to work there, because you are not adding to your skills even otherwise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1) Start being in sync with EEOC policies 2) Pay my interns (which again by the way is the law in WA) 3) Stop micro-managing the interns 4) Let a healthy and hearty work culture prevail 5) Boost employee/intern morale, rather than always picking at them 6) AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, make the interns do the work they were interviewed for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

The Borgen Project is the result of a daring man's dream. The very fact that the President founded the organization after a UN internship, and then worked multiple other jobs to support himself while he works full-time on his nonprofit is inspirational enough. This year, The Borgen Project is celebrating its 10th year anniversary, and things have come a long way since its humble beginnings.

The interns that form the core work of the nonprofit are amazing. Everyone you meet here have an interest in the international development field; some are fresh graduates, some current students, some even quit corporate positions just so they can try their hand at a nonprofit determined to eradicate poverty. Going to work every day is fun as you chat about current affairs with a group of young do-gooders in the heart of the nonprofit world in Seattle.

The organization itself is a huge learning experience. You learn about US politics, and its stand on foreign policy. You educate and mobilize your friends and family, as well as strangers you meet on the street with your newfound knowledge. You effectively change the way you look at the world, and especially the US's roles and responsibilities in tackling global poverty.

Absolutely worth a try if you are thinking about entering the global development realm.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As with any other nonprofit, there are several inefficiencies with the way things are run. However, things are looking up as effort is actually made to make sure that these inefficiencies are tackled.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Despite being a small, quick turn-over organization, the potential benefits from a volunteer internship here is endless. Because interns make the cogs turn, and because each intern is only around a few months, the roles and responsibilities each intern takes on is an experience one is unlikely to find anywhere else. I have never been asked to fetch coffee or complete a repetitive, mindless task for hours on end. Instead I was asked to push the boundaries of my comfort zone by learning new assignments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it easier to understand how the organization functions for the public -- I, myself, did not have the most confidence in the organization before my first week of working here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers