Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am a Peace Corps Volunteer working with The BOMA Project. I joined the PC because I wanted to make a difference in someone's life. BOMA does exactly that--it changes these women's lives and the lives of their family. I am so lucky to be working with BOMA and a part of something larger than myself. Seeing first hand the impact BOMA has had on these women has been a life changing experience and their smiles will forever be ingrained in my memory.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I interned with The BOMA Project in 2010. After studying abroad in Kenya during school, I was looking to return to Africa - when I heard about BOMA's internship, I knew it would be a great stepping stone to do so. My experience at BOMA was not only a great learning experience, but opened my eyes to the fundamentals of how a transparent non profit organization should do things. Kathleen and the entire staff are extremely dedicated to the ultimate mission of their organization and it's been a pleasure watching them grow, transform and expand into one of East Africa's leaders in the non profit/NGO world. After leaving BOMA, I entered the Peace Corps for a brief period of time, returning to Africa, and was confident in applying the knowledge and tools that I gained through my experience at BOMA to my new role as a volunteer. BOMA is a wonderful cause and one that I will continue to support in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I had the privilege of interning at The BOMA Project in early 2013. I evaluated, analyzed, and interpreted the effectiveness of loan-based and grand-based microlending schemes. I specifically looked at how each method is implemented in populations of extreme rural poverty--such as the populations BOMA works with in rural northern Kenya. I felt both supported and challenged during my internship experience. Witnessing the daily operations of this dynamic and ambitious nonprofit solidified my confidence in BOMA's ability to truly effect change. By focusing on an specific population in a particular region, BOMA works tirelessly to change lives and take strides forward. From the director to the interns to the technological assistance, The BOMA Project is well-led, well-staffed and well-funded. BOMA is firmly committed to its cause and this shows throughout the organization. I strongly support the BOMA Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BOMA Project is a innovation leader in rural economic development internationally. By providing grants to women to start businesses in Northern Kenya through their Rural Entrepreneur Access Project (REAP), BOMA is helping to shake the ground of poverty. BOMA provides the resources for women to start businesses, provides training, and feedback through their mentor relationships. The success stories are incredible, and their impact earth shattering -- they're helping to alleviate poverty one woman, one family at a time. More than 3,700 have graduated from or are participating in their two-year program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer with the BOMA Project since August. When I first learned about BOMA, I was really captivated by their grants based micro enterprise program (REAP ), a tool for fighting poverty in the drought prone region of Northern Kenyan. I am a Kenyan, but I have never been to the North. Everything I know of this region derives from the media - which almost always is something negative: drought, hunger, cattle raids... That someone was taking the chance to make a difference in a region that even my own government ignores was commendable if not inspiring. Over the last two months I have spent numerous hours working with the data this organization diligently collects from all its beneficiaries. My favorite moment in the whole process was moving from working with baseline data to working with endline data. There is nothing more touching than seeing women who only several months back sent their children to bed hungry, women who could not afford to send their children to school and had not a single penny in savings, not only report that they can now feed their children and send them to school, but also that they now for the first time feel they have a purpose in life. BOMA is a small organization but the magnitude of their impact definitely struck me. A deep passion for making a difference drives this organization and it is certainly infectious. I could not be prouder to be associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of volunteering for BOMA this summer. I was excited to help out at an organization that has such a cool mission. As I spent time there, I began to learn that BOMA is really making a positive impact on women’s lives in the most marginalized part of Kenya. As a young person trying to find my way in life, I am grateful to have volunteered at BOMA, and hope to achieve even a fraction of what BOMA has achieved and will achieve in the future.
If you are interested in helping out development work, this is a great organization to give your support to! I’ve seen what a difference it makes in peoples lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers