Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer with the BOMA Project since August. When I first learned about BOMA, I was really captivated by their grants based micro enterprise program (REAP ), a tool for fighting poverty in the drought prone region of Northern Kenyan. I am a Kenyan, but I have never been to the North. Everything I know of this region derives from the media - which almost always is something negative: drought, hunger, cattle raids... That someone was taking the chance to make a difference in a region that even my own government ignores was commendable if not inspiring. Over the last two months I have spent numerous hours working with the data this organization diligently collects from all its beneficiaries. My favorite moment in the whole process was moving from working with baseline data to working with endline data. There is nothing more touching than seeing women who only several months back sent their children to bed hungry, women who could not afford to send their children to school and had not a single penny in savings, not only report that they can now feed their children and send them to school, but also that they now for the first time feel they have a purpose in life. BOMA is a small organization but the magnitude of their impact definitely struck me. A deep passion for making a difference drives this organization and it is certainly infectious. I could not be prouder to be associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I have been a Board member for three years but supported BOMA even before that. BOMA's work is direct, sustainable and measurable, and the results are life-changing. The poorest of the poor are resourced and empowered with the tools to enable them to change their own lives, gaining dignity and respect in their communities and creating micro and fledgling economies. Perhaps most impressive is the strong commitment of the organization to locally-led and transparent leadership, mentoring and programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

The BOMA Fund is an organization which is committed to helping people who are in desperate conditions, to extract themselves from poverty, and do that in a sustainable way. Their micro financing model has evolved and improved and the success rates are close to 100%. Permanent solutions to poverty in neglected parts of the world merit our support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of volunteering for BOMA this summer. I was excited to help out at an organization that has such a cool mission. As I spent time there, I began to learn that BOMA is really making a positive impact on women’s lives in the most marginalized part of Kenya. As a young person trying to find my way in life, I am grateful to have volunteered at BOMA, and hope to achieve even a fraction of what BOMA has achieved and will achieve in the future.
If you are interested in helping out development work, this is a great organization to give your support to! I’ve seen what a difference it makes in peoples lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

Boma is an extremely innovative economic development strategy. It empowers people - particularly women - in one of the harshest environments on earth to become economically self sufficient. The program has had a measurable impact on so many aspects of human well being, from improved health and education, to better nutrition, to increased confidence and a stronger sense of community. There are very few programs that are truly innovative in the way Boma is. It surely deserves your support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

As a former professional with ten years in the field, I have seen a great deal of development work. The Boma Project is among the best organizations I have ever seen. It combines high quality professionalism with heartfelt commitment. They conduct thorough assessments and evaluations, they proceed based on their findings. They listen to their constituents, and develop programs accordingly. in this way The Boma Project facilitates commitment, ownership, and leadership at the project level. There is a lot to be learned by looking at the pioneering work of The Boma Project; the organization brings together the best in participatory development,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2010

more

May 10, 2010

This organization is the finest example of efficient use of donor funds: low overhead, incredible frugal team, great listeners. And the work is guided by the Kenyans on the ground, building capacity to no longer need help. Wonderful!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Dramatic improveement in personal self esteem and control over their own destiny in the women in Laisamis Kenya

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 8, 2010

more

May 8, 2010

The Boma Fund is recreating micro-enterprise development. Working in the remote villages of Northern Kenya, The Boma Fund’s ground-breaking grass-roots Rural Entrepreneur Access Project (REAP) is spurring the creation of micro-businesses by providing grants and the necessary ongoing support, training and mentoring to ensure success.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers