Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of The BOMA project! They are an exceptionally dedicated long-serving group of individuals, both in the US and in Kenya, that strive for a 100% success rate in businesses that they assist. They are extremely thoughtful in how they achieve their successes, manage with impeccable honesty and design programs that foster their desire for "prosperity with dignity". There is not a BOMA beneficiary out there who is not grateful for their efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Our world has a plethora of needs and the challenge for contributors is to identify those organizations that provide real solutions that produce sustainable positive outcomes. BOMA's quest to "Help Women Graduate From Poverty" in Northern Kenya is so compelling it inspires action. BOMA serves the neediest of the needy and they do it with passion and drive. They produce measurable results by providing grants, tools and actionable strategies to empower women as entrepreneurs creating an economy that serves the community. This is not an aids based organization - this organization is all about action and producing sustainable success!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I have had the privilege of working with founder Kathleen Colson and her team for the past year, helping them refine and execute communications strategy. Our firm has substantial experience with NGOs and developing world issues. We find BOMA to have an extraordinarily disciplined, effective, and original strategy. They are tightly focused on their target area and target clients -- some of the poorest people in some of the most difficult terrain in the Horn of Africa -- and they produce extraordinary results, including a 97 percent success rate for business start-ups after three years. These guys are the real deal, putting everything they can into developing self-sustaining businesses, developed and mentored by locals, with a model that far outperforms typical microfinance. We are honored to be able to help them tell their story -- dig into the statistics on their site and see for yourself how impressive it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I've worked a bit in the developing world (mostly on the social side of environmental conservation) and it's really difficult to step back from your own agenda and serve those communities with what THEY need. We've worked with BOMA for about a year now -- and learned their programs inside and out -- and not only is their work truly different in the world of rural economic development but their success rate is astounding and measured in terms that unapologetically put the impact in communities they serve ahead of all other measures.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As an advisor to BOMA, I am always impressed with the high level of commitment, efficiency and positive impact demonstrated by the organization. They partner with the communities they serve, basing programs on actual needs of the people on the ground, and employing and training local Kenyans to implement the projects. They smartly use monitoring and evaluation tools to constantly measure their impact and tweak programs as necessary. With this effective and successful model of international development, BOMA is on a trajectory to expand rapidly in the coming months and years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am a native of the BOMA project's areas of intervention and I'm fortunate in that on several ocassions, I have been able to personally interact with employees and beneficiaries of the BOMA Project in the course of implementing their activities. I must say that BOMA's business set-up model in upper-eastern Kenya is continuing to have a stong and lasting impact in the lives of the pastoralist and semi-pastoralist comminuties they target. There are many success stories where families' living standards have been improved as a result of the BOMA project's intervention thereby enabling them afford not only basic needs as food and clothing, but also medical and educational needs for their families. With increased financial resources available to the BOMA Project, I am confident that the lives of more and more pastoralist communities of upper-eastern Kenya will continue to be transformed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BOMA Project is a innovation leader in rural economic development internationally. By providing grants to women to start businesses in Northern Kenya through their Rural Entrepreneur Access Project (REAP), BOMA is helping to shake the ground of poverty. BOMA provides the resources for women to start businesses, provides training, and feedback through their mentor relationships. The success stories are incredible, and their impact earth shattering -- they're helping to alleviate poverty one woman, one family at a time. More than 3,700 have graduated from or are participating in their two-year program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer with the BOMA Project since August. When I first learned about BOMA, I was really captivated by their grants based micro enterprise program (REAP ), a tool for fighting poverty in the drought prone region of Northern Kenyan. I am a Kenyan, but I have never been to the North. Everything I know of this region derives from the media - which almost always is something negative: drought, hunger, cattle raids... That someone was taking the chance to make a difference in a region that even my own government ignores was commendable if not inspiring. Over the last two months I have spent numerous hours working with the data this organization diligently collects from all its beneficiaries. My favorite moment in the whole process was moving from working with baseline data to working with endline data. There is nothing more touching than seeing women who only several months back sent their children to bed hungry, women who could not afford to send their children to school and had not a single penny in savings, not only report that they can now feed their children and send them to school, but also that they now for the first time feel they have a purpose in life. BOMA is a small organization but the magnitude of their impact definitely struck me. A deep passion for making a difference drives this organization and it is certainly infectious. I could not be prouder to be associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I have been a Board member for three years but supported BOMA even before that. BOMA's work is direct, sustainable and measurable, and the results are life-changing. The poorest of the poor are resourced and empowered with the tools to enable them to change their own lives, gaining dignity and respect in their communities and creating micro and fledgling economies. Perhaps most impressive is the strong commitment of the organization to locally-led and transparent leadership, mentoring and programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012

more

July 28, 2012

The BOMA Fund is an organization which is committed to helping people who are in desperate conditions, to extract themselves from poverty, and do that in a sustainable way. Their micro financing model has evolved and improved and the success rates are close to 100%. Permanent solutions to poverty in neglected parts of the world merit our support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers