Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.968255
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I am beyond blessed to be a part of this amazing organization. I came to know about Art of Yoga through Courtney (thank you!) and began teaching 4.5 years ago . The initial training was invaluable, but it is the ongoing support of my fellow teachers, site director and of Mary Lynn Fitton that holds my heart and allows me to offer my best self to these beautiful girls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

I started work with The Art of Yoga Project as a technical adviser. Since then I've come to know the folks running the organization and working with it. Through my work I have also become familiar with the amazing stories, poetry and successes that the project has with youths in very difficult circumstances. I recommend to anyone that they read some of the blog entries on the website and learn more about the marvelous work that the organization does in the local Bay Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

The Art of Yoga Project is a very effective program helping incarcerated teen girls heal from physical and lifestyle abuse. It is an outstanding project. We will continue to support it, because of its growing success evident through the girl’s behavioral change.

Don and Virginia Fitton

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I fell in love with this organization 7 years ago when I agreed to join the board and have never looked back! It has all the important elements that make an organization effective; an important problem in the community, an effective approach to address the problem, excellent people with a huge heart and commitment to the organization and a lean/effectively run fund raising and administration function. I hope to continue to provide my personal time and financial support for many years to come. Hope you will consider this too!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Having had two "at risk" teenagers, I understand how difficult it can be to connect these young people. The key is to help them help themselves; to let them know they are not being judged, that you care about them and you believe in them. The Art of Yoga Project is perfect example of a well-thought-out plan to give these young teens the self-confidence and the tools they need to face their difficult situations head on. The wonderful yoga instructors teach them how to control their thoughts and actions which in turn leads to improved decision making. The goal is to release responsible young ladies from the juvenile facilities with this new outlook on life that will break the cycle of repeat incarcerations. AYP is an incredible organization with outstanding leaders and volunteers with one goal in mind: to help these young ladies to have happy and productive futures. I would hope this project would be a role model for other facilities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

The Art of Yoga Project is a wonderful, well organized, and beneficial program. I have worked with them for the past year. The girls learn so many lessons through the use of yoga and art. Every week that I work with Art of Yoga, it is often the highlight of my week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

For the past year, I have been fortunate to volunteer as a yoga teacher with The Art of Yoga Project at two of their after-care centers in San Francisco - the Center for Young Women's Development and Mission Girls. The curriculum developed by Mary Lynn Fitton undoubtedly plays an incredibly positive role in the development of these young girls' lives. I have watched girls gain strength and greater mind-body awareness through their yoga practice and have been lucky enough to sit and listen to them share how the tools they've gained through the GEMM (Girls Empowered by Money Mindfulness) program at Mission Girls has taught them how to manage their money and develop a healthier attitude toward what can often be such a sticky subject. Perhaps most importantly, The Art Of Yoga Project would not be affecting the lives of so many at-risk girls were it not for the dedicated and passionate staff and volunteers involved in its growth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 18, 2012

I'm a retired social worker, having worked in Public Child Welfare for 20 years. After retirement I pondered what I should do with my time, and found the Art of Yoga Project and I'm so glad I did.. I... more

November 19, 2012

I'm a retired social worker, having worked in Public Child Welfare for 20 years. After retirement I pondered what I should do with my time, and found the Art of Yoga Project and I'm so glad I did.. I've contracted with the Art of Yoga for the past 4 years, facilitating art projects with girls in Juvenile Detention. The Art of Yoga is a wonderful program, as a MSW, I have witnessed many children affected by violence and drugs and these girls fall into that category and the Art of Yoga supplies them with information through Yoga principles, exercise and Art projects that build their self esteem and enhance their sense of self worth, this can aid in decreasing the probability of them repeating the actions that resulted in their detainment. I love working with this program, the yoga teachers are great to work with, as well as the director, they are open to explore ideas and listen to what you have to say..Most importantly the teachers and the administrators care about the girls, their current and future well being, and love what they are doing!! I look forward to continuing my relationship as an art teacher and expanding into their mentorship program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

I'm a retired social worker, having worked in Public Child Welfare for 20 years. After retirement I pondered what I should do with my time, and found the Art of Yoga Project and I'm so glad I did.. I've contracted with the Art of Yoga for the past 4 years, facilitating art projects with girls in Juvenile Detention. The Art of Yoga is a wonderful program, as a MSW, I have witnessed many children affected by violence and drugs and these girls fall into that category and the Art of Yoga supplies them with information through Yoga principles, exercise and Art projects that build their self esteem and enhance their sense of self worth, this can aid in decreasing the probability of them repeating the actions that resulted in their detainment. I love working with this program, the yoga teachers are great to work with, as well as the director, they are open to explore ideas and listen to what you have to say..Most importantly the teachers and the administrators care about the girls, their current and future well being, and love what they are doing!! I look forward to continuing my relationship as an art teacher and expanding into their mentorship program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have the honor and privilege of teaching with this amazing group of women. I have never met a more dedicated team of individuals who truly care about these at-risk girls. The curriculum designed by Mary Lynn is world class and every time I am with the girls, I feel the vibration of our collective rise. I see how much these girls need to find peace within themselves and when I leave them, its always in a better state than when they arrived. I love this program and I love these girls. They need a nurturing element to their lives and AYP definitely brings it. This program instills peace, confidence and hope in these young girls. Well done to all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The Art of Yoga Project is an amazing program that offers much needed guidance, love and inspiration to young women in juvenile hall. I started as a volunteer in 2007, teaching yoga classes within the Santa Clara Co. juvenile detention facilities and am now actively involved in managing 2 facilities in San Jose and Morgan Hill. I adore the women involved in The Art of Yoga Project. Loving, kind, capable, giving and an incredibly supportive team. I have seen young women grow and learn a better way of life. We have seen young felons come into the system and leave with a high school diploma and moving onto to universities. This was not a future they had ever envisioned for themselves. The Art of Yoga Project is the dream of an incredible woman- Mary Lynn Fitton, who continues to inspire all of us and help us bring our love of yoga, art and writing and all their benefits to a very under served population.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers