Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.962965
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

For the past year, I have been fortunate to volunteer as a yoga teacher with The Art of Yoga Project at two of their after-care centers in San Francisco - the Center for Young Women's Development and Mission Girls. The curriculum developed by Mary Lynn Fitton undoubtedly plays an incredibly positive role in the development of these young girls' lives. I have watched girls gain strength and greater mind-body awareness through their yoga practice and have been lucky enough to sit and listen to them share how the tools they've gained through the GEMM (Girls Empowered by Money Mindfulness) program at Mission Girls has taught them how to manage their money and develop a healthier attitude toward what can often be such a sticky subject. Perhaps most importantly, The Art Of Yoga Project would not be affecting the lives of so many at-risk girls were it not for the dedicated and passionate staff and volunteers involved in its growth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 18, 2012

I'm a retired social worker, having worked in Public Child Welfare for 20 years. After retirement I pondered what I should do with my time, and found the Art of Yoga Project and I'm so glad I did.. I... more

November 19, 2012

I'm a retired social worker, having worked in Public Child Welfare for 20 years. After retirement I pondered what I should do with my time, and found the Art of Yoga Project and I'm so glad I did.. I've contracted with the Art of Yoga for the past 4 years, facilitating art projects with girls in Juvenile Detention. The Art of Yoga is a wonderful program, as a MSW, I have witnessed many children affected by violence and drugs and these girls fall into that category and the Art of Yoga supplies them with information through Yoga principles, exercise and Art projects that build their self esteem and enhance their sense of self worth, this can aid in decreasing the probability of them repeating the actions that resulted in their detainment. I love working with this program, the yoga teachers are great to work with, as well as the director, they are open to explore ideas and listen to what you have to say..Most importantly the teachers and the administrators care about the girls, their current and future well being, and love what they are doing!! I look forward to continuing my relationship as an art teacher and expanding into their mentorship program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

I'm a retired social worker, having worked in Public Child Welfare for 20 years. After retirement I pondered what I should do with my time, and found the Art of Yoga Project and I'm so glad I did.. I've contracted with the Art of Yoga for the past 4 years, facilitating art projects with girls in Juvenile Detention. The Art of Yoga is a wonderful program, as a MSW, I have witnessed many children affected by violence and drugs and these girls fall into that category and the Art of Yoga supplies them with information through Yoga principles, exercise and Art projects that build their self esteem and enhance their sense of self worth, this can aid in decreasing the probability of them repeating the actions that resulted in their detainment. I love working with this program, the yoga teachers are great to work with, as well as the director, they are open to explore ideas and listen to what you have to say..Most importantly the teachers and the administrators care about the girls, their current and future well being, and love what they are doing!! I look forward to continuing my relationship as an art teacher and expanding into their mentorship program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have the honor and privilege of teaching with this amazing group of women. I have never met a more dedicated team of individuals who truly care about these at-risk girls. The curriculum designed by Mary Lynn is world class and every time I am with the girls, I feel the vibration of our collective rise. I see how much these girls need to find peace within themselves and when I leave them, its always in a better state than when they arrived. I love this program and I love these girls. They need a nurturing element to their lives and AYP definitely brings it. This program instills peace, confidence and hope in these young girls. Well done to all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The Art of Yoga Project is an amazing program that offers much needed guidance, love and inspiration to young women in juvenile hall. I started as a volunteer in 2007, teaching yoga classes within the Santa Clara Co. juvenile detention facilities and am now actively involved in managing 2 facilities in San Jose and Morgan Hill. I adore the women involved in The Art of Yoga Project. Loving, kind, capable, giving and an incredibly supportive team. I have seen young women grow and learn a better way of life. We have seen young felons come into the system and leave with a high school diploma and moving onto to universities. This was not a future they had ever envisioned for themselves. The Art of Yoga Project is the dream of an incredible woman- Mary Lynn Fitton, who continues to inspire all of us and help us bring our love of yoga, art and writing and all their benefits to a very under served population.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I have been blessed to teach with the Art of Yoga project for over three years. Every single day has been an inspiration - not just because I am bringing yoga, a practice that has helped me so much, into juvenile detention; not just because every time I have done so, I have walked away inspired and awed by the girls I met there, their strength, the resilience of their hearts; but because in working with AYP I have always felt part of an organization unlike any other: a group of wonderful, caring, inspiring, mindful, compassionate leaders who work hard to empower others. AYP has challenged me to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

In January of 2009 I had the incredible privilege of meeting a couple of teenage girls from the bay area program. They attended a benefit class that I taught in Berkeley. Though they were doing yoga amidst a sea of adults, they participated with full enthusiasm and wholeheartedness. What a gift the Art of Yoga Project has been in the lives of these and so many other young women. Recently, I learned that one of the girls I met had been accepted to a University and was moving forward with her life in a positive way. A miracle of love!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

This is a wonder organization offering girls numerous ways to find their own internal creativity and grounding. They are tireless in bringing this model to young women in detention throughout the South Bay region. Art of Yoga Project teaches the girls self confidence, ways to develop self love and inner strength and also offers them practical tools such as self care, finding positive ways to allow themselves "time out" from anxiety, pressure and impulsive actions. They are also expanding to give the girls more information and skills around money management and control. Kudos to the whole team, Mary Lynn, the staff and the volunteer collaborators.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Having advised and helped many non profit organizations focused on helping women - this one stands out. The dedication of the team, the mission of the organization and the changes they make in young lives speak for itself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 26, 2010

This is a fantastic organization helping at risk teens in our community. The women involved are truly dedicated to teaching tools to effect positive change! more

November 18, 2012

We have supported this organization for many years! They are top-notch and do wonderful work in our community with at-risk, incarcerated and exploited teen girls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2010

This is a fantastic organization helping at risk teens in our community. The women involved are truly dedicated to teaching tools to effect positive change!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing the growth and development of the teens that are lucky enough to be able to participate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them grow nationally!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the effect of women helping girls in need.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

wonderfully talented, kind and dedicated.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the way we treat girls in the juvenile justice system

Ways to make it better...

I could have spent more time with the organization.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

funding!! It is so hard to raise money these days!

One thing I'd also say is that...

the work they do is inspiring!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I am so grateful to be working with this amazing team! We are an organization of women helping teen girls right here in our own communities – Santa Clara, San Mateo and San Francisco counties. I am honored to represent their voices and ask for your help.

These are children. 12-17 years
old. The average age is 15. They are incarcerated and yes, they have made poor choices, but the truth is that they are caught in a cycle of victimization. The Center for Gender and Justice reports nationally 70-90% of girls in the system have been sexually abused. What typically happens is a girl is abused at home, she then runs away and on the streets is further victimized with ‘crimes of survival’, involving drugs, gangs, or even prostitution.

So while our mission speaks specifically to developing girls’ accountability, we absolutely need a therapeutic approach. This is called “trauma-informed,” meaning interacting with her in a way that is not harming, but healing and transformative.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers