Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.966675
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Great idea and also great execution. It's in a class al by themselves. This group has been doing gender- responsive programming before it was a buzz word. They are the real deal. Kudos.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

Great organization. Very well run. Dedicated staff

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 19, 2012

I fell in love with the organization from the moment I watched the founder, Mary Lynn Fitton, teach a class in the San Mateo County juvenile detention facility for girls many years ago. I have had th... more

June 10, 2013

This organization serves a high-risk, high-need group in a way virtually no other group does -- gender-responsive, small group attention to their most personal needs. AYP sows the seeds for lifetime changes in girls whose lives have started off on the wrong track. California and the country need more organizations like AYP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the philosophy, approach, and curriculum into more organizations serving at-risk teen girls.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

I fell in love with the organization from the moment I watched the founder, Mary Lynn Fitton, teach a class in the San Mateo County juvenile detention facility for girls many years ago. I have had the pleasure of watching the organization grow from a tiny volunteer-dependent series of classes to a well-formed, stable organization that still provides outstanding service to local girls in need, but also is taking concrete steps to document its impact in order to broaden the impact of the program across the state, country, and even internationally. I consider it a privilege to serve on the board of this inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2010

The Art of Yoga Project hooked me the minute I walked into a room in a secure facility full of teen girls all wearing their AYP t-shirts -- the only article of clothing they had that didn't say "Property of the County of _____" on it. As I watched them move through the yoga practice and art projects I was amazed at the level in which they were engaged in the activities, awestruck when a staff person pointed out two girls working together and told me they had been members of opposing gangs "on the outside." This program gives the girls a voice they often didn't know they had or never felt safe using. It provides them with vital coping skills that will no doubt help them overcome the challenges they will face upon their release and completion of the program. I can't imagine a more important service to girls who are preparing to start over on a better path. In addition to serving the incarcerated teens, AYP as an organization does a great job of developing teachers and leaders to bring their talents to this program and ones like it across the country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

interviewing participants in the program and the staff at the facility who credit the positive changes in their thoughts, attitudes, relationships, academic achievement, and progress in other forms of treatment and with what they have learned through AYP

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

watching it grow from a tiny mostly volunteer group to a stable, growing organization that celebrates the potential of all the women involved from participants to the executive leadership.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, passionate, hard-working, tireless, resilient.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

dramatically change the way female teens are treated in the juvenile justice system across the country so that they can break the cycle of violence and crime and move forward with productive lives instead of cycling back into the adult corrections system.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

It's easy to support this organization. They are successful working with a population of incarcerated and at-risk girls that are largely ignored. They work from their hearts! Society pays an estimated $1.7 million for each youth who drops out of school and becomes involved in a life of crime and drug abuse. The cost of one year of incarceration ~ $190,000 alone! This work just makes good sense.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

Not only does this organization help girls in there local community, they also share what they have learned through their training and Affiliate program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

This is a great non profit doing great work with at-risk, exploited and incarcerated teen girls. I fully support their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I am beyond blessed to be a part of this amazing organization. I came to know about Art of Yoga through Courtney (thank you!) and began teaching 4.5 years ago . The initial training was invaluable, but it is the ongoing support of my fellow teachers, site director and of Mary Lynn Fitton that holds my heart and allows me to offer my best self to these beautiful girls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

I started work with The Art of Yoga Project as a technical adviser. Since then I've come to know the folks running the organization and working with it. Through my work I have also become familiar with the amazing stories, poetry and successes that the project has with youths in very difficult circumstances. I recommend to anyone that they read some of the blog entries on the website and learn more about the marvelous work that the organization does in the local Bay Area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

The Art of Yoga Project is a very effective program helping incarcerated teen girls heal from physical and lifestyle abuse. It is an outstanding project. We will continue to support it, because of its growing success evident through the girl’s behavioral change.

Don and Virginia Fitton

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

I fell in love with this organization 7 years ago when I agreed to join the board and have never looked back! It has all the important elements that make an organization effective; an important problem in the community, an effective approach to address the problem, excellent people with a huge heart and commitment to the organization and a lean/effectively run fund raising and administration function. I hope to continue to provide my personal time and financial support for many years to come. Hope you will consider this too!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers