Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.984255
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
May 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Elysium is very fun on many levels, for everyone involved! I joined in 2011 as a carpenter, and now have an amazing sculpture workshop, of my own development, which is the most fun thing I do every month. The kids can't believe their good fortune when I show up with the amazing wood scraps and glue, and I believe that I am having more fun than them! The kids are very inspiring to the adults who work with them, and we always laugh a lot. In addition, the events and fundraising opportunities are really cool. As a professional artist, I can say that this type of work is essential to an artist's continual development. To create a workshop is the best way to learn from our youth, because they are as experimental as we adults should be on a daily basis. The Elysium operates very smoothly, and its communication system is top notch. They make you feel important and create an awesome environment for creativity!
April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I absolutely love this organization! Such a fabulous idea and a great way to help make someone's day a little bit better. I stumbled across this organization back when I was living in Chico and knew I had to volunteer once I got relocated to LA for a new job. The people who run it are wonderful! I've mostly worked with Krista & Leslie, but I'm sure everyone is great. They very flexible, friendly, and make you feel right at home. I highly recommend any artist, music, designer, actor, or anyone interested in those fields to volunteer. You won't regret it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It'd be nice to have more events on the weekends, but I'm sure you already know that. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for The Art of Elysium since 2008 and the organization is very dear to my heart. When I tell friends about The Art of Elysium I always start with "It is the only time when I am out of my own head." There is a symbiosis that happens when artists interact with children. Creativity is the common ground and I have found that the volunteers are benefitting from these experiences just as much as the children. The goal of the charity is to offer creative respite for children that do not get a lot of social interaction due to various illnesses, but I can say that the profundity extends to the volunteers as well. Founder Jennifer Howell puts it best when she says, "We aren't a charity, we are a family of artists." I believe this to be true. In addition to serving thousands of children annually, The Art of Elysium takes great pride in its volunteers and makes great efforts to nurture their careers. I'm grateful to be a part of this organization.
April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I have been involved with AofE for years, and I am always so humbled by the children they serve. Its an amazing organization that brings joy and a creative outlet to kids that are suffering, and always reminds those who volunteer about the things that are really important in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Volunteering with AOE has been super rewarding, I was nervous at first, but as soon as you see the kids you are completely consumed by making art with them, seeing them smile and getting into the project! It always makes my day, i would highly suggest signing up to volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I have volunteered with The Art of Elysium for years and I am consistently impressed with the passion and dedication displayed by the entire staff. Every AOE staff member is as inspiring as the next. Get involved if you can - I promise you it will change your life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

I love working with Art of Elysium. They make it so easy for me to share my music with the kids at the hospital. It's profound to be able to bring art and music to otherwise somewhat cold and clinical environment and I think its so cool that Art of Elysium brings all different artistic mediums to them and allows and encourages them to participate. All kids should get to experience music and art all the time, but especially these kids. It's so important that they get some fun too!

If I get to be even a tiny part of that and brightening up their day with a distraction or something other than doctors and medicine and machines, then I feel like a million bucks and Im just really glad that there's a great structured system for AOE in place to make it so easy to do with out getting in the way of their medical treatment or being disruptive.

The staff is very friendly and all that's required is one orientation. So easy to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! It's great as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I wrote about my experience with Art of Elysium on my website:

http://www.daedesign.com/archives/2101

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

One of the great things about The Art of Elysium is the emphasis on encouraging those touched by illness to participate and to CREATE -- over my many years of volunteering as a writer, actor, and improv performer, I have been directed by children of all ages (including their parents and other family members) to be a pirate searching the ocean for bumblebees, an elephant looking for his daughter in a secret cave under Disneyland, a bad guy who turns all of the ice cream in Los Angeles into broccoli, a tiny, tiny, tiny little boy who can only communicate by clapping, a surgeon who also happens to be King of the Parasaurolohuses, and countless other incredible characters in creative settings. The joy shared by all during The Art of Elysium's programs is palpable and unforgettable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add even more programs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been doing workshops and bedside visits with The Art of Elysium for several years now and honestly I am honored to be a part of such an amazing group of loving and talented individuals ... I am blessed every time I get to work with them ... They absolutely do make a huge difference in the lives of the children and families we visit. They have an incredible hands on outreach into our community that I have not seen with any other organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger to reach even more children and families

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers