Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.984255
| 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

As the National Development Director for The Art of Elysium I have had had the opportunity to witness the impact of the artists and children as they engage with one another exploring their own individual creativity and passion. For the child, in the presence of an artist, they are not alone and they are not identified solely by their illness. They have the opportunity to explore various mediums for expression and find their own voice. For the artist, in the presence of a child, they are reminded of the impact of their art and how critical it is to the healing process. They are truly inspired to make change and create a world that promotes expression and creativity.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I have had the privilege to be the LA Program Director for The Art of Elysium for 7 years. I truly believe in our mission and have seen it come to life daily. By facilitating the community artists to share their creativity and passion to medically fragile youth in hospitals and special education schools, I have had the pleasure to see how it positively impacts both the artists, children and families. Not only are we sharing the everlasting gift of art but we are also helping children and families through a difficult time in their life. And in turn we are inspiring artists to continue spreading their talent to the world around us.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

Having worked for many non-profit organizations over the course of my career, I can say that The Art of Elysium is one of the best. As the Fine Arts Manager, I have the pleasure of working directly with volunteers who share their time with the youth they serve. This organization truly allows volunteers to share their talents directly with children in need, developing art projects themselves. It is rare to find non-profits in which the volunteer's areas of expertise are used so specifically. The Art of Elysium also values the talents of those that volunteer and is committed to a 360 model of philanthropy that gives back to those that give to the organization.
April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I have been involved with AofE for years, and I am always so humbled by the children they serve. Its an amazing organization that brings joy and a creative outlet to kids that are suffering, and always reminds those who volunteer about the things that are really important in life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Volunteering with AOE has been super rewarding, I was nervous at first, but as soon as you see the kids you are completely consumed by making art with them, seeing them smile and getting into the project! It always makes my day, i would highly suggest signing up to volunteer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I have volunteered with The Art of Elysium for years and I am consistently impressed with the passion and dedication displayed by the entire staff. Every AOE staff member is as inspiring as the next. Get involved if you can - I promise you it will change your life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 27, 2011

I am the founding board member for The Art of Elysium and over the past 13 years I have seen every side of this organization's mission. I have witnessed the impact that the creative workshops have ha... more

April 14, 2014

I am blown away on a daily basis by the children that we work with, the artists that both inspire and are inspired, the staff that brings me so much joy and the gift of being of service that The Art of Elysium provides.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would take it to every city in the world where this a child facing medical challenges and an artist in that community who can serve through their creativity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2011

I am the founding board member for The Art of Elysium and over the past 13 years I have seen every side of this organization's mission. I have witnessed the impact that the creative workshops have had on the hospitalized children we serve and I have seen the miracles the exchange has given to the artists that volunteer their time. It is a full circle exchange of creative miracles that do not just impact the participants during the workshops but forever change both the patients and volunteers. The Art of Elysium is a community of artists that truly believe in the power of creativity and the healing power of art. We are blessed that we are able to serve as a bridge between the artistic community in both Los Angeles and New York and to children facing hospitalization and medical various medical conditions. We are sincerely grateful for every staff member, volunteer, artist, parent and child that we are fortunate enough to work with. The organization is growing and will continue to grow by the goodwill and support of all involved and yet to come into the charity. The best way to understand the mission of The Art of Elysium is to spend time as a volunteer. Get involved!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced the results of this organization in all areas of my life. Every time I step into a hospital to dedicate my time to one of the various art workshops, my spirit is moved and expanded by the act of being of service and sharing my creativity. It is the most humbling and rewarding experience and I try my very best to be volunteering at the hospital at least once a week. My soul craves it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would make sure that it had the infrastructure and support to be in every city where there was a child facing the isolation of hospitalization and an artist in the community willing to share their creative process.

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

i am working with aoe on the design of their space - jennifer has an amazing passion for this cause which is not only contagious - it is inspiring

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

I love working with Art of Elysium. They make it so easy for me to share my music with the kids at the hospital. It's profound to be able to bring art and music to otherwise somewhat cold and clinical environment and I think its so cool that Art of Elysium brings all different artistic mediums to them and allows and encourages them to participate. All kids should get to experience music and art all the time, but especially these kids. It's so important that they get some fun too!

If I get to be even a tiny part of that and brightening up their day with a distraction or something other than doctors and medicine and machines, then I feel like a million bucks and Im just really glad that there's a great structured system for AOE in place to make it so easy to do with out getting in the way of their medical treatment or being disruptive.

The staff is very friendly and all that's required is one orientation. So easy to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! It's great as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

There are a myriad of Charities from which to choose to donate to, and none are more accessible than The Art of Elysium. Jen Howell's founding story is beyond touching. She moves thousands with her eternal grace and compassion, and you can't help wishing you could do more. The work is magical, and having a niece who was born needing a brain surgery, and sitting in Detroit's children's hospital surrounded by so many little ones whose parents couldn't afford to take off time to spend round the clock to be near their children...was heart wrenching. I truly wish that each and every hospital, and rehab center had The Art of Elysium programs, most hospitals are so dreary, and the kids are already suffering and so scared...they could all be helped so much. It is really amazing how each child lights up when the volunteers show up, and how for those moments they get transported for a quick escape, and they feel so good.
I hope that everyone sees the worthiness of this program, Jen Howell and all of her fabulous volunteers. It is a GREAT Nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money to be able to take it National, and even international.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers