Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.983875
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

I have been privileged to have the Art of Elysium directly affect my family. I have attended many of their benefits in which volunteers are joyfully making art, face painting, singing, and drumming with children who have more challenges in their young lives then I can imagine. The pure joy which is generated by all participants is inspiring. This is my favorite local charity to which we donate. Their work is transformative.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I joined The Art of Elysium's team 2 years ago to help facilitate and manage the Theatre/Media Arts programs we run with critically ill youth in hospitals all over the greater Los Angeles area.
Currently I am the Director of Elysium Industry, which incorporates our artist services side of our
mission and brings everything full circle by providing career support for actors, directors, writers and theater production professionals, who volunteer their time to our theatre arts programs. My experience with The Art of Elysium has been life changing. I feel blessed to be moved daily by the beautiful children we work with and the generous volunteers, who dedicate and give so much of themselves to our organization. Jennifer Howell put in place 16 years ago a mission to build an artistic community of artists who are philanthropic first and want to give back and heal the world through art.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I have been volunteering for The Art of Elysium since 2008 and the organization is very dear to my heart. When I tell friends about The Art of Elysium I always start with "It is the only time when I am out of my own head." There is a symbiosis that happens when artists interact with children. Creativity is the common ground and I have found that the volunteers are benefitting from these experiences just as much as the children. The goal of the charity is to offer creative respite for children that do not get a lot of social interaction due to various illnesses, but I can say that the profundity extends to the volunteers as well. Founder Jennifer Howell puts it best when she says, "We aren't a charity, we are a family of artists." I believe this to be true. In addition to serving thousands of children annually, The Art of Elysium takes great pride in its volunteers and makes great efforts to nurture their careers. I'm grateful to be a part of this organization.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

My first experience with The Art of Elysium was over 6 years ago when a friend asked me to donate art for a fundraising auction. As he shared how the organization worked with children who were battling serious medical conditions, I felt uplifted. Throughout my childhood my brother dealt with a serious illness that had him in and out of hospitals for many years. After seeing first hand how The Art of Elysium positively impacted so many young people, like my brother, with art, I was forever connected. My roll with the organization has expanded to Curatorial Director where I am fortunate to bring art into hospitals and engage with artists who donate not only their work but their time. The reactions I have witnessed from both children and artists have been truly inspiring.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I have been involved The Art of Elysium as Sponsor first.
I thought this is great organisation for both side.
As a Sponsor will get a lot of Marketing and Communication opportunity and going to goodwill.
And now I am in charge Elysium Collection, this is my dream come true.
Woking
with this very unique idea , Full-Circle Model will directly impact more than 50,000 artists and children each year, fueling artistic work and advancing careers while providing improved quality of life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

The staff and volunteers of The Art of Elysium are some of the most dedicated individuals I've ever met and the differences they've made in the lives of hospitalized children in Los Angeles and New York is incredible. It takes a tremendous amount of strength to work with children day in and day out, many of whom are in very dire medical predicaments, and folks at this organization do it with pride, compassion, spirit and dignity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open other chapters in cities with large arts communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

My association with The Art of Elysium began in 2009 when I joined the organization as an Actor Volunteer. I was thrilled to find an opportunity not only to work with children, but to do so by sharing my particular skill set. Whether I was participating in the Animated Storytelling program or visiting patient rooms to play improv games, I left every workshop with such a feeling of exhilaration and gratitude, having found a way to use my craft to serve hospitalized children. In 2012 I was lucky enough to be offered the position of Theatre and Media Arts Manager within the organization and am still thanking my lucky starts that I get to spend every day facilitating the connection between artists and children, enabling a shared experienced based on self- expression, creativity, and human connection through the medium of Theatre.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

As the National Development Director for The Art of Elysium I have had had the opportunity to witness the impact of the artists and children as they engage with one another exploring their own individual creativity and passion. For the child, in the presence of an artist, they are not alone and they are not identified solely by their illness. They have the opportunity to explore various mediums for expression and find their own voice. For the artist, in the presence of a child, they are reminded of the impact of their art and how critical it is to the healing process. They are truly inspired to make change and create a world that promotes expression and creativity.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I have had the privilege to be the LA Program Director for The Art of Elysium for 7 years. I truly believe in our mission and have seen it come to life daily. By facilitating the community artists to share their creativity and passion to medically fragile youth in hospitals and special education schools, I have had the pleasure to see how it positively impacts both the artists, children and families. Not only are we sharing the everlasting gift of art but we are also helping children and families through a difficult time in their life. And in turn we are inspiring artists to continue spreading their talent to the world around us.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

Having worked for many non-profit organizations over the course of my career, I can say that The Art of Elysium is one of the best. As the Fine Arts Manager, I have the pleasure of working directly with volunteers who share their time with the youth they serve. This organization truly allows volunteers to share their talents directly with children in need, developing art projects themselves. It is rare to find non-profits in which the volunteer's areas of expertise are used so specifically. The Art of Elysium also values the talents of those that volunteer and is committed to a 360 model of philanthropy that gives back to those that give to the organization.
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers