Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.984255
Write A Review
May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

The Art of Elysium brings joy to the eyes, minds and hearts of many children and their families! Their programming consistently delivers on their mission.
May 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Elysium is very fun on many levels, for everyone involved! I joined in 2011 as a carpenter, and now have an amazing sculpture workshop, of my own development, which is the most fun thing I do every month. The kids can't believe their good fortune when I show up with the amazing wood scraps and glue, and I believe that I am having more fun than them! The kids are very inspiring to the adults who work with them, and we always laugh a lot. In addition, the events and fundraising opportunities are really cool. As a professional artist, I can say that this type of work is essential to an artist's continual development. To create a workshop is the best way to learn from our youth, because they are as experimental as we adults should be on a daily basis. The Elysium operates very smoothly, and its communication system is top notch. They make you feel important and create an awesome environment for creativity!
April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I absolutely love this organization! Such a fabulous idea and a great way to help make someone's day a little bit better. I stumbled across this organization back when I was living in Chico and knew I had to volunteer once I got relocated to LA for a new job. The people who run it are wonderful! I've mostly worked with Krista & Leslie, but I'm sure everyone is great. They very flexible, friendly, and make you feel right at home. I highly recommend any artist, music, designer, actor, or anyone interested in those fields to volunteer. You won't regret it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It'd be nice to have more events on the weekends, but I'm sure you already know that. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 22, 2014

more

April 22, 2014

I have been privileged to have the Art of Elysium directly affect my family. I have attended many of their benefits in which volunteers are joyfully making art, face painting, singing, and drumming with children who have more challenges in their young lives then I can imagine. The pure joy which is generated by all participants is inspiring. This is my favorite local charity to which we donate. Their work is transformative.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I joined The Art of Elysium's team 2 years ago to help facilitate and manage the Theatre/Media Arts programs we run with critically ill youth in hospitals all over the greater Los Angeles area.
Currently I am the Director of Elysium Industry, which incorporates our artist services side of our
mission and brings everything full circle by providing career support for actors, directors, writers and theater production professionals, who volunteer their time to our theatre arts programs. My experience with The Art of Elysium has been life changing. I feel blessed to be moved daily by the beautiful children we work with and the generous volunteers, who dedicate and give so much of themselves to our organization. Jennifer Howell put in place 16 years ago a mission to build an artistic community of artists who are philanthropic first and want to give back and heal the world through art.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for The Art of Elysium since 2008 and the organization is very dear to my heart. When I tell friends about The Art of Elysium I always start with "It is the only time when I am out of my own head." There is a symbiosis that happens when artists interact with children. Creativity is the common ground and I have found that the volunteers are benefitting from these experiences just as much as the children. The goal of the charity is to offer creative respite for children that do not get a lot of social interaction due to various illnesses, but I can say that the profundity extends to the volunteers as well. Founder Jennifer Howell puts it best when she says, "We aren't a charity, we are a family of artists." I believe this to be true. In addition to serving thousands of children annually, The Art of Elysium takes great pride in its volunteers and makes great efforts to nurture their careers. I'm grateful to be a part of this organization.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

My first experience with The Art of Elysium was over 6 years ago when a friend asked me to donate art for a fundraising auction. As he shared how the organization worked with children who were battling serious medical conditions, I felt uplifted. Throughout my childhood my brother dealt with a serious illness that had him in and out of hospitals for many years. After seeing first hand how The Art of Elysium positively impacted so many young people, like my brother, with art, I was forever connected. My roll with the organization has expanded to Curatorial Director where I am fortunate to bring art into hospitals and engage with artists who donate not only their work but their time. The reactions I have witnessed from both children and artists have been truly inspiring.
April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

I have been involved The Art of Elysium as Sponsor first.
I thought this is great organisation for both side.
As a Sponsor will get a lot of Marketing and Communication opportunity and going to goodwill.
And now I am in charge Elysium Collection, this is my dream come true.
Woking
with this very unique idea , Full-Circle Model will directly impact more than 50,000 artists and children each year, fueling artistic work and advancing careers while providing improved quality of life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

The staff and volunteers of The Art of Elysium are some of the most dedicated individuals I've ever met and the differences they've made in the lives of hospitalized children in Los Angeles and New York is incredible. It takes a tremendous amount of strength to work with children day in and day out, many of whom are in very dire medical predicaments, and folks at this organization do it with pride, compassion, spirit and dignity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open other chapters in cities with large arts communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

My association with The Art of Elysium began in 2009 when I joined the organization as an Actor Volunteer. I was thrilled to find an opportunity not only to work with children, but to do so by sharing my particular skill set. Whether I was participating in the Animated Storytelling program or visiting patient rooms to play improv games, I left every workshop with such a feeling of exhilaration and gratitude, having found a way to use my craft to serve hospitalized children. In 2012 I was lucky enough to be offered the position of Theatre and Media Arts Manager within the organization and am still thanking my lucky starts that I get to spend every day facilitating the connection between artists and children, enabling a shared experienced based on self- expression, creativity, and human connection through the medium of Theatre.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers