Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
113 Reviews
1234.96465
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I am a law student who has been a member of ACS from the beginning of my first year at law school. Now I am serving as a board member of the student chapter at my law school and it has been a great experience all along. I consider myself a progressive and I particularly like the fact that ACS is one of the progressive student/lawyer organizations that can effectively function as an umbrella organization working together with other progressive/liberal national nonprofits. ACS has organized great events like its Annual National Convention at D.C. and it has been promoting civil discourse on important social justice issues like voting rights, economic inequality, and other basic civil rights. I hope ACS can continue to work toward achieving its organizational goals together with other nonprofits and general public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

ACS is the premier progressive legal network in the country. If anyone in the legal world wants to get involved in progressive causes, being active in ACS is the best way to get connected with like-minded and passionate students and practitioners. I have been involved with ACS for a while now, and the organization has been a lifeblood as I figure out my career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

ACS is a crucial organization for connecting and organizing disparate groups of progressive professionals from across the country. ACS provides valuable training, legal instruction, and connections to established progressives in a variety of different fields. I have personally benefited by constantly learning new things about the law, being exposed to like-minded peers and future colleagues, and gaining access to professional development opportunities that other organizations have not come close to providing. I have been extremely active throughout law school and look forward to continuing my engagement with ACS over the remainder of my career!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I served as a volunteer at the 2012 ACS National Convention last month. It was a very valuable experience! The convention included panel discussions, plenaries, networking events and an opportunity to be assigned a mentor. All of these events were centered around discussing how we as lawyers, students, and professors can and SHOULD impact social justice in our local communities and country. While at the convention I met my assigned mentor who works as an attorney for the White House. I told him I am interested in law and policy work and he suggested a few places to which I should apply for a clerkship. He then suggested I also contact his office and inquire about clerkship opportunities. The next week, I received a call from his office requesting an interview. The next day, after the interview, I received an offer. This Fall I will be a WHITE HOUSE LAW CLERK!!! How cool is that?! Well, I owe it all to the ACS National Convention!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering for the ACS Annual Convention allowed me to be partnered with a mentor and just a couple of weeks later a job offer at my mentor's place of business, THE WHITE HOUSE!!!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The volunteer experience was quite awesome as it allowed me to gain valuable networking experience. Also, I was able to be in a room with some of my heroes and and others that have dedicated their lives to advocating and fighting for social justice.

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I have been involved with ACS for a decade--first as President of the Emory Law School Chapter, and currently as President of the Georgia Lawyers Chapter. ACS is a fine organization and has made a tremendous impact in the lives of attorneys young and old who work to serve the public interest and build a legal community that is responsive to the needs of the vulnerable in our society, and that promotes the Constitution as a vital and living document.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

ACS was one of the highlights of my first year of law school. The chapter at BU Law is active and thriving because of the overall non-profit's influence and support. The BU Law chapter of ACS consistently partners with other student-run organizations and non-profits to bring engaging speakers to speak on innovative and timely topics. ACS's ability to leverage its resources to meet its ultimate goals of education and awareness fill gaps previously unmet by an organization at BU Law. I knew that I needed to involve myself in this organization. I serve as an Executive Member (because the Moot Court competition was cancelled this year) and I hope to give back to this organization by sponsoring events in voting, family law, and tax law for the fall semester. Thank you ACS for your continued support for legal education and knowledge!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

ACS is a great presence on campus. The group continually brings interesting and engaging speakers onto campus, and hosts some highly intriguing discussions. They are a solid group at school; everyone knows of what ACS does, and whenever they host an event, ACS always rises to the high expectations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've watched speakers on 2nd Amendment topics that wrote SCOTUS amicae briefs, I've seen a debate on same-sex marriage, and a number of other stimulating topics.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more publicity so it can expand not just on the nature of topics it covers, but the people it is able to bring in as speakers.

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

I decided to pursue a career in law as a second career in life. With my head on straight and my feet planted firmly in the ground, I entered law school secure in the fact that my career goal was Civil Rights Advocacy and providing access to justice to the underserved communities. Fortunately, I attended the recent American Constitution Society convention in DC in an effort to incorporate a chapter into my law school. The event in DC was life eye-opening. My exposure to a roomful of brilliant, insightful, and open minds reconfirmed my goals and reinvigorated my spirit. I encountered practitioners that spent their professional lives accomplishing what I came to law school to do!!! Progressivism is alive and well and ACS breathes new life into each and every day. I can now bring this spirit back to my law school with me and share it with my fellow progressives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

During the convention, I attended a break-out session regarding LGBT rights, especially repeal of DOMA. When I returned to my summer internship, the information that I garnered coupled with the fire that was lit within me compelled me to write policy papers for my organization taking a definitive stand for the immediate repeal of DOMA. We shall submit these papers to our reps in Congress. Every single person can make a difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At the conventions, I would include student chapter leaders in the discussions, plenary and breakout. Students engage in clinics and externships (especially progressive students). Their experiences can serve to inform the discussions about the needs of the public. After all, generals (good ones, at least) do not effectively draft battle plans without input from the front line soldiers!

July 14, 2011

more

July 14, 2011

I joined ACS my second year of law school and it has been a wonderful experience. ACS provides different perspectives which are sometimes lacking in the classroom. The national convention truly insprired me to become more active in my school's chapter and encourage others to join ACS.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Becoming more involved in my school both socially and politically.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would allow the student chapters to co-sponsor with any school group.

July 6, 2011

more

July 6, 2011

The American Constitution Society has been an amazing outlet while I have been in law school. Just being involved with the organization is an education in itself. I now am honored with the position of President for my chapter and am looking forward to hosting several events and learning more and more about this great organization. Happy 10th Birthday ACS!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Montgomery, AL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In my chapter personally, I would like to implement an "ACS 101" event to let people know what they are actually getting involved in.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide a student or young professional with career advice, attend a Constitution in the Classroom training session, or participate in a chapter event or special project Volunteer