Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.961165
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Taking seriously the idea that an educated public is essential to a well-functioning democracy, the ACS provides educational and support networks to help disseminate an historically honest interpretation of the Constitution and its role as America's founding document. The ACS plays a key role in helping to get judges through the stultifying appointments process, and it provides a robust alternative to conservative jurisprudence by refusing to cede the issue of the founding fathers' intent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I am a second-year law student and a member of my school's ACS Executive Board. ACS was one of the first organizations I joined when I started law school, and was always very welcoming to new students. As I became more involved, I had the opportunity to work with ACS national and have come to appreciate ACS even more. ACS does great work furthering social justice by focusing on education surrounding voting rights and reminding us every day why courts matter. ACS's Constitution in the Classroom program also helps advance civics education among children. I plan to stay involved with this great organization throughout my legal career!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I am law student and have been involved in ACS since my first year. I was drawn to ACS because of the progressive view point it promotes. My school chapter and the lawyers chapter has provided me with the opportunity to be engaged in the legal community from the start. In working with ACS I have been able to take on a leadership role, through this role my confidence and knowledge in presenting legal and policy topics has increased. ACS educates students and the public about important issues by promoting discussion ACS is the premier organization to meet progressive minded people who are interested in using the law to make policy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I am a law student and have been involved with ACS as a national member, the president of my school's student chapter, and a member of the organizations Next Generation Leader Program. ACS offers incredible opportunities for progressive law students and attorneys. It has a strong network of members in a variety of interesting and important positions around the country, all of whom are eager to help other people who share ACS values and want to work for ACS goals. I would encourage every progressive legal professional to become involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I am a law student who has been a member of ACS from the beginning of my first year at law school. Now I am serving as a board member of the student chapter at my law school and it has been a great experience all along. I consider myself a progressive and I particularly like the fact that ACS is one of the progressive student/lawyer organizations that can effectively function as an umbrella organization working together with other progressive/liberal national nonprofits. ACS has organized great events like its Annual National Convention at D.C. and it has been promoting civil discourse on important social justice issues like voting rights, economic inequality, and other basic civil rights. I hope ACS can continue to work toward achieving its organizational goals together with other nonprofits and general public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

ACS is the premier progressive legal network in the country. If anyone in the legal world wants to get involved in progressive causes, being active in ACS is the best way to get connected with like-minded and passionate students and practitioners. I have been involved with ACS for a while now, and the organization has been a lifeblood as I figure out my career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

ACS is a crucial organization for connecting and organizing disparate groups of progressive professionals from across the country. ACS provides valuable training, legal instruction, and connections to established progressives in a variety of different fields. I have personally benefited by constantly learning new things about the law, being exposed to like-minded peers and future colleagues, and gaining access to professional development opportunities that other organizations have not come close to providing. I have been extremely active throughout law school and look forward to continuing my engagement with ACS over the remainder of my career!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I served as a volunteer at the 2012 ACS National Convention last month. It was a very valuable experience! The convention included panel discussions, plenaries, networking events and an opportunity to be assigned a mentor. All of these events were centered around discussing how we as lawyers, students, and professors can and SHOULD impact social justice in our local communities and country. While at the convention I met my assigned mentor who works as an attorney for the White House. I told him I am interested in law and policy work and he suggested a few places to which I should apply for a clerkship. He then suggested I also contact his office and inquire about clerkship opportunities. The next week, I received a call from his office requesting an interview. The next day, after the interview, I received an offer. This Fall I will be a WHITE HOUSE LAW CLERK!!! How cool is that?! Well, I owe it all to the ACS National Convention!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering for the ACS Annual Convention allowed me to be partnered with a mentor and just a couple of weeks later a job offer at my mentor's place of business, THE WHITE HOUSE!!!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The volunteer experience was quite awesome as it allowed me to gain valuable networking experience. Also, I was able to be in a room with some of my heroes and and others that have dedicated their lives to advocating and fighting for social justice.

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I have been involved with ACS for a decade--first as President of the Emory Law School Chapter, and currently as President of the Georgia Lawyers Chapter. ACS is a fine organization and has made a tremendous impact in the lives of attorneys young and old who work to serve the public interest and build a legal community that is responsive to the needs of the vulnerable in our society, and that promotes the Constitution as a vital and living document.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012

more

July 9, 2012

ACS was one of the highlights of my first year of law school. The chapter at BU Law is active and thriving because of the overall non-profit's influence and support. The BU Law chapter of ACS consistently partners with other student-run organizations and non-profits to bring engaging speakers to speak on innovative and timely topics. ACS's ability to leverage its resources to meet its ultimate goals of education and awareness fill gaps previously unmet by an organization at BU Law. I knew that I needed to involve myself in this organization. I serve as an Executive Member (because the Moot Court competition was cancelled this year) and I hope to give back to this organization by sponsoring events in voting, family law, and tax law for the fall semester. Thank you ACS for your continued support for legal education and knowledge!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide a student or young professional with career advice, attend a Constitution in the Classroom training session, or participate in a chapter event or special project Volunteer