Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.961165
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2011

The American Constitution Society (ACS) provides an opportunity for progressive law students and attorneys to interact, exchange ideas and learn from one another. Through events, issue briefs, studen... more

October 13, 2013

I have been a member of ACS for over six years. I first became a member of ACS in law school, where is provided me with an opportunity to connect with progressive law students at my school and across the country. It also provided a forum to discuss important legal and policy issues, as well as hear from leading practitioners and professors in the field.

Since graduating from law school, ACS has continued to provide opportunities to interact with other young lawyers, as well as keep abreast of cutting-edge issues across a range of legal areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2011

The American Constitution Society (ACS) provides an opportunity for progressive law students and attorneys to interact, exchange ideas and learn from one another. Through events, issue briefs, student and lawyer chapters, publications, and a host of other activities, ACS creates a forum for the discussion and implementation of progressive legal ideas. By fostering a strong progressive legal community, ACS encourages and equips lawyers to advance the cause of social justice in their professional lives. The interactions between practitioners in the field, the best legal minds in the country, and the next generation of social justice-minded lawyers creates an exciting and inspiring atmosphere, one that serves as a reminder of all the wonderful things that lawyers are doing, and can be doing, to make the world a better place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

encouraging innovative thinking, building a progressive legal community, and providing support to young attorneys seeking to advance social justice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the number and scope of the organization's local chapters to ensure that, no matter where they live, progressive lawyers are aware of the possibilities to pursue social justice through the law, and have the network and support necessary to do so.

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I joined the American Constitution Society as a law student to help foster my understanding of constitutional law and how it affects policy issues. Years later, as a practicing attorney, I stay involved to push myself to keep thinking about the issues and to continue the conversation with other attorneys and policymakers, especially in my local community. The strong relationships and connections I've built through ACS in DC have been wonderful, but the greatest value is the opportunity to share and spread ideas with people who live and practice law in other parts of the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build stronger connections outside the Beltway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I first learned of ACS during my first year of law school. Attending the convention allowed me to make friends with similar passion for constitutional policy and interpretation, and these friends have become like family to me. The relationships I've forged through ACS have been some of the most supportive and intellectually stimulating of contacts made in my legal career. The programming offered nationally and locally is first-rate, bringing a balanced voice in an often shrill political climate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get word out to every politically aware adult in the program areas!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 10, 2011

I first learned about ACS during my first year of law school at the University of Georgia, and I became progressively more involved: I was the 2L co-president as well as the 3L co-president. As a prog... more

October 7, 2013

I last wrote a review about ACS almost three years ago, and the organization has continued to flourish. Even as the organization and its membership has increased in size, I find that the relationships I have built within ACS still make it feel like a family -- a family full of awesomely active folks all over the country working to make this country a better place for all. I can't say enough good things about ACS. I currently work in Miami in my dream job, and the fact that I'm here is in no small part thanks to ACS. The networks are wonderful, the publications and the convention (and other panels throughout the year, like the Supreme Court reviews) are extremely insightful, and the people of ACS itself are simply wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

put an ACS Lawyer chapter in every metropolitan area of the country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2011

I first learned about ACS during my first year of law school at the University of Georgia, and I became progressively more involved: I was the 2L co-president as well as the 3L co-president. As a progressive law student interested in public interest work, ACS was an incredible resource for me. It gave me a forum not only to meet other progressive students but to gain a much deeper understanding of the law and policy issues I cared about. The national organization was incredibly supportive of us -- if we had big ideas for an event, ACS gave us the money and the professional contacts to make it happen. We were essentially only limited by our creativity (and, of course, our law-student workload).

Since finishing law school, I served on the board of the DC Lawyer Chapter while I was clerking in DC. In that role, I was vice-chair for the Constitution in the Classroom program, where I helped organize and train other lawyers to teach lessons on constitutional law to public school students around DC (from elementary school through high school). We reached hundreds and hundreds of students, and it was a blast!

Now I'm in Atlanta for a couple of years and am starting to get involved with the Georgia Lawyer Chapter. Wherever you are, I would highly recommend getting involved with your local ACS chapter. Not only will you stay informed on the stuff you care about (through the great weekly newsletter, the diverse issue briefs, and the amazing annual conference), but you'll meet a lot of interesting people. And you'll have fun doing it!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the friends I've made, the professional contacts I've developed, and the insights into law and policy I've gained.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people reading ACS publications.

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

ACS does vital work to ensure that progressive visions of the law are represented in law schools and in the judiciary. I joined ACS as a 1L, was president of our student chapter at UVA, and am proud to continue my involvement now that I am in practice. The Federalist Society has had well-documented success in creating a network and a pipeline that develops young conservatives from law students to coveted political appointments. ACS is restoring balance to the federal bench by establishing a progressive network that rivals the FedSoc, and that frankly has more fun in the process. Their events are a good mix of practical advice, networking opportunities, and high-minded legal debate and discussion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work harder to get progressive views of the judiciary into popular consciousness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As an incoming law student, ACS has been exactly what I was looking for in an organization devoted to fostering thoughtful debate on our Constitution. Having been involved in nationally-affiliated student organizations before, I say without reservation that the support the national organization provides to its chapters is top notch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

ACS represents the very best in what a public-policy nonprofit should be. ACS staff are absolutely dedicated to their mission to promoting a progressive view of the Constitution and are careful with their money as they do so.

I've been involved with ACS in one way or another since I was
in law school. I greatly admire what they aim to do, and what they manage to do on a relatively tight budget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

ACS is a fantastic organization for organizing, motivating, and connecting progressives across the country. ACS does an incredible job of both playing an important role at the highest levels of law an... more

October 29, 2012

This is a wonderful organization for getting law students aware of the many ways they can use their educations to achieve meaningful progressive ends and help those who most need legal services and policy changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

ACS is a fantastic organization for organizing, motivating, and connecting progressives across the country. ACS does an incredible job of both playing an important role at the highest levels of law and policy while also nurturing the next generation of diverse leaders from all kinds of law schools across the country. ACS has already played an extraordinary role in my law school experience, and I can't wait to continue participating for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

ACS is an inclusive and civic-minded organization that allows local groups to engage in high-minded civil debate. It creates a forum to discuss issues of the day. Although its stated mission--toward a progressive vision of the Constitution--is liberal, I have found that ACS engages with our brothers on the other side frequently and with great success. This is a private organization that manages to draw attention to differences of policy and opinion without becoming strident or intolerant. I am very proud to count myself a member of ACS. It is truly a great nonprofit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I was the President of the University of Minnesota Law School chapter of ACS and it was great to be part of such a supportive organization. ACS encouraged us to hold events relevant and important in our society, from criminal justice issues like wrongful convictions to constitutional issues like the gay marriage ban initiatives. ACS was critical in providing us experts from across to country to educate students on breaking legal issues and providing a network to so that students could use the knowledge to help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide a student or young professional with career advice, attend a Constitution in the Classroom training session, or participate in a chapter event or special project Volunteer