Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
1234.963965
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

ACS does vital work to ensure that progressive visions of the law are represented in law schools and in the judiciary. I joined ACS as a 1L, was president of our student chapter at UVA, and am proud to continue my involvement now that I am in practice. The Federalist Society has had well-documented success in creating a network and a pipeline that develops young conservatives from law students to coveted political appointments. ACS is restoring balance to the federal bench by establishing a progressive network that rivals the FedSoc, and that frankly has more fun in the process. Their events are a good mix of practical advice, networking opportunities, and high-minded legal debate and discussion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work harder to get progressive views of the judiciary into popular consciousness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have been involved with ACS since law school, and find that it fulfills both my desire both for camaraderie in the progressive legal community and my nerdy-wonky needs. They have a very active board that hosts events in everything from tech privacy to criminal justice reform, and we are always looking for new people and topic areas to help us with our mission. It's also a GREAT place to network.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I became a member of ACS last year, in preparation for attending the ACS Convention. I had attended events put on by my local chapter, and wanted to get more involved, because I felt that the mission of the group aligned well with my personal and professional focus on justice and progressive legal practice. Now, I am a member of my local chapter's Executive Committee, and attending the convention made me even more excited about my new role. The ACS Convention was inspiring, thought-provoking, and an excellent networking opportunity. I constantly find myself telling stories about people I heard and things I learned there, because so much of it was timely and applicable to my work. It also gave me and my fellow Executive Committee members great ideas for programming for our local chapter. I am really thankful that ACS exists in this time of political impasse and judicial retrenchment, and I look forward to continuing to work with the national organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2011

ACS has been at the forefront of issues of law and policy involving the U.S. Constitution for many years . ACS provides educational programs to professional and the general public through lectures and... more

October 5, 2013

The ACS helps the public , politician,students and academics understand the complex Constitutional issues confronting us today.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2011

ACS has been at the forefront of issues of law and policy involving the U.S. Constitution for many years . ACS provides educational programs to professional and the general public through lectures and publications many of which I have attended or read.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting others interested in these issues at meetings and learning a great deal from experts in a variety of fields.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wouldn't change anything.

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As an incoming law student, ACS has been exactly what I was looking for in an organization devoted to fostering thoughtful debate on our Constitution. Having been involved in nationally-affiliated student organizations before, I say without reservation that the support the national organization provides to its chapters is top notch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

When it comes to Constitutional organizations, ACS is the best of the best.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

ACS represents the very best in what a public-policy nonprofit should be. ACS staff are absolutely dedicated to their mission to promoting a progressive view of the Constitution and are careful with their money as they do so.

I've been involved with ACS in one way or another since I was
in law school. I greatly admire what they aim to do, and what they manage to do on a relatively tight budget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

ACS is a great organization that I joined after entering law school last year. I am currently the event coordinator at my school and am so proud of all the events that we have had because they were both informative and inclusive of all viewpoints on issues like immigration and healthcare. The national organization also offers great advice and support to the student organizations and advise us on the hot topics of the year so we can plan events that showcase the issues that currently affect our nation and the living constitution of the United States. This is a great organization and I am happy to be a part of it and will continue to participate once I am a lawyer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

ACS is a fantastic organization for organizing, motivating, and connecting progressives across the country. ACS does an incredible job of both playing an important role at the highest levels of law an... more

October 29, 2012

This is a wonderful organization for getting law students aware of the many ways they can use their educations to achieve meaningful progressive ends and help those who most need legal services and policy changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

ACS is a fantastic organization for organizing, motivating, and connecting progressives across the country. ACS does an incredible job of both playing an important role at the highest levels of law and policy while also nurturing the next generation of diverse leaders from all kinds of law schools across the country. ACS has already played an extraordinary role in my law school experience, and I can't wait to continue participating for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am glad ACS is out there to provide a balanced alternative to the extreme conservative views that sometimes threaten to overwhelm important legal and public policy debates. ACS' informative articles and publications keep me up to date on vital constitutional issues as well as those related to my legal practice area. I also have been impressed with the equally wide range of educational and development programming ACS offers. I highly recommend them as a resource for other progressive attorneys or anyone who cares about the Constitution and the continued existence of a federal court system that makes decisions based on reason rather than ideology.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide a student or young professional with career advice, attend a Constitution in the Classroom training session, or participate in a chapter event or special project Volunteer