Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
1234.963965
| 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

This is my first year as a student member and I'm absolutely blown away by how supportive the staff that I've met is. The organization and its members are some of the most dedicated people around. The organization has been truly influential in showing me that a legal career can be a tool in affecting change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2011

The American Constitution Society (ACS) provides an opportunity for progressive law students and attorneys to interact, exchange ideas and learn from one another. Through events, issue briefs, studen... more

October 13, 2013

I have been a member of ACS for over six years. I first became a member of ACS in law school, where is provided me with an opportunity to connect with progressive law students at my school and across the country. It also provided a forum to discuss important legal and policy issues, as well as hear from leading practitioners and professors in the field.

Since graduating from law school, ACS has continued to provide opportunities to interact with other young lawyers, as well as keep abreast of cutting-edge issues across a range of legal areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2011

The American Constitution Society (ACS) provides an opportunity for progressive law students and attorneys to interact, exchange ideas and learn from one another. Through events, issue briefs, student and lawyer chapters, publications, and a host of other activities, ACS creates a forum for the discussion and implementation of progressive legal ideas. By fostering a strong progressive legal community, ACS encourages and equips lawyers to advance the cause of social justice in their professional lives. The interactions between practitioners in the field, the best legal minds in the country, and the next generation of social justice-minded lawyers creates an exciting and inspiring atmosphere, one that serves as a reminder of all the wonderful things that lawyers are doing, and can be doing, to make the world a better place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

encouraging innovative thinking, building a progressive legal community, and providing support to young attorneys seeking to advance social justice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the number and scope of the organization's local chapters to ensure that, no matter where they live, progressive lawyers are aware of the possibilities to pursue social justice through the law, and have the network and support necessary to do so.

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I’ve been a member of ACS for 7 years and have found the organization invaluable to my development as an attorney and a leader. I joined the American Constitution Society during my first year of law school. The events held by the University of Florida chapter allowed me to continue the dialogue regarding constitutional law outside of the classroom. I was always impressed by the number of high caliber speaker ACS would bring to campus.

I enjoy ACS’s efforts to foster appreciation of the constitution among school aged children. Its Constitution in the Classroom program encourages law students and attorneys to share their knowledge and appreciation of the constitution with primary and secondary school students by teaching a class focusing constitutional rights and responsibilities. ACS understands that an understanding of fundamental constitutional principles helps to encourage citizenship in school children.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2011

The ACS is a dynamic organization devoted to promoting a progressive vision of Constitutional interpretation. Through its many law school and lawyer chapters, it brings together like-minded individua... more

October 9, 2013

I first discovered the American Constitution Society when I was in law school. Having gone to a fairly conservative school, I was looking for an organization that matched the already strong conservative organizations on campus. Finding ACS on the web, I decided to go to their annual meeting three years ago.

I'm glad that I did. ACS put on an excellent program featuring some of the best and brightest minds on the liberal and progressive side of the law. In addition to the programming, I made many connections with other attendees to the convention. The staff at ACS was very supportive when I decided to start a new chapter of the organization at my law school campus.

I've now been a member of the organization for just over three years and by far it has been the most valuable of all of the professional organizations I have joined. I would highly recommend ACS to any lawyer who is interested in connecting with other progressive lawyers and thinking about the big picture issues of our day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They should continue doing great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2011

The ACS is a dynamic organization devoted to promoting a progressive vision of Constitutional interpretation. Through its many law school and lawyer chapters, it brings together like-minded individuals who strive together for goals, such as equality under the law, and access to the courts for all persons regardless of social standing.

Specifically for the Washington, DC area, there are many events hosted by both the D.C. lawyer chapter and the national organization where one can listen to thoughtful and interesting speakers. The organization also promotes an annual "Constitution in the Classroom" event where local attorneys work within the public school system to educate students regarding our founding document.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I have had my mind opened to the many possible careers one could have furthering progressive causes as an attorney.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would schedule more volunteer outreach events, similar to the Constitution in the Classroom events, to better link the ACS with other progressive organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

How did you learn about this organization?

The internet.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I joined the American Constitution Society as a law student to help foster my understanding of constitutional law and how it affects policy issues. Years later, as a practicing attorney, I stay involved to push myself to keep thinking about the issues and to continue the conversation with other attorneys and policymakers, especially in my local community. The strong relationships and connections I've built through ACS in DC have been wonderful, but the greatest value is the opportunity to share and spread ideas with people who live and practice law in other parts of the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build stronger connections outside the Beltway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I first learned of ACS during my first year of law school. Attending the convention allowed me to make friends with similar passion for constitutional policy and interpretation, and these friends have become like family to me. The relationships I've forged through ACS have been some of the most supportive and intellectually stimulating of contacts made in my legal career. The programming offered nationally and locally is first-rate, bringing a balanced voice in an often shrill political climate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get word out to every politically aware adult in the program areas!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The ACS allowed me to attend a convention in D.C. where I was able to learn so much valuable information. They set up a very interesting and informative convention. The convention fostered a truly amazing learning experience, networking with inspirational colleges, and most certainly brought in the most influential and inspirational speakers. The ACS is a great nonprofit organization that is a true asset to the legal community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

ACS exposes law students to the intellectual drama of constitutional law by sending high-profile practitioners to speak to them, organizing national legal writing competitions, and inviting students to rub elbows and learn about recent Supreme Court jurisprudence form an insider's perspective at the National Convention. As a recent graduate, I've been influenced greatly from an educational perspective. As I continue to practice law, ACS's progressive influence on the national policy stage will likely be of similar importance to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring back the national moot court competition for law students. It was a wonderful experience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 6, 2011

ACS is a tremendous force for good in the legal community. They provide a much-needed alternative to the conservative, activist model of Constitutional interpretation promulgated by the Federalist So... more

October 7, 2013

ACS is doing the most important work in our nation right now by countering the ever-present shrill, hateful bombast insisting the Constitution supports an extremist, retrograde agenda. Staffed by the best and brightest lawyers in the country, ACS posits a thoughtful and balanced view of our nation's charter and acts as a a powerful counterweight to the "originalist" agenda which is nothing but a shorthand for institutionalized Christian fundamentalism and economic corporatism.

As a civil rights attorney I am deeply grateful for ACS and the work they do. If they didn't exist, they would have to be invented.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2011

ACS is a tremendous force for good in the legal community. They provide a much-needed alternative to the conservative, activist model of Constitutional interpretation promulgated by the Federalist Society.

The ACS staff and Board are high-level professionals and their educational programs
are of the highest quality. For all of these reasons, ACS is growing fast and has quickly become one of ht most influential legal groups in the country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

upstate New York and DC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it more resources for its work

October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 10, 2011

I first learned about ACS during my first year of law school at the University of Georgia, and I became progressively more involved: I was the 2L co-president as well as the 3L co-president. As a prog... more

October 7, 2013

I last wrote a review about ACS almost three years ago, and the organization has continued to flourish. Even as the organization and its membership has increased in size, I find that the relationships I have built within ACS still make it feel like a family -- a family full of awesomely active folks all over the country working to make this country a better place for all. I can't say enough good things about ACS. I currently work in Miami in my dream job, and the fact that I'm here is in no small part thanks to ACS. The networks are wonderful, the publications and the convention (and other panels throughout the year, like the Supreme Court reviews) are extremely insightful, and the people of ACS itself are simply wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

put an ACS Lawyer chapter in every metropolitan area of the country!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2011

I first learned about ACS during my first year of law school at the University of Georgia, and I became progressively more involved: I was the 2L co-president as well as the 3L co-president. As a progressive law student interested in public interest work, ACS was an incredible resource for me. It gave me a forum not only to meet other progressive students but to gain a much deeper understanding of the law and policy issues I cared about. The national organization was incredibly supportive of us -- if we had big ideas for an event, ACS gave us the money and the professional contacts to make it happen. We were essentially only limited by our creativity (and, of course, our law-student workload).

Since finishing law school, I served on the board of the DC Lawyer Chapter while I was clerking in DC. In that role, I was vice-chair for the Constitution in the Classroom program, where I helped organize and train other lawyers to teach lessons on constitutional law to public school students around DC (from elementary school through high school). We reached hundreds and hundreds of students, and it was a blast!

Now I'm in Atlanta for a couple of years and am starting to get involved with the Georgia Lawyer Chapter. Wherever you are, I would highly recommend getting involved with your local ACS chapter. Not only will you stay informed on the stuff you care about (through the great weekly newsletter, the diverse issue briefs, and the amazing annual conference), but you'll meet a lot of interesting people. And you'll have fun doing it!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the friends I've made, the professional contacts I've developed, and the insights into law and policy I've gained.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people reading ACS publications.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide a student or young professional with career advice, attend a Constitution in the Classroom training session, or participate in a chapter event or special project Volunteer