Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

We were honored to visit Ama Ghar in Kathmandu, where we were greeted warmly with traditional blessings and big smiles. The children are delightful, polite and engaging. Ama Ghar provides a loving home and giant family to these hard-working students as they prepare to move on to jobs and higher education.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Ama Ghar in true spirit is a loving home for all the children living there. All the staffs and children are a big loving family which is hard to imagine. Ama Ghar runs like a family and not just any nonprofit organisation. It's hard to believe if you don't fall in love with the children once you visit Ama Ghar. Ama Ghar is just AMAZING!!!!!!!!!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I volunteered at a number of fundraising events for this organization and I must say they are impressive for such a small non profit.. They go out of the way to spread the word about Ama Ghar and Nepal, as a whole. They also partner with other organizations in order to cross-promote those organizations in order to raise greater awareness. Ama Foundation truly has hard working and caring individuals who truly want to make a difference. This has inspired me to, not only visit Nepal, but to want to do more!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I first visited Ama Ghar in 2008 while I was living and working in Nepal. I was immediately struck by how warm and welcoming Ama Ghar was: The children and staff are both wonderful. During the few years that I lived in Kathmandu, I regularly spent weekends and festivals at Ama Ghar. Ama Ghar became my family and home away from home. Since leaving Nepal, I've continued to return to Ama Ghar each year. Ama Ghar has provided the children with a loving home and education. It's been such a privilege to watch the children grow into young adults over the past six years with life opportunities they likely would not have had without Ama Ghar's love and support, as well as watch new children join the family and blossom under the loving care that they receive here. It's a unique and special place that I know I will continue to visit for many years to come.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I just returned from Nepal. While in Kathmandu, I visited Ama Ghar. I am happy to report that all is well there. The children are happy and successful. One of our oldest girls recently graduated from med school and is now an MD. I have been on the board for two years. It's a great group to work with. We always put our 50 kids first. We need help though. We need to find our new leaders of tomorrow that will keep our home open. At Ama Ghar, we have solar power, waste water recycling, an oven, a loom, a computer room and plenty of space for 50 kids to grow up in. Let's keep it rolling for these kids!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I joined the board for the Ama Foundation because of their unique approach towards how they run a children's home. They really make it a top priority to give a family environment, thus girls and boys of all ages live together. The children living in the home are brought up to become supportive of each other and productive members of society. Children do volunteer work in the community. They are supported to achieve the highest level of their academic ability. I made my first visit to Ama Ghar this summer. It was great to see all children engaged in play, housekeeping as well as studies. Additionally, the playground is open to other children in the area, and it was great to see kids from neighboring families join in a cricket match with Ama Ghar kids. It has been nearly two years since I have been part of the board, and I hope that I will keep on having time to be involved with this great organisation in years to come.
October 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

The Ama Foundation is a great organization that helps the underprivileged and at-risk kids in Nepal find a safe home where they can get the needed love, care and support to attain their dreams. About ... more

October 24, 2014

I have been a Board Member of The Ama Foundation for almost a couple of years now and have seen first hand how great of a job this organization does in helping out the underprivileged kids in Nepal. It is a very efficiently run organization with some great individuals as team members. I have also visited Ama Ghar (the house which 50+ kids call home) in Nepal and was absolutely impressed by how well the kids are treated there, how happy they are and how much is really invested in securing a good future for each and every one of them. Bonnie Ellison (Bonnie Aunty) in Nepal does a tremendous job in making sure each and every kid gets a warm and loving care, education and most importantly, a sense of family and belonging within this house. The various fund raising events held within the US and parts of Europe contribute to the continued success of this organization and I have no hesitation in endorsing this organization as one of the best in its class. Keep up the good work!
April 7, 2013

The Ama Foundation is a great organization that helps the underprivileged and at-risk kids in Nepal find a safe home where they can get the needed love, care and support to attain their dreams. About 50 kids live in a great home called "Ama Ghar" and work towards fulfilling their dreams through formal education in good, private schools and informal education within the house to become responsible members of the society. For the past 12 years, this organization has done a phenomenal job in accomplishing its goals and continues to find ways to grow and help more and more kids every year. I have been involved with this organization for the past 3 months or so and have had a very positive experience about the focus, dedication and creativity of the board members of this organization who are passionate about these kids. Please spend a few moments to read more about this organization and help in its cause to provide appropriate care to some of the less fortunate kids in Nepal.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I had been hearing about Ama Ghar for several years though my family, some who had served the foundation in various ways. When we, me and my two school aged children, decided to come visit/serve this Fall (2014), we started researching both Ama Ghar home and the situation and circumstances in Nepal. My confidence was boosted when several independent friends of friends who are in the know regarding Nepal said it was on the up and up and that we should visit.

Now that we are finishing a 3 week visit to Nepal, most of which has been spent here at Ama Ghar, I can offer my high marks. What is happening here, on the surface, looks relatively strait forward. There are kids (teens to 5-6 year olds) who have various support networks or none at all. This home feeds, clothes, houses and attends to their education. Strait forward does not mean simple or easy, it is quite am accomplishment to do with for 50 + children. However, what is truly noteworthy and quite inspirational is the sense of family.

While I am still attempting to discover how this amazing formula for family has come together, I can clearly see that the staff, from Director to cook and laundress, all have and demonstrate a long list of traits. Among these are: integrity, patience, kindness, humor, a sense of purpose, a sense of fun, respect, orderliness, fairness and a love for what they are doing and love for each and every child. It is not a perfect family, it is a real family. They share in each others victories, they share in losses, they support each other and, of course, they bicker and they amend their differences. Creating a sense of family like this can only happen when you give your heart. This house, Ama Ghar, has real heart.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I donate to Ama Foundation because I appreciate that it's a grass-roots organization where my donation really makes a difference in someone's life - and I can see it for myself when I visit Ama Ghar in Nepal. It inspires me to see these children - who come from very, very difficult situations, including trafficking, malnutrition and abuse - blossom into happy, healthy, laughing children with the opportunity to lead productive lives.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I visited Ama Ghar back in 2010 with a friend. The children were simply amazing and warmly embraced us part of the family. Four + years later, I am still in contact with the organization and the children stay in touch as pen pals. I can't think of a better place to visit in order to put life in perspective and see & feel the true meaning of love.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers