Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experience in the Thaakat organization has not been the longest, but it truly has been one of the most inspiring and enriching experiences I have had yet! I have been in various events hosted by this non-profit organization and I have learned and gained valuable information and traits from each activity I have attended. Volunteering to help the community, supporting victims or those in need and promoting awareness of medical ailments such as those in need of bone marrow donations are just some of the many events that has changed my views on life. Thaakat has far exceeded my expectations and is a very organized, kind and thoughtful organization filled with dedicated members who are devoted to a similar cause. I absolutely love working with Thaakat and hope to continue supporting them in order to help reach its goals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

During my years of being a member of Thakaat, I have come to truly understand what it means to serve. Thakaat is all about bringing courage and hope to others while serving and helping them find their inner strength. Every thing we do in Thakaat is purely self-less and bringing more to those who are in need of it. I have loved and truly enjoyed my time with Thakaat thus far, and I know that even greater things are in store in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering and being a blogger for Thaakat has been the most amazing experience I have ever had working with an organization. It is my favorite club on campus not only because it has a positive message, transforms local and global communities, but because it brings a sense of diversity to volunteerism that is especially unique and important. It is the most diverse group on campus but it feels the most connected . At Thaakat I feel as though I am to express my creativity as a writer, grow as individual by learning and serving with different cultures, and be apart of something great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My Thaakat Journey...

One day in April 2011, as I was scrolling through the Thaakat wordpress, I became amazed by all the things the Thaakat team had been doing. I asked myself, “I wonder if I can start a Thaakat chapter in Atlanta?”, and immediately I messaged Uzma Bawany Ali, the founder
of Thaakat and my cousin, asking about it. From there, it became my new dream to establish a Thaakat Atlanta chapter because everything about Thaakat was inspiring. I realized how life is not just about the latest fashion trends or shopping all day, it’s about making a difference in someone’s life. I worked day and night to make it happen. Although it was a rocky start, I was determined to have my dream turn into reality because I knew that one day my hard work would pay off. The thought of being able to reach out to people in need kept me going. Of course, to make Thaakat Atlanta official, I made a Thaakat Atlanta Facebook account. On May 10, 2011 Thaakat Atlanta was officially founded.

On September 14, 2011, Thaakat Atlanta was officially registered at Oglethorpe University. Throughout the semester, we planned many events and tried to get involved on campus as much as we could. Today, we have 30 members on our team, including support from our family, friends, and professors. We are blessed to have passionate people on our team. Everyone on campus was always asking about ‘Thaakat’! It has been the most amazing experience to watch Thaakat Atlanta grow. My dream had become a reality in less than a year.

On April 10, 2012 we received the Dean’s Award to Thaakat for Outstanding Achievement by a Student Organization. That day my whole team could not stop smiling, we were all so proud of ourselves. I was on top of the world because all that hard work paid off! I am so thankful to God for my Thaakat team and all the supporters we have today. Receiving this award has motivated our team to work even harder and achieve even more in our upcoming years. Today, Thaakat’s mission is my mission. Thaakat is very close to my heart and I cannot imagine a second without it. Thaakat has changed my life in many ways and I feel like a new person. Truly, if you strive for a noble cause, God is sure to help you through all the obstacles you may encounter, so never give up. All this positive change has made me a more confident person, teaching me to never stop dreaming.

THAAKAT wants to give people STRENGTH! We come together on one platform to share our compassion of helping others in need. We use our strengths to make people's weaknesses into strengths. Thaakat promotes charitable giving among students and encourages our youth to be more involved in the community. Thaakat believes that we can make a difference, whether you contribute in a big way or small. Everything counts. We use our talents to bring positive change in the world for a brighter future tomorrow for people in need. It is about being unified as people. Thaakat embraces diversity and looks beyond social boundaries to find where the need it most. We all work towards the goal of giving people Thaakat (Strength).

Thaakat Foundation contains the most wonderful people I have ever met in my life! Starting a Thaakat chapter is so worth it! I wanted to do something in life where I could help people in need. I realized that all the little things we do together can create big differences in people’s lives across the world. It really changes your life and gets you to think outside of the little world you live in. Thaakat provides peace, love, and happiness throughout their organization, guaranteed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thaakat is one of the most admirable organizations active today! Their spectrum of activities and outreach to community is admirable because their board and members reflect their mission and dedication. I have personally given to the organization to their efforts in helping Hurricane Sandy victims locally and have been part of their efforts to reach out to families affected by domestic violence. When they see an opportunity to help and change someone's life they are at the forefront. I will continue to partner and support Thaakat in everything they do.
April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've attended one thaakat event by volunteeriing with them and i find it as an amazing organization that helps locally and universally.. all the members are amazing. they're helpful, kind and sweet so don't sweat it when you need to ask them questions! lol i enjoyed volunteering with them and i would love to again whenever i get the chance! volunteeriing with thaakat has made me realized that if you have a lot of free time and you dont know where to utilize it, do something productive with your time whether its giving someone a hand or actually joining an organization whether it being islamic relief or anything of that sort, also thaakat took my volunteering and used me for certain things pertaining to that event. i mostly folded brochures and helped out with the raffle! and its a family oriented organization! And theres so many words that can describe thaakat foundation such as determined, driven to beat their goals. THAAKAT FOUNDATION IS JUST AMAZING!

Rabia

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

As everyone probably already knows, Thaakat is a non-profit organization that seeks out projects to help the community at large. Nope. Thaakat is a lot more than just that! I have been fortunate enough to have found Thaakat and be involved with it for the past three years. It has impacted my life phenomenally! It has helped me to see life differently. Thaakat goes above and beyond to help in any way possible. From natural disasters, filling empty plates of the poor, putting a roof over a family's head, building schools, planting trees to speaking up for those who cannot for themselves. Thaakat encourages the youth to stop for a second and look around themselves. To not just be bystanders, but to do something. Something for someone in so many different corners of the world. It shows you that you don't have to be superman to make a difference in someone's life. By just a simple gesture, a dollar, an hour, or even a status to help raise awareness, can change so many people's life around. Thaakat has so touches so many people in so many different ways. Of their many projects, one that I absolutely love is their continuous effort to find matches for those affected by cancer. It's amazing what Thaakat does, and even more amazing to see it's impact on people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the honor to accompany Thaakat during the 'Thaakat HoopFest Tournament'. I've seen Thaakat grow through the years and do nothing but wonderful things to change the lives and touch the hearts of many people across the world including my own. They are always looking to help the next person, and taking the next step to make a difference for those who need it most. from Pakistan flood relief to Hurricane Sandy relief, and numerous other causes, they have never held back on their word. Thaakat's purpose is to heal, and that is solely what their actions have revealed!

- Sullee J

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The organization was established in 2008 and since then there have been more than 10,000 volunteer hours dedicated towards providing service and raising charitable donations for organizations locally and abroad. I have been so inspired by our board members and chapters around the country. Together we have been able to register more than 1700 individuals to the National Be the Match Bone marrow registry and have launched a new initiative called 'Break the Silence' to bring awareness to violence against women around the world. Globally we have adopted two communities in which we are supporting a 15 room schoolhouse and a maternity center. I cannot imagine my life without the cause and the people who are a part of it. The collaborative work of the team and our wonderful supporters has provided us with an outlet to do such amazing things.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been part of Thaakat Foundation since the past 3 years. I can not imagine a life without Thaakat. The best part of Thaakat is that it does not just focus on one project. Thaakat sees anyone/project/natural disaster in need of help and it is there there to help them. Thaakat foundation has helped build a school in Kachra Kundi, Karachi, Pakistan. Helped build houses and a meternity center in Sierra Leone. Thaakat hold various volunteer events here locally in the US as well at senior citizen homes and women's shelter. It is an organization working towards making a better world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers