Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: Our mission is to educate the public about the desirability of adopting Italian Greyhounds as companions and family pets in the home. Facilitate placing Italian Greyhounds in loving, responsible, forever homes. To provide continuing educational support to the Italian Greyhound family after placement to ensure a successful adoption. To support, welcome, and encourage an active, organized volunteer base of Italian Greyhound lovers who share the passion and vision of finding loving, responsible, forever homes for Italian Greyhounds to live out their natural lives. To stress the importance of spay and neuter as a means of controlling the number of unwanted animals. To connect with other groups and people that assist and adopt Italian Greyhounds to promote adoption worldwide. To enjoy the spiritual connection we all share with Italian Greyhounds and each other in loving and helping one of the most loving and loyal creatures put on this earth.

Results: We have placed hundreds of rescued Italian greyhounds, whippets, greyhound mixes and salukis in loving forever homes. In 2012, we placed over 70 foster dogs with volunteer foster homes and adopted 60 dogs to forever homes.

Target demographics: All individuals interested in adopting an Italian greyhound, whippet, saluki, and/or greyhound.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Our fosters directly benefit from all donations.

Geographic areas served: Texas and surrounding states

Programs: Meet and greets, IG Playdates,

Community Stories

17 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Scott151

Donor

Rating: 5

Texas Italian Greyhound Rescue, otherwise known as T.I.G.R., has demonstrated to me, through the actions of everyone I've encountered in their vast network of volunteers, that the health, welfare, and psychological well being of every dog they rescue, whether Italian Greyhound or not, are their top priorities and their reason for being. They are tireless advocates who ALWAYS consider the dogs' needs over all else. The dogs they rescue are all lovingly fostered in their large network of family homes rather than placed in kennels, which greatly contributes to their overall well-being and temperament while waiting for permanent homes. T.I.G.R. has gained a strong, well deserved reputation across many states over the years, from Texas to Florida and to California, and I applaud and greatly admire them for what they do.

Comments ( 1 )

TIGR Thank you for being such a great supporter!

Kim_71

Client Served

Rating: 5

We have adopted three IGs from Texas Italian Greyhound Rescue. They care so much about their dogs and do a very thorough check into the adoptive family to ensure the dog has a truly great home and a great fit! TIGR has changed our lives for the better! They have taken IGs from hoarder situations and will love, care and patience, turn their lives around, show them love and care. I can't say enough about this amazing organization!

Previous Stories

Client Served

Rating: 5

I fell in love with Dasher after viewing his photo on TIGR's facebook page. I already have two Italian Greyhounds and his profile said he needed a special diet....I decided to write about him, I just couldn't stop thinking about him. I emailed and a few days later Dasher's foster mom called me and we talked for about an hour! She is so nice and asked all the questions I expected, and shared her history with Dasher. When i went to meet Dasher for the first time, I felt like we were old friends (his foster mom and I). Dasher was great, adorable and everything I had expected! We decided to meet for another home visit and leave Dasher if all went well with our other dogs. A month later I was so excited, we live 2.5 hours away, and TIGR's foster spent the day driving to make sure my home was safe and a good environment for Dasher. i can't say enough about TIGR! I love how they make sure these sweet babies will be cared for and find a forever home for them. I plan on always adopting through TIGR, it has been such a wonderful experience! I hope to one day foster, but id love to be home full time for that. Dasher may not have made it if it weren't for TIGR and his foster parents, I am eternally grateful! He is a wonderful little guy and we are so in love with him!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 09/12/2015

Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

The great thing about this organization is their primary goal is actually caring for the dogs. Some rescues base their success solely on number of adoptions but TIGR actually cares that the dog is placed in a loving and appropriate home to each individual dog.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 10/15/2016

Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I have adopted several Italian Greyhounds from TIGR. They really care about the animals they help. TIGR is a great organization!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 10/15/2016

Thank you!

Sheryl24

Client Served

Rating: 5

We have adopted 3 of our Italian Greyhounds from TIGR. I LOVE that they put the dogs needs above everything else and really strive to match a family that will best suit the needs of each individual dog. If we want to add another Italian Greyhound to our family we would definitely adopted from this wonderful rescue group again.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 10/15/2016

Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I got my dog Elvis through TIGR. His mom was found roaming the streets. TIGR took her in and thre days later she had four puppies. TIGR took care of mom and pups. They found homes for all the pups and I was lucky to get Elvis. They interviewed us and came to our home. They talked to us about the breed to make sure we were as prepared as possible. Elvis had a good transition and fit in immediately. He is still in contact with his foster mommy and gets to go there when we go one vacation. When people tell me how cute Elvis is I tell them he is a rescue and to check out TIGRs website for available dogs.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 02/29/2016

Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

Great home check and cared that the hound would fit the adopter!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 02/29/2016

Thank you!

Mallory H.

Client Served

Rating: 5

Love Texas Italian Greyhound Rescue!!! They did a thorough home inspection and matched me with the perfect furbaby. Will use them again!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 03/21/2016

Thank you!

Previous Stories
2

Client Served

Rating: 5

I live in Bossier City, LA and had never heard of this organization before my search for the "perfect" dog. After GREAT research I determined that Italian Greyhounds are the dog for my family. My mother and father both have three rescues and I would not consider adopting anything else. Therefore, I got on the computer and began searching. I looked in my local area and was not getting my phone calls returned, or much of any help. I began to look a little further away and that is when I found TIGR and Lacey. The volunteers at TIGR were so helpful and very thorough. They are extremely committed to making sure that their adopted are placed in forever homes. They even found someone in my city to come do a home inspection. Lacey is everything they said she was. Everything they said was true and are very upfront with their potential clients. Lacey and my family get along better than I even expected!!! We love her so much and I hope and believe that she loves us just as much. Thank-you so much for your service and keep it up!!!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 09/12/2015

Thank you!

Kenny H.

Client Served

Rating: 5

I live in Fort Worth, TX and about 4 months ago, utilized TIGR to find a loving IG for a companion to me and my surviving IG. This was not a replacement for my previous 14 year old IG (one can never replace the loss of a beloved pet), but a new companion to fill the loss and to provide company for my other 8 year old IG. I had NEVER used a rescue organization and was a little apprehensive. I spoke directly to them (Robin Toula), prior to filling out my application as I found some of the requirements a little overboard. Immediately I was made to feel relaxed about the process and completely understood the reasoning why there were so many requirements. Aft speaking to TIGR, not only did I agree with the requirements, I was thankful for them as well as the rescue group as a whole. I was walked through the process step by step and allowed to fly to Autin, TX to personally meet with the Foster and my sweet baby girl Tessa. Of course it was love at first sight, but I was patient and continued the process to finish my interviews, reference checks, etc. the Foster mom Mary was also very pleasant to deal with. Once I was approved for the adoption, I immediately drove to Austin and picked up my sweet baby girl who was 2 1/2 years old. She has been an absolute joy to care for and has brought so much love back into our lives. Looking back, I would NOT CHANGE a thing! I cherish her and appreciate all that TIGR has done for this breed and would adopt 10 more from them if I could handle the obligation. THANKS TIGR for all you do and allowing me to be a proud parent of this beautiful girl Tessa! Kyni Hartwell, Fort Worth, TX.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 02/29/2016

Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

I found TIGR after my first Italian Greyhound passed away at 15. I wanted another rescue dog and I had fallen in love with the breed. TIGR is very thorough at vetting all potential adoptive parents. I appreciate that, since I'm well aware that some dog breeds have their special idiosyncracies / charming ways, and iggies are one of those breeds. I needed a specific personality type, since I take them to work as a therapy dog. I studied profiles and attended meet & greets. Robin & TIGR want potential adopters to take their time and find the right match. My friend adopted her dog from a beagle rescue, and they weren't nearly as thorough. My friend ended up with two beagles the day she went to her first meet & greet, one of whom she had to return to the rescue after a month of spending a lot of time and money trying to acclimate the dog to her home.

I am thrilled to say that I recently adopted my new sidekick from TIGR and couldn't be happier with her. I knew it was the right fit, because I spent time talking with the foster mom and Robin, going to meet & greets and visiting with other dogs before making my decision. I had narrowed it down to two dogs and feel certain I made the best choice in the end. She's already stealing hearts in her new role as a therapy dog.

TIGR is a great organization made up of friendly people doing amazing work to see that these little IGs get the life they deserve. The process is thorough, but I respect that, because I know that these site hounds are a special breed that isn't for everyone. Our pets are like our children, even the fostered ones, so I know TIGR wants what's best for them and for the adoptive parents. Each of the foster parents I met seemed to genuinely care about their dogs and want only what's best for them. If they don't feel like you're a good match for their dog, they'll let you know. Who would know the dog's temperament, needs and quirks better than their foster parent?

I wish I could adopt a whole little IG herd, but I'm happy to be able to say that I have one super sweet little IG girl that was well taken care of by her foster parents and has been such a joyful addition to my life in a very short time.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 09/12/2015

Thank you!

Client Served

Rating: 5

On the internet I found a picture of a Italian Greyhound in the care of TX Italian Greyhound Rescue. I fell in love with that sweet face immediately and knew he needed to join our family. Problem - we are in Florida. I contacted TIGR and asked about the pup and the possibility of bringing him home. What immediately impressed me was the lengths they went to making sure that the dog would have a safe and happy home. My neighbors and references were contacted. My vet was contacted. They even had a member of a closer rescue come to my home and do an inspection. His foster mom was kind enough to have extensive and honest phone conversations with me about him and his temperament. Every effort was made on the behalf of this pup to home him securely and permanently. That was a sign of a great rescue group. Once we got the all clear we make the trip to Texas. There was no rush or pressure to take him unless we were sure he was a good fit for our family. He was - and a year later we cannot imagine life with our sweet chunk of chocolate love - Sammy. I would give this organizations the highest possible ratings for the work they do.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

TIGR 09/12/2015

Thank you!