Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 20, 2015

more

March 20, 2015

On the internet I found a picture of a Italian Greyhound in the care of TX Italian Greyhound Rescue. I fell in love with that sweet face immediately and knew he needed to join our family. Problem - we are in Florida. I contacted TIGR and asked about the pup and the possibility of bringing him home. What immediately impressed me was the lengths they went to making sure that the dog would have a safe and happy home. My neighbors and references were contacted. My vet was contacted. They even had a member of a closer rescue come to my home and do an inspection. His foster mom was kind enough to have extensive and honest phone conversations with me about him and his temperament. Every effort was made on the behalf of this pup to home him securely and permanently. That was a sign of a great rescue group. Once we got the all clear we make the trip to Texas. There was no rush or pressure to take him unless we were sure he was a good fit for our family. He was - and a year later we cannot imagine life with our sweet chunk of chocolate love - Sammy. I would give this organizations the highest possible ratings for the work they do.
March 20, 2015

more

March 20, 2015

I've been fostering for TIGR about 6 years. I really appreciate the thorough application process to ensure our fosters are placed in the right home. TIGR does a fantastic job of educating potential adopters about IGs. A friendly and knowledgeable group that only wants what is best for the dogs.
March 20, 2015

more

March 20, 2015

I was not too familiar with the Italian Greyhound breed of dog, but a friend that fosters iggys posted a pic of one of his fosters. I knew from the moment I saw Rocket's pic that he was going to be part of my family. TIGR uses a thorough application process as they are very dedicated to making sure that their dogs are placed into the proper homes. I am very impressed with how much they care about the animal's best interests. I highly recommend this animal rescue!
January 3, 2013

more

January 3, 2013

I fell in love with Dasher after viewing his photo on TIGR's facebook page. I already have two Italian Greyhounds and his profile said he needed a special diet....I decided to write about him, I just couldn't stop thinking about him. I emailed and a few days later Dasher's foster mom called me and we talked for about an hour! She is so nice and asked all the questions I expected, and shared her history with Dasher. When i went to meet Dasher for the first time, I felt like we were old friends (his foster mom and I). Dasher was great, adorable and everything I had expected! We decided to meet for another home visit and leave Dasher if all went well with our other dogs. A month later I was so excited, we live 2.5 hours away, and TIGR's foster spent the day driving to make sure my home was safe and a good environment for Dasher. i can't say enough about TIGR! I love how they make sure these sweet babies will be cared for and find a forever home for them. I plan on always adopting through TIGR, it has been such a wonderful experience! I hope to one day foster, but id love to be home full time for that. Dasher may not have made it if it weren't for TIGR and his foster parents, I am eternally grateful! He is a wonderful little guy and we are so in love with him!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 3, 2013

more

January 3, 2013

We recently decided to adopt Italian Greyhounds after owning 2 full sized rescue Greyhounds. TIGR was awesome! Robin along with several others associated with TIGR as foster families took the time to answer every one of our questions. TIGR is a great resource and provided everything we needed to adopt. After getting our 2 sweet senior Iggies, the support and help continued. Thank you TIGR for providing us with 2 sweet new blessings for our home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted our first Italian Greyhound from a breeder many years ago after being scared away from the breed by another rescue group. Our first IG proved all the horror stories were just that. My husband and I talked regularly about getting a second pup to pal around with our first, but it took several years before our lives had settled enough to take on training a new dog. I found TIGR on Facebook and followed their rescues regularly. The group was so transparent there and clearly committed to helping these dogs and their owners. We eventually saw a posting that required an adoption application. I approached the whole rescue scene with a bit of trepidation because of the previous experience but TIGR was awesome from beginning to end. I think they even fell in love with our first dog a little. We received a frightening diagnosis for her just as all the details were settled for adopting the second pup. The foster home kept caring for him while we nursed our first dog through surgery and recovery. The group posted my questions about nursing a post-op dog back to health on their Facebook page and I quickly felt like I had a whole community helping us and rooting for her recovery. It was priceless assistance at a really difficult time. Sadly, our first IG is no longer with us but our TIGR adoptee is an amazing dog. A perfect fit for us, our home and our hobbies. It might have been due to their encouraging us to come meet him with our first pup in tow so she could help us pick out a match. Or it could have been the group's incredible ability to capture these dogs' spirits in the pics and descriptions they post. These are good people doing good work. I stayed in touch and am lucky enough to have just accepted a foster dog into our home too.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how they helped me work with my senior Italian Greyhound as she recovered from surgery and with daily laughs I share with the IG we adopted from TIGR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would fill their bank account with thousands of dollars :D

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

On Facebook

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I'm now contributing to the effort and fostering a sweet 2 year-old Italian Greyhound.

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have adopted and fostered for TIGR for about 6 years. My first experience was when we adopted Riley and I was so impressed with their honesty about this breed, the good and the bad. They gave us as much backgroup as was known about Riley. We adopted again in 2011 and could not be happier with both of our boys. TIGR makes sure that are fully vetted and have fully recovered from any injuries or health issues, before they are placed for adoption. I have fostered and currently have a foster in my care. They carefully screen each applicant whether they are fostering or adopting and make home visits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found Texas Italian Greyhound Rescue while trying to find a playmate for my Italian greyhound. The group helped me find two wonderful playmates for her. They turned out to be the best cuddle buddies for her as well. The group doesn't stop at adoption, they also have a community of IG owners that share stories on Facebook. Their play dates have been a lot of fun too! Nothing like seeing a bunch of iggies in one place at the same time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

After my little Sadie passed away, I noticed that my IG mix was really lonely during the day while I was at work. I was also ready for another addition to the family. The first IG I was interested in at TIGR, I was told, was not a good fit for my lifestyle (working mom). Disappointed, I talked to one of the foster Moms about my household and she came to my home for a visit. This foster Mom suggested the perfect Iggy for me. I adopted Lizzie in April 2011 and she has been the perfect sister for Dottie and perfect companion for me. The volunteers at TIGR love and understand their fosters enough to know what is best for them and place them in their perfect forever home. I am very lucky to have found Lizzie, and I wouldn't have found her if it weren't for the great people of TIGR.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

not only adopting, but seeing many other successful adoptions by following them on Facebook and attending their Meet and Greets.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

PetFinder.com

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I live in Bossier City, LA and had never heard of this organization before my search for the "perfect" dog. After GREAT research I determined that Italian Greyhounds are the dog for my family. My mother and father both have three rescues and I would not consider adopting anything else. Therefore, I got on the computer and began searching. I looked in my local area and was not getting my phone calls returned, or much of any help. I began to look a little further away and that is when I found TIGR and Lacey. The volunteers at TIGR were so helpful and very thorough. They are extremely committed to making sure that their adopted are placed in forever homes. They even found someone in my city to come do a home inspection. Lacey is everything they said she was. Everything they said was true and are very upfront with their potential clients. Lacey and my family get along better than I even expected!!! We love her so much and I hope and believe that she loves us just as much. Thank-you so much for your service and keep it up!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As and family that received an adopted dog from them I am extremely pleased and recommend them every chance I get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutly nothing!!! They are perfect!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Internet

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I have my perfect snugglebug :)

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Foster, transport, offer online services, etc. Volunteer