Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

I first became aware of Fisher House to be built at the Alvin C. York VA Hospital when Andrea Lawrence spoke to the Noon Exchange Club of Murfreesboro. Americanism is one of the pillars of The National Exchange Club so this message drew me closer to the project.
Not only did I make a financial
donation, not as much as I wanted, I then arranged with Ms Lawrence to be able to post 3 foot by 5 foot American Flags on 8 foot poles from our "Healing Field - Flags of Remembrance" over Memorial Day weekend as a pathway for the groundbreaking ceremony. A beautiful site as you entered the area, and much more of a image when photos were published of the flags.
Any time we can help those who served and abided by their oath to defend this country, I try to help. Knowing Fisher House has the same approach makes me want to support more.

Don Wright, 2013-2014 National President, National Exchange Club

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More money for public relations and marketing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I first learned about the Tennessee Fisher House while having lunch at Miller's Restaurant. Mr Dan Whittle was sitting at our table and he started speaking of the Big Event The Tennessee Fisher House. As he explained what is was and how it came about I felt compelled to jump on board. The more he talked the more compelled I became to help these veterans and their families who have given so much for us and our country. He introduced me to Andrea Lawrence, President of Tennessee Fisher House. She was a joy to speak with and a bundle of energy! I feel proud to have worked with some of the best people on this. As I have met with veterans and heard their stories I want to give them all the help I can so I want to do my part. The Alvin C York VA hospital is a historic and magnificent tribute to our veterans. There is no better place for the Tennessee Fisher House to be located except on their grounds. Thank you Dan and Andy for letting me be a part of this. Thank you to the Fisher House Foundation for being here and doing what you do. But most of all, THANK YOU to the veterans and their families. God Bless You.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having a son serving in the U.S. Army, I know that a family's love is good medicine.

Fisher House Foundation, Inc. continually rates A+ (AIP) and 4 stars out of 4 by Charity Navigator. 96% of Fisher House revenue goes to programs that help Military Families.

There is no charge to
stay at a Fisher House. These homes enable family members to be close to a loved one at the most stressful times - during the hospitalization for an unexpected illness, disease, or injury.

Our Tennessee Fisher House being built in Murfreesboro will be 12 suites, each with a private bedroom and handicap accessible bathroom in the 10,000 square foot facility. All are professionally furnished and decorated. Families will share common areas that include a kitchen, communal living, dining and family rooms, a patio and library – and toys are available for children.

It is a honor to help the men and women who have sacrificed so much to keep us safe and free.

Anne Kyle, Blue Star Mom and Tennessee Fisher House Board Member

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Fisher House Foundation is by far the best military focused charity. They received A+ ratings from the American Institute of Philanthropy and four star Charity Navigator ratings because the money donated goes to the focus of the charity, and not to salaries and overhead. I was first introduced to Fisher House through the recommendation of a soldier returning from deployment in Iraq. Once I was briefed on their mission and visited a Fisher House, I was totally sold. The veterans and their families of these recent conflicts are facing years of medical treatments, and they deserve a warm, compassionate environment where the families find support and encouragement from others in similar circumstances. Offering free lodging in a beautiful, safe place while a loved one is receiving medical care is what we should do for America's service members, veterans and their families during the stressful times of illness or injury.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I got involved with the Tennessee Fisher House Foundation through Hooper Penuel and Dan Whittle, two great American patriots who have put their money, time and talent where their hearts are. After one meeting with them over lunch at Billy's Restaurant in Newtown, TN, I went from "involved" to "committed"! Since then I've become a volunteer, multi-county fundraiser and board member. For me, the Tennessee Fisher House project has become a labor of love. So, I'm doing all I can-every day in every way-to make the Tennessee Fisher House dream a ringing reality. I urge others to join this worthy effort because it's the right thing to do for our military families in their times of greatest need. Thomas B. Vaughn, Colonel, US Army, Retired.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers