Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am sadly grieved that three people who resigned from the Temple of their own free will; who openly stated at the members meeting they would support and cheer the Temple on; have changed their tune. 2011 is about the year they were all with the organization; and they left to join the only other Pagan church in town (except in the case of Elizabeth Mccllelan who moved to Nashville). In 2011 we worshiped at the Miller's personal house; and all moneys raised by the Temple went to rent in 2012 a small space. In 2013 the Temple moved to a much larger space; and none of these people were on board to do this, they did not lay carpet, they did not paint, they did not put in ceiling tiles, they did not fix the plumbing, or buy sinks or toilets, or paint the parking lots for parking or even donate a dollar to that cause. I guess this is why they feel, we ask too much of our "clergy and inner circle". We expect the Clergy to serve the people; not the people to work for the Clergy.

We hoped, with them joining the only other Pagan church in Memphis that they would find happiness there; and whatever meat it was they needed spiritually to become fulfilled and blossom. We believe at the Temple that people come for a season, reason, or a lifetime...but no matter what we love them all.

We will refuse to slander ANY church organization especially the only other one in town to make ourselves look better; or to hurt them or their congregation in any way. We pray that people who read these three people's review will realize that two of the three hold positions of authority at the competitors church and are slandering the only other organization in town to look better. You cannot dim others lights by slander, it is only through sharing you own.

Virginia, Allison, and Elizabeth I pray you quickly find the peace, love and happiness on your spiritual path there are Summerland Grove.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I left Temple of the Sacred Gift when they "accepted the resignation of" (read: fired - no resignation was ever submitted) two clergy for nothing more than disagreeing with the High Priestess, Rev. Sonya Miller. In the four years this church has been around they have lost no less than five clergy to firings or resignations, all resulting from conflict with the HPS. I have seen her behave badly at events she is invited to, including verbal abuse of event staff and vandalism of a rented site. She has also given grievous disrespect to community elders.

TSG expects a whopping amount of financial support from all members. In addition to their $120/year "dues" (compared to no dues asked from members of Neshoba Covenant of Unitarian Universalist Pagans and $25/year asked -- but, at this time, not required -- from members of Summerland Grove) TSG holds a fundraising event nearly every week. Even those contributing their time and skills to present a workshop or energy share at these events are expected to pay for the privilege, something I have never seen from any other Pagan or Wiccan organization anywhere.

TSG is run on the "coven model" -- all final say is vested in the High Priestess. TSG, at least during the time I was a member, tried to cover this up by having clergy councils and member representatives, all for show as their decisions could be (and were) overridden by Sonya. This is not a healthy model for a church and not one that I support. Once I found out that I had been deceived about the locus of control, I was no longer willing to be a part. Worryingly, the church rewrites its own history every time clergy leave or are fired: names of founders removed from the church history, long-time clergy being told they were never clergy once they quit even though evidence exists that they were previously listed as clergy on TSG sites. This behavior reminds me of another problematic church -- Scientology.

The Mid-South Pagan community is vast, but you wouldn't know it from asking TSG, which likes to pretend it's the only game in town. Please, before deciding to involve yourself with this money-focused and problematic organization, research and see what other options the community holds for you. Find a group that will value you as more than a pocketbook and sycophant. Don't get burned.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the High Priest and High Priestess, which unfortunately the charter does not allow. As long as the Millers are running this church, it will continue to be a problematic organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was a member and clergy for Temple of the Sacred Gift for 3 years. Most of the members of this organization are truly wonderful people. The leadership, however, leaves a lot to be desired. In the 4 years the church has been open they have elevated 8 people to clergy status, now only 2 remain clergy, the married couple who started the church. The rest of clergy either left because of personal conflict with Rev Sonya Miller or were forced to resign. Members don't tend to stay around long either. TSG expects a lot of time and money from its members, especially those in the inner circle who are the only ones allowed to lead events or have roles of responsibility within the church.

Memphis has several pagan groups and churches. TSG acts as if they are the only group in town. They do not support the other groups or encourage their members to become a part of the greater community. I recommend Summerland Grove Pagan Church or the CUUPS group at Neshoba Unitarian Universalist Church. Both of these organizations encourage practitioners to make and follow their own pagan path, they lack the dogma and strict adherence to Wiccan laws found in TSG.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the leadership and just start over. The members are lovely people who deserve better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I would not recommend this "church" to any free thinking individual. It has numerous problems with keeping clergy and members. I attended for three years and in that time they lost 4 members of clergy and numerous members because they could not follow the high priestess without questioning her or agreeing with her. I have been involved in the Memphis wiccan and pagan community for 13 years. I have never had a more disappointing experience than I did with TSG.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would actually abide by the decisions of the clergy and elder board. I would also listen to my members commity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a Clergy and Elder of the Mid-South Pagans and over 20 years experience in teaching, leading, hosting and counseling, I can honestly say that this organization is about as two faced as you can get. They love you while you give them money or praise their High Priestess, and stab you in the back as soon as you no longer have anything they want.
It is actions like these (lies about being the first Pagan/Wiccan Church in Memphis, which they were not, rewriting their founding history to hide truths about the founders, attacking other clergy of other Pagan and Wiccan organizations, and falsifying personal credentials) that I left the ATC church as an active Clergy. ATC condines the 5 year pattern of this abuse and the hate mongering of the TSG High Priestes.
Approach this group with caution, and avoid if possible the 'clergy' of this church.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the High Priestess and actually run an OPEN church rather than a coven posing as a church.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This is the worst organization that I have ever come across. They give Pagan's everywhere a BAD name. Some of the members are nice and seem to be good people but the High Priestess is very controlling and talks bad about other Pagan's and Pagan churches in the area. Her husband the High Priests acts like a whipped puppy and lets her do spells against people, their own members and others. She acts like she knows so much but all she does is try to get more money. I would not recommend anyone going here ever!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the High Priest and High Priestess

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Temple of the Sacred Gift opened their arms and welcomed my family in when we needed a spiritual home the most. They support both community and individual needs and work for causes that tend to be overlooked by other denominations. Temple creates a family friendly atmosphere and children are welcome and cherished in all worship rituals. They support the Memphis LGBT community as well. Temple changed my life for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Broaden the number of people they are able to reach out to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Having been around for a few years with different non profit organizations of this kind this one truly is accepting of anyone. These people once you meet them you become family to them. There is a genuine care for people with this group. They have become family and they will help with whatever you may need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

As a random person who happened upon these people, I can honestly say that these people are more like family to me than any other group I've ever been a part of. Not only did the organize to bring gifts to my newborn son, but they offered amazing comfort and support to my family when he passed away unexpectedly. I don't think I'd be able to get out of bed if it hadn't been for these people. These people have been my rock. I would recommend this group to anyone, regardless of their beliefs. I don't know what I would do without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Welcome more people to join.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This the best thing that has happened to my family. Everyone at Temple are so friendly and genuinely care about your spiritual well being. The Clergy are knowledgable and approachable they love their people and serving their community. The Temple supports many different organizations including the Memphis Gay and Lesbian Community center and donate books to the Memphis public library. All rituals at the temple are held for the public and it is family orientated and child friendly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend more time there if I could. There isn't anything I would change

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers