Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
123.562545
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

Two of my daughters have been at Teen Mania for the past two years and have receive incredible experience, great motivation, wonderful insight about of they are and who God is in them.

It's a safe, yet real world environment that prepares them for the rest of their lives.

My two
youngest daughters will be heading soon also.

This is a must for any young people that are seeking God's face in their future career choices.

Thanks Tenn Mania and Ron Luce and the rest of the staff...
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

This will be the second year that I have been with Teen Mania, I have seen some things which I don't agree with, but I wholeheartedly agree with the vision this ministry has for the Teens in this world, and the Lost who they can reach. I have been transformed in my own walk with them as a continue to learn how to draw closer and closer to the Lord. Here I have Learned to strive after the heart of God before I strive after my own righteousness and turn towards God whenever I feel wrongly about myself or anyone else. i have been To Acquire the Fires, on Global Expedition Trips, and through the internship programs.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I have interned with Teen Mania for 2 years and now I am on staff with them. They have their faults like any organization, but those faults are outweighed by the impact they have made on my and many other peoples lives.
While being here, I have solidified my relationship with God and learned
what it means to be a true leader - to serve. It has given me the perfect platform to learn on my own and with their direction. I can honestly say that without Teen Mania I know where I would be but I don't think I would like it. I would be doing what I thought I was supposed to do, but I would be empty inside and missing something. And I might be trying to fill that hole in so many other ways than in the way that it is supposed to be filled - with Jesus.
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I've gone to an Acquire the fire, through the internship program, and on a Global Expeditions trip. This ministry has encouraged my faith and growth as a believer and I've loved my time here. It is very inspiring to see eighteen-year-olds running much of the ground work of the ministry. There are always mixed reviews because you can't satisfy everyone, but after working with the leadership team the last year, I'm convinced that they try to do what is wise and best in God's eyes and for the good of everyone around them.
April 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Teen Mania as an intern and it was the best experience of my life! They taught me how to live out what the Lord was teaching me and trained and equipped me as a leader. I stayed a few more years as a leader on the campus and got to know the leadership and really respect and trust them. Ron is a great man and is running Teen Mania in a great and honorable way. I trust him completely and know that they are making every effort to be wise with their finances and go out of their way to be honest and transparent with those who are donating as well as anyone with questions or concerns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The creepiest, most extravagant, useless, and ridiculous organization I've ever encountered. They do not use money wisely. They do not respect interns and volunteers. It turns normal human beings into over-emotional Christian robots and have I mentioned brainwashing? Yes. That too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dissolve it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

One of my favorite ministries out there. I went on 2 missions trips with them, worked as an intern for 2 years, worked on staff for a year, went to over 17 Acquire the Fire events, took my youth group to 2 ATF events, and pretty much love everything about it. Going from donor, to volunteer, to participant, to staff, and then back to donor, I've seen all aspects of this organization. The leadership is trustworthy and empathetic, and the ministry makes a serious impact. Want your donation to go a long way? Donate to Teen Mania.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In the past 3 years my teen had gone to 3 Acquire the Fire events and two mission trips out of the US. She'll be going to NY this summer. I honestly have nothing but praise for Teen Mania campus/Global Expeditions/Acquire the Fire. My teen had the best time at all of these events, and the mission trips were life changing in the best way possible. Before the trip she was already a good kid, but she came back with a peace in her heart about God that she had never had. I can't thank them enough for being able to send my kid out of the country and not having one complaint about the experience. However, I do understand how others might have a bad experience with these organizations as the schedule is grueling and the kids work harder than they've ever work on these trips. It's definitely not for everyone. feel free to contact me on my FB page (tiffany vanderhider) if you are a parent and are on the fence about sending your kid on a mission trip.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

sell assigned seating at the Acquire the Fire events. it's crazy when all the teens run in and you can't get your group to sit together

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Around 2009, I was looking on Nick Vujicic's web site on his tour dates and happened to see he was coming to something called "Acquire the Fire" in Houston. The rest is history...

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

my teen is an even better and more caring person after the mission trips.

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Teen Mania has changed my life. I have been to this internship, and I have sent many kids from my own church to partake in this amazing life changing program. Teen Mania is cutting edge, and the leaders of youth ministry international, I think we could all use a little more Ron Luce in our church's.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They not only train the next generation on how to live Godly lives, but they demonstrate this by how all of the staff lead their lives.

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I do not trust Teen Mania after what happened this week. I participated in two Teen Mania mission trips in the past. Now as a 30-something adult, I have concerns about this organization. On my personal blog, I posted a link to the MSNBC documentary "Mind Over Mania." I also wrote in general terms about some of my concerns. I received 2 critical comments on my blog from a woman who represented herself as a neutral third party on my blog. She works for Teen Mania and I traced her IP to Teen Mania. It is a violation of PR code of ethics to represent yourself as a neutral third party when you have a material connection. Their social media manager also has been caught doing this. It is unethical. When I discovered she worked for TM, I told her I would speak with her over the phone about my concerns. I haven't heard from her in close to 48 hours. To read more about this, go to: http://www.recoveringalumni.com/2012/01/teen-manias-communications-consultant.html

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers