Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have been a volunteer at Teen Lifeline for almost a year and I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. Teen Lifeline is an amazing organization that reaches out to teens who don't feel like they have anything to hold onto. It amazes me each time I see how many calls Teen Lifeline has taken, how many people it has helped. Volunteering at Teen Lifeline gave me a sense of what it means to be a person and what it means to help another. In addition to this, the environment at Teen Lifeline is a loving one full of caring, considerate people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

What a gift during my teenage years to have learned to actively listen, to ask questions in difficult situations, and to feel empowered by helping other teens. Those few years in high school, volunteering at Teen Lifeline as a Peer Counselor, prepared me for nearly everything that came next in life. I am so thankful that I was able to be a part of such a transformative organization; one that impacts so many lives and changed mine. My time as a volunteer provided me with skills, that have helped me build relationships and resolve conflicts, improving nearly every aspect of my life and that I use every day. Because of my experience with Teen Lifeline, I know that connecting with another person begins with really listening to them and that inaction can cost someone their life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. However, it would be pretty great if there were always enough.. to ensure this vital organization continues to thrive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Teen Lifeline is an amazing organizations letting teens, both the ones that call the hotline and volunteer here, find ways to cope with their problems in a good, healthy, and, sometimes, new way. Through this organization I have been able to learn a lot about the person that I am, why I am that way, and the person that I want to be. I have learned many skills that I know I wouldn't have learned otherwise, or at least not at this young age. Teen Lifeline, additionally, is able to create a real, direct change in the community. We are able to reach directly into the homes of teens in crisis and help them on a one-on-one basis. I don't think my life, and the lives of thousands of teens throughout this organization's history, simply wouldn't be the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I volunteered at Teen Life Line from 1999 to 2003. During my four years there I had come to understand a lot about myself and life. I learned what it was to be there for others, to be there for people I have never meet and did not know, to be there for myself, and it became one of my greatest personal triumphs!! While many will argue that the program greatly benefits the people to who may call the line, it also benefits the volunteers as well. In truth, the benefits of the program are a two way street. I can’t speak for the other volunteers, but for myself, I suffered from the same afflictions (depression, confusion, drug abuse, and suicidal thoughts) as some of the callers. It meant everything to me knowing that I wasn’t alone in the world and that I can do more than stand quietly by while others like myself were suffering. My fellow volunteers and staff members accepted me and showed me love from the first day I arrived, and they continue to do so today. During my time there I not only learned to love myself and all that I am but I learned to love the world around me. Teen Life Line made me a better man! If I could, I would still be there volunteering! Teen Life Line became (and still is) the center of my personal perception and ideology of what I perceived to be good and positive in this world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No. I would make no changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I volunteered at TLL in high school (1990s) and it was an important, formative experience for me. The organization leaders and volunteers trained me in foundational counseling and listening skills that were useful then and have continued to be useful in my life and career. As a young person interested in pursuing a helping profession, my volunteer experiences at TLL gave me the opportunity to get my feet wet in a way that was safe, well-supervised, and extremely rewarding. The volunteer community was warm, inviting, and supportive - it also allowed me to get involved with a group of peers and role model adults that were outside of my neighborhood/school, which was an important, broadening experience. The opportunities for leadership and community involvement outside of the hotline were also valuable. Since my time at TLL, I graduated college with a bachelors in Psychology and Spanish, and I earned a PhD in Clinical Psychology and currently work as a Clinical Psychologist. My experiences volunteering at TLL in high school were my first foray in this field, and incredibly influential and important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't speak to this, as I have not been involved at TLL in 14 years.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

May 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at TLL for the last several months and it has been one the most rewarding times of life. It has been a joy to get to know everyone here as well as helping my peers. It is amazing to see how much our organization helps people. I have enjoyed my time here and hope to be here for a very long time.
September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I volunteered with TLL for a little over two years in high school. The experience, although some may think short, was invaluable to me. The training for volunteers educates them to become an active listener. This skill is used by probably 99% of people almost everyday. To learn how to be an active listener at such a young age was very important. It has helped me build lasting and meaningful relationships. I went on to become a veterinarian after finishing high school and undergrad. One of the most important things that my training and experience at TLL gave me has allowed me to become an excellent veterinarian. I am able to communicate with my clients extremely well. I am also able to use my skills to help them through very difficult times in their lives (something they don't teach you in school). I feel that my time volunteering also helped me become more well-rounded. It really opened my eyes to what other peers in my city were going through. It made me appreciate everything I had. I also made great friends and always enjoyed being with the other volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

Teen Lifeline is an amazing organization that seeks to help all people, even the volunteers! I have been volunteering at the hot line for a couple of years and just as us peers are here for the callers and their issues, the hotline is their for us and our issues as well and it is like a family. The organization cares about all people and wants to help them find better coping and better decision making skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the organization nation wide

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

Teen Lifeline is such a fun place to volunteer. Everyone treats you like they have known you forever! All the adults and teens who work and volunteer here are so close and they really care about each person who calls in. For callers it is a good place to call if you just want to vent. We want to listen and we really do care and want to here what you have to say.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

TLL is my FAVORITE place to volunteer!!! I wish I would of heard about it sooner! This organization is full of such wonderful, caring people that really form a sort of family. When I moved out of town I missed my friends and mentors here as much as my parents! The good that Teen Lifeline does is inspiring. It has been such a joy to watch it grow over 6 years and stay as involved as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers