Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.983615
Write A Review
July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I've been a part of Teen Lifeline for over 10 years and have experienced countless times the benefits of the hotline to the teens who call and the life skills training that the peer counselors receive. The staff at Teen Lifeline are among the most committed I've seen at any non-profit and their clinical skills are superior

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing peer counselors taking calls on the hotline and spending time with the peer counselors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase hotline capacity and community outreach to make teens more aware of the service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned of Teen Lifeline while working for a not-for-profit mental health provider.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Stable cash flow and reserves.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Expanding services to reach more Teens who need the service and to provide life skills training to more peer counselors.

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I feel great giving to an organization staffed by teen volunteers helping to make such a meaningful impact with other teenagers in times of crises.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

I have supported various non profits over the years both with time and donations. Teen lifeline sticks out as one of the best. My time and training spent as a peer counselor helped me to become the person I am today. The services provided are truly life saving to the youth of Arizona. One could not ask for a better group of staff at this exceptional organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I volunteered at Teen Lifeline fifteen years ago and I can say with total conviction that this experience changed my life for the better. As a teenager, I felt relatively invisible and uninspired. This led to a general sense of angst. After finding Teen Lifeline, I learned new skills and discovered a way to help others. For the first time in my life, I felt a sense of self-worth. Over the next five years in which I volunteered, my confidence grew through this enriching avenue. Today, I'm a happy and well-adjusted adult who is living a very satisfying life. I know I could not have achieved this level of personal success without my experiences as a volunteer at Teen Lifeline so many years ago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

One of my former colleagues recently took a position with Teen Lifeline in Phoenix. We had worked together with other non-profit organizations on environmental and LGBT equality campaigns in Arizona, raising money and educating the public. Since he started with Teen Lifeline, I've heard nothing but incredible things about the organization. I think what impresses me the most is their commitment to training peer volunteers to handle incoming calls. These high school students volunteer their time and energy to be trained to answer suicide calls - what a way to spend your free time at age 16! And they keep coming back to answer those calls - because of the training they are able to get, the environment Teen Lifeline fosters around the office, and the tangible impact their work has everyday as they are there for their troubled peers. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I am writing this review of Teen Lifeline as I am personally very passionate about this organization and it is the very least I could do to ensure it’s continued success serving our community.

I am a former Teen Lifeline board member, adult volunteer and the parent of a youth Teen Lifeline
counselor. I have had a relationship with Teen Lifeline for fifteen years. My son Anthony volunteered for the organization for 5 years. He became a youth volunteer at a young age and the relationships he built there have served as very strong foundations for his personal development. As I watched his developing passion for the organization and his emotional growth fueled by the staff and mentor councilors at Teen Lifeline, I knew I had to get involved. I personally struggled with severe depression as a teen and the work that was being done by this group tugged at my heart strings. As I volunteered as a fund raiser and parent, I formed great admiration for the staff councilors and the teens they were shaping.

I truly can say that the life skills that were taught to my son in order to strengthen him as a teen counselor, have in turn guided him through some very trying adolescent years and allowed him to always turn back to his Lifeline training.

The years I served as a board member were quite gratifying. I always felt that I was serving a true grass roots organization that was a vital part of helping my community by building a strong resource for our youth. Teen suicide is an unnecessary tragedy. By giving our youth information, choices and a place to turn we truly can lesson the impact of this sad epidemic. The staff and volunteers of this wonderful organization drive this concept forward every day. If I could give a ten star review, I would!

Thank you for this opportunity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

Very professional organization. Excellent volunteer program. Involved and engaged board of directors. Excellent staff. Very quality service.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

The mebers of Teen Lifeline are angels. They literally save lives every day. I have seen their dedication to helping teens as much as they can, more importantly they truely care about each induvidual they sepak with. The world is blessed to have TLL.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By their love and appriciaciation for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it so that more people know about them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The problem of suicide, and the gift of music.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I was introduced to the group by my partner.

What would you tell others about this organization?

That they are the resource I recommend if they are a teen or know a teen in need of counceling or in need of an understang person to hear them.

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

While recently trying to gain support for Teen Lifeline from a local business here in Arizona, I was confronted with a challenge. This particular business serves teens and their parents and were concerned about the perceived negative affect of trying to create an association between Teen Lifeline and their customers around the issue of suicide. They could see the great value that Teen Lifeline brings, but were challenged with speaking about such a negative topic.

I was more than happy to share with this business owner that Teen Lifeline is about LIFE, and about providing a safe opportunity for teens to share their struggles with a fellow peer, learn about resources and take healthy steps to feel better. I assured the business owner that, through my experiences with Teen Lifeline, that this is not about suicide but about saving and changing lives.

And, I have seen lives changed. Not only the lives of the teens who call with a variety of crisis and struggles, but the lives of the teen councilors themselves, the lives of the adult clinicians, the lives of the volunteers and the lives of the supporters. Teen Lifeline is an organization that is connecting people and creating unmeasurable results.

I am often thanked by the executive director, a board member, or a teen volunteer for my support, whether it is that of cash sponsorship, in-kind service or participation, and I am quick to reply - "There is nothing that I could possibly do that comes anywhere close to the value of what the teens of Teen Lifeline do everyday." There is no one organization in our community that affects so many lives as does Teen Lifeline. It is with great respect and honor that I share this review.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

My son spent several years serving Teen Lifeline as a peer counselor. Doing so not only helped others, but greatly aided in his own teen struggles. A win-win for all. He found helping other teens (reassuring them they had options, that others do care, etc.) extremely gratifying. He says his peer counseling work helped his perspective on life too. As his mom, I cannot thank Teen Lifeline enough for the valuable experience. You all rock!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers