Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

Teen LIfeline is an eye-opening, life-saving organization that helps teenagers through difficult times. It serves as a helpful reminder that life will get better and that all problems can be worked through. The staff and personal put 110% into helping others. This is truly a wonderful group and something all teenagers should know about. Life dishes many unfair road blocks, and it's important to know that you are not alone and that problems can be solved. Teen Lifeline shares choices and options with those who are struggling. More than anything, Teen Lifeline lends an ear to listen and talk through the issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to make more people aware of Teen LIfeline.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

The peer to peer concept, where teens talk to teens, makes Teen Lifeline a unique and outstanding organization tackling the painful issue of teenage suicide.
Offering an opportunity to talk, a moment where someone listens who may have the right distance to the problems a caller feels he cannot
stand anymore, can be decisive for a decision about life and death.
The teens engaged in Teen Lifeline are highly committed to the mission and deliver outstanding support to their unknown peers on the other line of the phone.

Communities cannot tolerate the issue of teenage suicide inside their boundaries. Supporting the mission of Teen Lifeline appears to be a no brainer for community leaders in private and public sector.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been a part of this organization for two and a half years, and started out when I was a junior in high school. I am now a sophomore in college and Teen Lifeline has only made my life better as the years have gone by. So many lives of teenage callers can change for the better every year by receiving counseling from well trained teenage volunteers, as well as the lives of the volunteers themselves. This organization is filled with caring professionals that provide a nurturing and supportive environment for teens who really want to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I first learned about Teen Lifeline through a customer who was involved as an Advisory Board member and invited me to attend the organization's Crystal Ball event. While I was not able to attend, I took the opportunity to research Teen Lifeline and ultimately wanted to learn more. After taking a tour of the facility and meeting some of the passionate employees and teen volunteers, I ultimately decided that Teen Lifeline was a group I wanted to get involved with. It is an organization that tackles an extremely tough issue (teen suicide) that has plagued the state of Arizona at an alarming rate. By educating and empowering teens to make sound decisions, Teen Lifeline is truly saving the lives of Arizona's teens. In addition, the organization runs extremely lean and I feel that the infrastructure allows Board Members to be actively involved and influential in how the organization operates.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

Teen Lifeline is an organization I learned about through their Fundraising Coordinator, who has shared the history and mission of the program with me. They directly address the tragedy of teen suicide in Arizona by running a telephone hotline for any teens in Az (or the country, because they receive overflow calls), who are experiencing any concerns relating to suicidal thoughts, abuse, incest, family issues, or personal or mental health concerns. When I saw a documentary film called Bullied Into Silence, I heard even more about Teen Lifeline's high school and college students who volunteer their time to staff the hotline. They go through rigorous training, paid for by donations, to become confident and capable on the hotline. From what I've heard from staff, they are amazing people who have directly led to saving lives. Not only do they operate a hotline, but Teen Lifeline hosts events and performs outreach in schools to educate teachers, students, and parents about suicide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

Teen Lifeline not only gives support to callers but is also a great support system for the volunteers and staff. I have been with the TLL family for only six months, and I have made great friends and have learned so much about myself and how to be a better friend. After completing over 70+ hours of training I learned many skills to help communication not only between myself and the callers but also with myself and friends or family. My experience at TLL is almost indescribable. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to make a difference in others lives or even their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I began volunteering for Teen LIfeline when I was 15 years old as a peer counselor. Like many young persons, I experienced a volatile home and social life; and Teen Lifeline provided me with a safe place where I could be myself and be surrounded by positive role models (the supervisors/staff and older peer counselors) and find a niche within a social environment of my peers. Aside from this, Teen Lifeline provided a place where I could help others and feel that I could make a difference just by listening to a caller. I grew up at Teen Lifeline, and learned so much from my time there. It molded me into a person with greater compassion, understanding, openness to the experiences of others, and the understanding that I have a responsibility to create positive change in my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I was a board member from 2001 to 2007. Teen Lifeline is unique in that it provides the teen volunteers with life-changing skills that they can share with their peers that call in for help. Teen Lifeline touches kids and their families at the deepest level. The organization reaches people with no regard for economic status, lifestyle choices or race. What an awesome organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I became involved with Teen Lifeline when I was 15 years old as a peer counselor and 20 years later I still regularly use the skills I learned. I went on to become an adult volunteer and then joined the staff and will always cherish the relationships I made and the teens I worked with. It always amazed me how much this program benefits not only the teens that call or hear a presentation through the outreach program but the tremendous impact that the program has on those kids that actually volunteer. It changed the course of my life and I know first had the impacts it has had on others. Keep up the amazing work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I've been a part of Teen Lifeline for over 10 years and have experienced countless times the benefits of the hotline to the teens who call and the life skills training that the peer counselors receive. The staff at Teen Lifeline are among the most committed I've seen at any non-profit and their clinical skills are superior

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing peer counselors taking calls on the hotline and spending time with the peer counselors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase hotline capacity and community outreach to make teens more aware of the service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned of Teen Lifeline while working for a not-for-profit mental health provider.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Stable cash flow and reserves.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Expanding services to reach more Teens who need the service and to provide life skills training to more peer counselors.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers