Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have been a volunteer at Teen Lifeline for almost a year and I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. Teen Lifeline is an amazing organization that reaches out to teens who don't feel like they have anything to hold onto. It amazes me each time I see how many calls Teen Lifeline has taken, how many people it has helped. Volunteering at Teen Lifeline gave me a sense of what it means to be a person and what it means to help another. In addition to this, the environment at Teen Lifeline is a loving one full of caring, considerate people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

I have been involved with Teen Lifeline for 10 years. Thru all of those years, I've played a role in working on their annual major fund raising event as a paid consultant. After the first year or two, it was imperative that I take on a new role ... that of a donor. The organization was grass-roots, in the truest and stellar sense of the word. The board members were committed and worked in whatever role was needed to make the organization thrive. As the years passed, the support from the community grew and the scope of the work of Teen Lifeline was expanded to be more wide-spread, efficient, and life-changing. The chance to meet some of the young people that donate their time, to be trained and then be peer counselors, is enriching and rewarding to me.... these are our leaders of tomorrow and they are learning the attributes that will make them prosperous members of our community that know the meaning of "giving back." I've been honored to be part of the Teen Lifeline 'extended family' and will continue for as long as they will have me!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This model should be spread across the country to share what Teen Lifeline as learned in their years of service. Every community, large or small, needs the kindness and expertise of peer counselors to aid our teens as they moved into adulthood.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

What a gift during my teenage years to have learned to actively listen, to ask questions in difficult situations, and to feel empowered by helping other teens. Those few years in high school, volunteering at Teen Lifeline as a Peer Counselor, prepared me for nearly everything that came next in life. I am so thankful that I was able to be a part of such a transformative organization; one that impacts so many lives and changed mine. My time as a volunteer provided me with skills, that have helped me build relationships and resolve conflicts, improving nearly every aspect of my life and that I use every day. Because of my experience with Teen Lifeline, I know that connecting with another person begins with really listening to them and that inaction can cost someone their life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. However, it would be pretty great if there were always enough.. to ensure this vital organization continues to thrive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Teen Lifeline is an amazing organizations letting teens, both the ones that call the hotline and volunteer here, find ways to cope with their problems in a good, healthy, and, sometimes, new way. Through this organization I have been able to learn a lot about the person that I am, why I am that way, and the person that I want to be. I have learned many skills that I know I wouldn't have learned otherwise, or at least not at this young age. Teen Lifeline, additionally, is able to create a real, direct change in the community. We are able to reach directly into the homes of teens in crisis and help them on a one-on-one basis. I don't think my life, and the lives of thousands of teens throughout this organization's history, simply wouldn't be the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

In 2012, Jennifer Collins and I co-chaired the Teen Lifeline Connections to Hope gala, and were so pleased to tell the story of this great organization. What we found was a fantastic, knowledgable, committed executive director with great vision and every day common sense. We meet incredible teens who took the time to learn skills that ultimately save lives on the phone. We found an organization that is run on a shoe-string providing world-class service and support. It was a pleasure to raise money for Teen Lifeline as we know how the money is spent...prudently and strategically. Additionally, we have seen first hand the impact this organization has had in the community with teen that we know and teens we'll never meet. They are all the same in our eyes and we are grateful that Teen Lifeline is in our community serving our teems who deserve a listening ear and strategies for coping for life's challenges. Thank you Teen Lifeline!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have one in every city.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

June 15, 2014

more

June 15, 2014

It is very rewarding to support such an effective organization. By training teen counselors to help teens in crisis, Teen Lifeline saves lives and enables teens to become productive members of society. Teen Lifeline's focus is on serving teens who call them in crisis. However, there is a wonderful element to fulfilling this mission - the teen/peer counselors receive such valuable education and training and have a motivating environment in which to perform service to others, so everyone associated with this organization wins.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It will be great to see them accomplish future growth within and beyond Arizona.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 14, 2014

more

June 14, 2014

Teen Lifeline is devoted to stemming the rising tide of teen suicide in Arizona. By involving teen volunteers on the crisis hotline staff, teens in crisis are able to reach out & interact with peers. The volunteer training is thorough and the adult staff/mentors are incredibly dedicated.

We lost our son to suicide at age 19. In 2013, friends embarked on the RAGBRAI (bicycle ride across Iowa). In anticipation of their ride, they approached us about using their ride to raise money in our son's memory. We collaborated on a suitable charity and agreed unanimously on Teen Lifeline. Our friends had previously worked with Teen Lifeline through a social ventures funding organization and were familiar with the organization, its excellent stewardship of funds and its dedicated leadership.

This endeavor raised over $30,000 for Teen Lifeline and had the wonderful side benefit of allowing us to become involved with the leadership and staff. The team is dedicated, tireless, compassionate, generous and exceptionally hardworking. It is our privilege to be involved with Teen Lifeline and we are deeply grateful on behalf of troubled, despairing teens everywhere that this powerful resource is thriving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the statewide funding so that teens outside metropolitan Phoenix/Tucson could have the regular outreach and support available to urban youth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I volunteered at Teen Life Line from 1999 to 2003. During my four years there I had come to understand a lot about myself and life. I learned what it was to be there for others, to be there for people I have never meet and did not know, to be there for myself, and it became one of my greatest personal triumphs!! While many will argue that the program greatly benefits the people to who may call the line, it also benefits the volunteers as well. In truth, the benefits of the program are a two way street. I can’t speak for the other volunteers, but for myself, I suffered from the same afflictions (depression, confusion, drug abuse, and suicidal thoughts) as some of the callers. It meant everything to me knowing that I wasn’t alone in the world and that I can do more than stand quietly by while others like myself were suffering. My fellow volunteers and staff members accepted me and showed me love from the first day I arrived, and they continue to do so today. During my time there I not only learned to love myself and all that I am but I learned to love the world around me. Teen Life Line made me a better man! If I could, I would still be there volunteering! Teen Life Line became (and still is) the center of my personal perception and ideology of what I perceived to be good and positive in this world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No. I would make no changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I have worked with Teen Life Line (TLL), since its inception in 1986. Over the past 28 years TLL has been a leader in suicide prevention. Having both a "Warm" line and a "Hot" line manned by youth and young adults and supervised by Master's Level counselors requires extensive and high quality training. The training provided to the peer counselors is ongoing and addresses the most critical elements of intervention. It meets and exceeds the Standards of Care for accreditation with the American Association of Suicidology. As a propfessional counselor with 40 years experience in the helping profession, I have referred countless teens to TLL for support as well as those interested in becoming a peer counselor. The longevity of the staff and peer counselors working at TLL is a tribute to the passion, professionalism, and dedication to helping youth survive and thrive. Teens throughout the entire state of Arizona have been helped by this excellent organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

publish a book sharing the experiences of the peer counselors working the line and the effects it had on their lives into adulthood. It would reflect the true importance of youth helping each other transcend adversity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I volunteered at TLL in high school (1990s) and it was an important, formative experience for me. The organization leaders and volunteers trained me in foundational counseling and listening skills that were useful then and have continued to be useful in my life and career. As a young person interested in pursuing a helping profession, my volunteer experiences at TLL gave me the opportunity to get my feet wet in a way that was safe, well-supervised, and extremely rewarding. The volunteer community was warm, inviting, and supportive - it also allowed me to get involved with a group of peers and role model adults that were outside of my neighborhood/school, which was an important, broadening experience. The opportunities for leadership and community involvement outside of the hotline were also valuable. Since my time at TLL, I graduated college with a bachelors in Psychology and Spanish, and I earned a PhD in Clinical Psychology and currently work as a Clinical Psychologist. My experiences volunteering at TLL in high school were my first foray in this field, and incredibly influential and important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't speak to this, as I have not been involved at TLL in 14 years.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers