Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

I have such wonderful things to say about this organization! It is far and away the most impressive nonprofit with which I've been involved. I was a former VolCon in the Nairobi office three years ago. Technoserve does such fantastic things in the community because they create sustainable solutions to poverty - they are actually helping to create long-term solutions in the field vs. giving the illusion of helping. In other words, teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime ...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I have been a faithful contributor to TechnoServe for almost 20 years. As my primary charity, I have maintained an annual level of contribution in excess of $2,000. What attracted me to TechnoServe was the concept of the leverage that my contribution would achieve, namely in magnifying knowledge for the benefit of an ever-expanding universe of entrepreneurs working through their own self-interest for the betterment of their families and broader communities. It's the difference between financing food baskets and food industries. I abhor waste, particularly of other people's money (whether that of taxpayers or donors). I am confident that TechnoServe's slim and effective management structure along with highly effective and dedicated in-country staff squeeze the maximum out of my contributions through the spread of non-perishable knowledge and expanding commercial relationships among recipients of their efforts.

Individual donors such as myself form a relatively small portion of the total funds received by TechnoServe and by offering my comments here. I encourage other private individuals to recognize this opportunity to join with the growing family of knowledgeable and astute corporate partners who are equally responsible stewards of their charitable assets.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I joined as a Volunteer Consultant in the India office for a year- absolutely loved my work- developing entrepreneurship in tibetan settlements in india and nepal, and worked with an amazing bunch of high-caliber folks, most of whom are now very close friends. It was challenging to create impact in a community victimized due to geopolitics, and my satisfaction saw me coming in full-time, as well as seeking out my second volunteer stint in East Africa [Malawi]

The three key draws are:
1. great work culture created by ambitious, accomplished and humble folks is a huge draw.
2. the unique assimilation of private-sector skills to development causes.
3. paramount impact, by connecting markets to smallholders or underprivileged.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the economic development programs to 25 other countries in 5 years..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This organization is doing great things for people around the world. If you want the most impact from your donation, then TechnoServe is the place to give to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at TNS in early 2013 - joining as a cynic about work, and large scale organizations in general. I had a highly transformative experience with them in East Africa - shifting me from traveler to social thinker to a social entrepreneur by the time I came back to India. I think the key ingredients were the amazing team I got to work with, the burst of cultural exposure/learning in Kenya and Tanzania, the level of expertise and insight in the agro sector and high-potential-for-impact solutions that I got to co-design with them. I would recommend this experience to anyone - even those who've already been part of the impact sector.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their work in human rights/gender - which is the field I currently work in

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Great organization to work for. Great place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

TechnoServe is one of only a handful of non-profit that manages to 1) work closely and collaboratively with the private sector and 2) draw extraordinary talent from the corporate world into its organization. The result is a place filled with people who want to change the world, but who are also relentless in their pursuit of efficiency and delivery. Nobody at TechnoServe believes in charity - empowerment is what it's all about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like many iNGOs, TechnoServe relies on external funding to fulfill its mission. This results in some unpredictability / last minute changes that can make life difficult frustrating. However, I am not sure there is much TechnoServe can do about this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I joined TechnoServe as a volunteer consultant in 2012. Before that, I worked as a management consultant for 2.5 years. I was staffed on a project to assist 50 K farmers in Kenya and Uganda by creating a business plan for rolling out cooperatives.

The TechnoServe experience was incredible
rewarding. First, it truly broadened my perspectives. For instance, I traveled to any small rural towns in Uganda and Kenya meeting incredibly inspirational local entrepreneurs and warm-hearted farmers. Second, it was personally very rewarding to be able to work on a social issue with impact that means a lot to many people. Third, the TechnoServe local teams were a joy to work with and very helpful. For instance, they went very far to help me with data gathering, setting up interviews and integrating me in the culture.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

likely expand the program and staff even more volunteer consultants

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

TechnoServe has consistently impressed me, both as a volunteer as well as a donor. The organization has a tremendous impact on people around the world, by providing individuals with the tools (rather than just a charitable payment) that they need to lift themselves out of poverty--and remain out of poverty for the long-term.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Had a great experience volunteering for TNS!
i was working on their behalf in value chain development for three months in Morocco, and I found the team was so committed, so results oriented, so responsible with TNS resources.
As a result, I was confident that my time was being leveraged
effectively and that TNS could achieve the most impressive poverty-reduction outcomes.
Bravo to the team

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The world needs more TNS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers