Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.765
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

CVCC has parterned with Tech Corps to bring TECHie camps to our associate schools districts. We have found Tech Corps to be a great partner, providing outstanding experiences for our students. We look forward to working together in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

The Ohio State University Women in Engineering (WiE) Program has worked with TECH CORPS as a non-profit community partner for almost three years. WiE and TECH CORPS have worked to support two FIRST Lego League teams, WiE TECHie and WiE TECHie Bytes, and one-day events to introduce girls to STEM fields. TECH CORPS is an excellent organization to increase the number of women and underrepresented students in these career fields. The staff and administrators at TECH CORPS (Lisa Chambers and Carla Thompson) are dedicated professionals that care about the success of their students. I have enjoyed working with TECH CORPS on our one-day events, such as Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day (IGED) and long-term projects, such as our partnership to support FIRST Lego League teams. I look forward to future endeavors and keep up the terrific work!

Shawna Fletcher
Interim Director
Women in Engineering Program
The Ohio State University

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I've had the opportunity to know the folks at Tech Corps for over 10 years now, but had never taken the step to participate in the summer programs. This year, with a little juggling, I was able to give of my time and experience to these youth. What I didn't expect was what "they" would give me in return. The first "word" that comes to mind is the unknown. I had never taught before, had never stood before a group of young people and instructed on any specific subject, outside of my own children I had never had someone look to me as the "nurturing authoritative" on anything. But there was, given the opportunity to work with eager minds, teach them something new, introduce them to something "they" were interested in help others who might not be, become "aware" of something that may be interesting.

Eight weeks later, I stood before that same class, and they were still interested, and I was interested in "them". I remembered taking an interest in things as a youth and having someone introduce me to something else interesting about the same subject. There are couple of students who still keep in contact with me and they inquire about things they don't understand and wish to learn more. I provide them with answer and at times encourage a different approach to their questions. Because of this I am more fulfilled than many of the accomplishments I have had in my professional field have given me.

Tech Corps's programs have a place. They provide a service and a need. Through their complex network of professionals with varying skill sets they are able to engage with young people from our current culture and keep them "interested" in the things that matter today and will matter tomorrow. More importantly, they help those same professionals "remember" what it's like to become interested in something.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have been a business partner with Tech Corps since 2004. We have served over 1,000 youth by providing summer employment opportunities, workforce development skills, and – more importantly – technology skills (through hands-on application). We have a number of students that graduated from high school and have continued in the technology career paths. Tech Corps programs is a great asset to Columbus City youth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything that I would change. The organization is always updating their programs to make it relevant and user friendly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Tech Corp offered summer Techie Camp to our 6th,7th, and 8th grader this past summer. They made the experience easy for us to get organized and the camp programming and staff were engaging and fun. Students had a great time & we would love to have them back any time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A little more communication prior to camp starting so staff, parents, and children knew what to expect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Upon moving to Columbus six years ago, I became active in the Tech Corps NSBE Jr. Chapter. It was wonderful to see high school students that were genuinely interested in STEM degrees. I really enjoy working with, mentoring, and watching the students develop in young adults. Tech Corps has provided a great service by providing students a chance to learn STEM from caring and knowledgeable people that are in the industry. I look forward to being involved with Tech Corps in their future endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

We had a fantastic experience with Carla Thompson and Tech Corps. They brough Techie Camp to our school district's summer camp program and the kids absolutely loved it. For many of them, it was their first exposure to this type of a camp and what they were able to learn and accomplish in just a week blew my mind! Through their partnership with Honda, Tech Corps was able to eliminate the financial barrier to participation for our students. Josh Berberick, our Techie Camp Instructor, was so awesome - great with the kids, so personable and a lot of fun. This is a game changer for our summer camp program. I can't say enough great things about this organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

We have had the pleasure of partnering with TECH CORPS on the Case Western Reserve University campus and we look forward to hosting future TECH CORPS programming. I highly recommend supporting this important organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, they are very responsive, innovative, professional and forward thinking

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was honored to be a board member of Tech Corps for many years. I was always so impress with the work of Tech Corps and the outcomes they achieved with the students they served. It is so exciting to see students building video games instead of just playing video games or to watch them share the robot they built. We need problem solvers in the workforce of tomorrow and the activities presented by Tech Corps will certainly help children obtain those skills.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have worked along side Tech Corps on several projects in conjunction with Tech Corps NSBE JR. We all need to continue supporting and engaging all means of our efforts to this organization. The impact to our your kids and community is outstanding!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word for more engagement with other organizations. public and private businesses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers