Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

TASK is an amazing place! Our program has had the privilege of becoming one on their sites outside of the city of Trenton. The quality of the meals that they provide is outstanding--our clients look forward to lunch every day and for many of them it is their best meal of the day. The staff is very caring and professional. They have also shared donations with our clients ranging from hygiene kits to special deserts. Please consider supporting TASK!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with funds to enable them to serve even more people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

I started volunteering with TASK as a tutor last summer and continue to come back as often as I can to help out in the school and with meals. TASK is an amazing organization full of amazing people, both staff and patrons. To express my appreciation after my experience last summer, I wrote a letter to Kelly, the director of the adult education program that I would like to share:

Dear Kelly,

I want to thank you for the amazing opportunity to be a tutor at TASK this summer. I have found the experience to be incredibly rewarding and only hope that I have given back half as much as I have gotten out of it. I am very impressed by all of the work that you do and think that the Adult Education Program is truly exceptional. Despite living in Pennington, before this summerI had only been to Trenton a handful of times in my life. However, through this experience, I feel that I have become a member of the community. The student are all so engaging, respectful and active learners and I am constantly stunned by all of the hard work that they put in. I really credit you so much for putting together such a strong program. I love the feeling of inclusive that there is in every session. Thank you again; I really admire everything that you are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

My name is eric and I was a homeless drug addict before going to task one day I walked in for a meal and ended up talking to someone about the ged program 3 months later I had my ged and was helping others study for their ged. Now I have my own apartment and a job. My family back in my life and I'm drug free for 13 months nowi owe task my life

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing its perfect

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2014

more

February 11, 2014

We have donated cupcakes, pumpkins, hygiene products, and Christmas presents for a family of four.

All email & phone correspondence has been prompt & pleasant, while the staff & volunteers are always happy to help unload a trunk full of goods so that I wouldn't have to do it piecemeal
while my own two children are waiting in the car!

Once my children are old enough, we will be volunteering at their meal service in town.

Compared to other organizations I've volunteered for, TASK doesn't flood your inbox with requests, the staff & volunteers are pleasant without prompting, and it feels like they actually appreciate your help, however large or small.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help with their online presence so a chart of "what we need" would track items & email doners when pantry supplies are low.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Working with task has been a great experience for me. I love the many personalities I work with and being able to help people in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am in my fifth year as a volunteer GED tutor each weekday morning at TASK. I have found it to be a very gratifying and rewarding experience. it is truly a thrill when a student passes his or her GED, and even more so when they go on to learn a trade or enter college. The Adult Education staff is incredible and does a remarkable job. It is amazing to me how they are able to know all the students' names, their needed areas of study, and how to match them with the right tutor. I look forward to many more years of doing this, and would highly recommend it to others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I can think of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The volunteer coordinator needs to communicate better with outside volunteers looking to serve the community. However, once there, it runs like a well-oiled machine. The managers are a bit strict/ serious for my taste, but they are doing hard work so it's understandable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help more patrons not return again by setting them up with long term solution organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

TASK is a great place with an awesome staff of people who help patrons achieve self-sufficiency. They not only provide patrons with hot meals every day, but they also provide a tutoring program where patrons are able to be tutored to get their GED's and pass other tests. It is truly a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try and make TASK somewhat more organized when it comes to volunteers and communication.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have tutored adult students for their GED exam for more than three years as a volunteer. It has been a rewarding experience made the more so by the full time staff of TASK. Their ability to coordinate the activities of the ever changing student and volunteer populations has made the venture a remarkable success. The program coordinators have developed the ability to effectively match the right tutors with the students and their specific needs to provide a one on one experience that has led to ever increasing numbers of students that pass their GED exam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first volunteered at TASK a few years ago during the Christmas holiday. It was amazing how busy and vibrant the environment was. It spoke true to the circumstances of our time, the status of our nation, and the situation of our local community. These were my neighbors, our neighbors, fellow citizens of this great country. It struck me hard how much help was needed in our state's capital. Poverty, hunger, and lack of quality health care to name a few, are factors that plague our nation on a daily basis. No feat is too large, and no contribution is too small when it comes to helping our fellow man. I am reminded of a quote that I heard a long time ago and has never left my side: "whoever said one person can't change the world, never tried". TASK provides an opportunity for change, a place for hope & advancement, and a reality check.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had thousands and thousands of dollars, I would give it all to TASK to update every software they have in every department, expand the building so they have more rooms and space for all their programs, provide an endless amount of diabetic supplies for all the patrons suffering with diabetes, and an endless amount of books. These are not necessarily changes, but rather additions and hopes I hope for this amazing place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Prepare Food, Serve Meals, Tutor in our Adult Education Program, Wrap Flatware, Conduct a Donation Drive, Distribute Donations Volunteer