Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been a friend of Tara's since 1993. I have witnessed many "recovery miracles" because of Tara's work and support. People who had no more hope have entered Tara and found what they needed to change their lives. It is amazing. The staff is compassionate yet direct...there are many people who have lived experience in recovery and sharing their knowledge and love to assist clients in getting healthy. I am so grateful to know of Tara and would recommend their services for anyone who is searching for hope and a better life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Wonderful place. Personalized attention. I liked it so much, i went back for a second vist ! Great, caring staff started me on my road to recover. Highly recommend Tara treatment center. Thank you !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I went to Tara on June 1, 2007. I had gone to end my life the day before and accidentally left my gun at home. I was broke, hopeless, 50 lbs underweight and hadn't slept for days. My drug of choice was crack cocaine and meth, but anything that would get me high would work in a pinch. I wanted to die, my family had been called to a friends house where I had finally stopped running and just broke down. They knew enough to know that they didn't have the answers. They took me to Tara. I did not give much hope to this either. After appeasing them I could just go on and end my life. I hadn't seen my kids in a couple of weeks and figured they were better off anyway. After the assessment I hugged them and they left.
I went down to my bed and was introduced to the other clients. Next day we started groups and meetings. About a week in I felt I had made a mistake and at 2 am went to the nurses station and announced that I was cured and I was leaving. The night nurse told me to go read a chapter and then come back. That 10 minutes was all it took for that urge to pass and I stayed.

About two weeks in I walked to the top of the ramp leading out of the basement. The sky was blue, the grass was green, the barn was red and the birds were singing. It was like pealing the sticker off of a Claritin commercial. I had been wandering in a black and white fog. It was amazing. Like the big book says, a true upheaval . Two days later at family visit, my mom look into my eyes and said, "you're back. You have been so hollow for so long and I see my son again." I took to the program like I was on fire. I became group leader and realized the opportunity that I had and grabbed it with both hands. When I left Tara I took the tools that they had given me and started to live the life God intended me to live. I got a sponsor and continued to keep touch with counselors and a roommate.

That was 6 1/2 years ago. I am remarried now. I have twins sons and a good relationship with my older three kids and I love every minute of life. I still have hurdles in life and problems, but drugs and alcohol aren't a part of them.

I credit Tara and the counselors and the magic in that place with saving my life.

Jason D

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Hi I'm an addict named Brian. My clean date is 8/16/11. I can't put into words how much this place means to me. The staff is filled with the most loving, caring group of people. They gave me the tools I needed to live a happy, drug free life. They did whatever they could to see that I would succeed in life, I would do the same for them! I really feel they staff are angels. They trully are the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING! Don't change a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I know many people recovering from alcohol and drug addiction who started their recovery at Tara. Quality treatment provided bt a professional, caring staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My clean date is 9-27-07. Six years ago I walked out of Tara with all the tools I needed to plug into a recovery community and begin actively pursuing a new life. I was treated with compassion and respect yet they leveled with me and didn't pad the truth. The staff ranged from people with lengths of clean time and members of the local recovery community to very highly educated and talented therapists with a deep understanding of the underlying causes of addiction. I learned things there that I never even tapped into until years later. This was my third treatment experience and by far the most beneficial. To be honest I didn't necessarily agree with all their suggestions but had vowed to follow my treatment plan and I'm so grateful I did. I would never have been able to stay clean at the next two places my path led had it not been for the good habits I picked up at Tara.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Great facility meeting the needs of addiction. I have seen first hand the people and lives they have saved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I live in the community and meet many clients at Tara who have found new hope in life. I've seen the hearts of the counselors and administration, and their No. 1 goal is to see people freed from the addictions of drugs and alcohol.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have been involved with Tara Treatment Center since its inception in 1985. It has always been the leader in not only women's treatment, but also men's treatment. Tara provides a warm family atmosphere that is helpful in developing the type of lifestyle needed to help the addicted person and thier family recover.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, no changes need to be made in this organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

The ONLY long-term residential alcohol and drug addiction treatment facility located in Central Indiana...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers